HKW will be closed from June 11 to 16. Tickets for Wassermusik are available online. More…

2019, Tue, Jun 18

Award Ceremony: Internationaler Literaturpreis 2019

With a keynote by Teju Cole

Celebration of the Award Ceremony 2017 | Photo: David Gauffin

Celebration of the Award Ceremony 2017 | Photo: David Gauffin

The six books on this year’s shortlist lead us into the innermost regions of the human soul, charting both the farthest unexplored shores and the narrow straits of the familiar. Each one is as radical in its aesthetic as it is, in its own way, a stunning tribute to the power of literature.

Which author–translator duo will be awarded the 2019 Internationaler Literaturpreis? The HKW roof terrace will serve as the stage for this year’s announcement: Following a keynote by Teju Cole, awardee of the 2013 prize for his novel Open City, the winning title will be announced by the jury and presented by its author and translator.

Further conversations will offer the awardees, audience and jury members alike a chance to explore what makes the award-winning book so extraordinary. Together, they will investigate questions like: What processes lie beneath writing and translating? What is the state of literature as an art form, and what role does translation play in the contemporary literary scene?

After the award ceremony, the audience is invited to get together with the participants over music and drinks on the roof terrace.

Teju Cole | Photo: Martin Lengemann

Teju Cole | Photo: Martin Lengemann

Teju Cole is a photographer, critic, curator and the author of five books.
In 2013 he and the translator Christine Richter-Nilsson were awarded the Internationaler Literaturpreis for the novel Open City. His other honors include the PEN/Hemingway Award, the Windham Campbell Prize, the Rosenthal Award from the American Academy of Arts and Letters and a Guggenheim Fellowship. His most recent book is Human Archipelago, a collaboration with the photographer Fazal Sheikh. His own photography has been exhibited worldwide and is in several institutional collections.

Born in the US and raised in Lagos, Cole was the photography critic of the New York Times Magazine (2015–2019) and is currently a Professor of the Practice of Creative Writing at Harvard University.

Lesungen, Gespräche, Diskussionen

Preisverleihung: Internationaler Literaturpreis 2019

Mit einer Keynote von Teju Cole

Di 18.6.2019
19h
Eintritt frei
19h Keynote von Teju Cole: On Carrying and Being Carried – from translation to migration and back again
20h Preisverleihung
22h Musik von Coco Maria

Mit Simultanübersetzung ins Deutsche, Englische und die Originalsprache

Auf der Dachterrasse
Bei Regen im Vortragssaal
Fest zur Preisverleihung 2017, Foto: David Gauffin

Sechs Bücher, die ins fernste Innere führen, die das unbekannte Weite und die Enge des Eigenen aufzeichnen – ästhetisch radikal und jedes auf seine Weise ein Tribut an die Wirkmacht der Literatur.

Welches Duo aus Autor*in und Übersetzer*in wird mit dem Internationalen Literaturpreis 2019 ausgezeichnet? Die Dachterrasse des HKW wird in diesem Jahr zum Schauplatz der Bekanntgabe: Nach einer Keynote von Teju Cole, der 2013 den Internationalen Literaturpreis für Open City erhielt, wird der Preisträger-Titel bekannt gegeben und von Autor*in und Übersetzer*in vorgestellt.

Im Gespräch erkunden Jury und Preisträger*innen mit dem Publikum, was das ausgezeichnete Werk so preiswürdig macht. Wie gestaltet sich der Arbeitsprozess von Schreiben und Übersetzen? Wie steht es um die Literatur als Kunstform und welche Rolle kommt dem Übersetzen im gegenwärtigen Literaturbetrieb zu?

Nach der Preisverleihung sind die Zuschauer*innen eingeladen, bei Musik und Drinks auf der Dachterrasse mit den Akteur*innen ins Gespräch kommen.

Teju Cole, Foto: Martin Lengemann

Teju Cole ist Fotograf, Kritiker, Kurator und Autor von fünf Büchern.
Für seinen Roman Open City wurde Cole 2013 gemeinsam mit der Übersetzerin Christine Richter-Nilsson mit dem Internationalen Literaturpreis ausgezeichnet. Für sein Schaffen erhielt er außerdem den PEN/Hemingway Award, den Windham Campbell Prize, den Rosenthal Award der American Academy of Arts and Letters und ein Guggenheim Fellowship. Seine jüngste Veröffentlichung, Human Archipelago, entstand in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Fotografen Fazal Sheikh. Coles eigene fotografische Arbeiten wurden international ausgestellt und sind in mehreren öffentlichen Sammlungen vertreten.

Cole, der in den USA geboren und in Lagos aufgewachsen ist, schrieb zwischen 2015 und 2019 im New York Times Magazine über Fotografie und ist derzeit Professor für Kreatives Schreiben an der Harvard University.