2019, Thu, Mar 28

The New Weird

Jenna Sutela | Gut-Machine Poetry 2017 | Photo: Mikko Gaestel

Jenna Sutela | Gut-Machine Poetry 2017 | Photo: Mikko Gaestel

The term “New Weird” has been used to categorize emerging forms of speculative fiction that fall outside of typical genre classifications. New Weird fiction explores the wonder and the horror at the fringes of human consciousness—uncoupling science fiction from claims to rationality, and fantasy literature from romantic clichés.

The participants of this event will delve into the historical roots of speculative fiction to imagine weird futures for text. As theorist Jared Sexton writes, “Speculative: not only about possible futures, but also possible pasts and presents.” One starting point will be First Contact narratives, which describe encounters with an alien other.

Imagining ways to encounter the nonhuman—which requires challenging the limits of human agency and consciousness—is essential in an age of planetary extinction. By proposing stories without the human at the center, Weird fictions might dislocate deterministic dystopias so endemic to genres like science fiction, instead morphing and mutating what fiction is and can do.

With the literary theorists Jim Clarke and Alison Sperling, the author Tom McCarthy, and the Young Girl Reading Group, curated by Elvia Wilk

The event is the kick-off of the literature series Alphabet Readings, part of The New Alphabet

Do, 28. März 2019

The New Weird

Jenna Sutela | Gut-Machine Poetry 2017 | Foto: Mikko Gaestel

Jenna Sutela | Gut-Machine Poetry 2017 | Foto: Mikko Gaestel

„The New Weird“ bezeichnet eine Strömung in der spekulativen Literatur, die über die Grenzen typischer Genres hinweg geht. New Weird Fictions erkunden das Unheimliche und den Horror an den Rändern des menschlichen Bewusstseins, sie befreien Science-Fiction vom Anspruch auf Rationalität und Fantasy-Literatur von romantischen Klischees.

Die Beitragenden tasten nach den historischen Wurzeln spekulativen Schreibens, mit Blick auf dessen sonderbare Zukunft. Um mit dem Theoretiker Jared Sexton zu sprechen: „Spekulativ: nicht nur in Bezug auf eine mögliche Zukunft, sondern auch auf mögliche Vergangenheiten und Gegenwarten.“ Ein Ausgangspunkt sind Narrative des „First Contact“ – Erzählungen also, in denen es um Begegnungen mit einem Anderen außerirdischen Ursprungs geht.

Darüber nachzudenken, wie einem nicht-menschlichen, nicht-irdischen Gegenüber zu begegnen wäre, ist angesichts von Bedrohungen planetarischen Ausmaßes essenziell geworden. Indem sie nicht den Menschen ins Zentrum der Erzählung stellen, sondern den Blick auf ein unheimliches Außen richten, schaffen New Weird Fictions literarische Zukunftsentwürfe jenseits von Utopie und Dystopie – sie lassen das Erzählen selbst ins Unerwartete und Ungewisse mutieren.

Mit dem Literaturwissenschaftler Jim Clarke, dem Autor Tom McCarthy, der Literaturwissenschaftlerin Alison Sperling und der Young Girl Reading Group, kuratiert von Elvia Wilk

Die Veranstaltung ist der Auftakt der Literaturreihe Alphabet Readings, Teil von Das Neue Alphabet