Sun, Aug 1: Road closures and traffic obstructions around HKW. More

2021, Mon, Jul 05

#Survivance

With Filipa César, Elizabeth Povinelli, Karrabing Film Collective and others

Situated in the semantic intersection of survival, maintenance and resistance of the deliberately imprecise term “Survivance” coined by writer and activist Gerald Vizenor, this edition of the New Alphabet School in Porto will convoke the concept as a “renunciations of dominance, tragedy and victimry”.

Contributors from the arts, philosophy and activism will unfold how modes of “Survivance” can produce creative forms for subverting violence in challenging times of severe socio-political and ecological injustice. Moreover, “Survivance” will be discussed from the perspective of the ones often unaccounted for or ignored, both then and now, colonized peoples whose rejection of victimry is articulated with gestures of empowerment through art, politics and collective practices. Workshops, lectures and film screenings will propose ways of operating the various meanings of this concept in our shared present and address the paradigm shift of geopolitics, recognizing the worlds within our world and bringing forward the learning with communities from the Global South.

With contributions by Filipa César, Elizabeth Povinelli and screenings by Karrabing Film Collective and others

With workshops by Chto Delat, Filipa César uand Marinho de Pina, Mila Turajlic and Ekua Yankah, mordo (Aline Baiana, Camila de Caux, Eric Macedo)

Curated by Daniel Ribas, Filipa César and Nuno Crespo

Day 1 | Day 2 | Day 3 | Day 4 | Day 5

Monday, July 5

8pm WEST (Porto) / 9pm CEST (Berlin)
Online
Divergent Survivances – Descending the Alps, Converging into Karrabing.
Keynote by Elizabeth Povinelli

This talk probes the citational and social dynamics of two genealogies of survivance – one through the legacy of Jacques Derrida and the other Gerald Vizenor – through a brief history of two clans in the ongoing ancestral presence of colonial appropriation and emergent American and European nativism. How by tracking the near simultaneous Simonaz Povinelli movement out of their frontier Alpine village to the US and Nunggudi Karrabing confrontation with European invasions of their lands can we come to understand not merely emergent American and European nativism on the left and right, but divergent trajectories and purposes of a concept.

9.15pm WEST (Porto) / 10.15pm CEST (Berlin)
Online
Day in the Life
Film screening
D: Karrabing Film Collective, Australia 2020, 30 min, OV

Day in the Life explores the ordinary obstacles Indigenous families face as they move through an ordinary day. Across five chapters – Breakfast, Playtime, Lunch Break, Cocktail Hour and Dinner Time – and an audioscape directed by its younger members, the film is a visual and sonic landscape that dramatizes and satirizes the settler forms of governance and extractive capitalism that Karrabing members encounter over the course of a day.

9.45pm WEST (Porto) / 10.45pm CEST (Berlin)
Online
The Inheritance
Film screening, preview
D: Karrabing Film Collective, USA 2021, 80 min, OV

In the late 1960s and early 1970s, little Elizabeth Povinelli struggles to understand the meanings of her Alpine inheritance. It is hidden in the rich hued ridges of a framed image hanging in her family's home and expressed in the sudden flashes of anger and deep pockets of melancholia that pool round it. Struggling with it, she discovers the source of her inheritance is not in the in the past but in the present racial and colonial infrastructures that surround her in the US.

Day 1 | Day 2 | Day 3 | Day 4 | Day 5

Mo, 05. Juli 2021

#Survivance

Mit Filipa César, Elizabeth Povinelli, Karrabing Film Collective u. a.

© Maimuna Arafam, coletivo Cadjigue

© Maimuna Arafam, coletivo Cadjigue

An der Schnittstelle von Überleben, Sorge tragen und Widerstand: Die Ausgabe der New Alphabet School in Porto widmet sich dem bewusst vage gehaltenen Begriff „Survivance,“ den der Autor und Aktivist Gerald Vizenor geprägt hat. Die Bedeutung des Konzeptes wird dabei als ein „Verzicht auf Herrschaft, Tragödie und Viktimisierung“ aufgefasst.

Beitragende aus Kunst, Philosophie und Aktivismus erläutern, wie verschiedene Auslegungen von „Survivance“ in herausfordernden Zeiten gesellschaftspolitischer und ökologischer Ungleichheiten durch die Entwicklung von kreativen Formen dazu beitragen kann, Gewalt abzuwenden. „Survivance“ wird aus der Perspektive von oft unbeachteten oder ignorierten, damals wie heute kolonialisierten Gruppen diskutiert. Die Ablehnung der Opferrolle sowie Selbstermächtigungen werden durch künstlerische, politische und gemeinschaftliche Praxen zur Sprache gebracht. In Workshops, Vorträgen und Filmvorführungen werden unterschiedliche Ansätze des Konzepts und ihre Bedeutung für das gemeinsame Hier und Jetzt präsentiert. In dem Bewusstsein, dass es viele Welten in dieser Welt gibt, wird auch auf geopolitische Paradigmenwechsel eingegangen und nach Möglichkeiten des Lernens von und mit Vertreter*innen des Globalen Südens gesucht.

Mit Beiträgen von Filipa César, Elizabeth Povinelli und Screenings von Karrabing Film Collective u. a.

Mit Workshops von Chto Delat, Filipa César und Marinho de Pina, Mila Turajlic und Ekua Yankah, mordo (Aline Baiana, Camila de Caux, Eric Macedo)

Kuratiert von Daniel Ribas, Filipa César und Nuno Crespo

Tag 1 | Tag 2 | Tag 3 | Tag 4 | Tag 5

Montag, 05.07.

20h WESZ (Porto) / 21h MESZ (Berlin)
Online & Porto, Serralves Museum
Formen von „Survivance“ – Abstieg von den Alpen, hin zu Karrabing
Keynote von Elizabeth Povinelli

Der Vortrag untersucht die sozialen Dynamiken und die Ähnlichkeiten zwischen zwei Geschichten vom Überleben. , einerseits durch das Erbe Jacques Derridas, andererseits durch Gerald Vizenor. Elizabeth Povinelli geht ihnen in einer kurzen Geschichte von zwei Clans im Angesicht der sich über Generationen fortschreibenden kolonialen Aneignung sowie des sich abzeichnenden amerikanischen und europäischen Nativismus nach. Wie lässt durch das Nachzeichnen der fast gleichzeitigen Bewegung der Simonaz Povinellis von ihrem Grenzdorf in den Alpen in die USA und der Konfrontation der Nunggudi Karrabings mit der europäischen Invasion ihres Landes ein Verständnis entwickeln – nicht nur für den in der Linken wie der Rechten aufkommenden amerikanischen und europäischen Nativismus, sondern auch für andere Wege und Absichten der Konzepte?

21.30h WESZ (Porto) / 22.30h MESZ (Berlin)
Online & Porto, Serralves Museum
Day in the Life
Film-Screening
R: Karrabing Film Collective, Australien 2020, 30 min, OmeU

Day in the Life beschreibt die alltäglichen Hindernisse, mit denen indigenen Familien im Laufe eines gewöhnlichen Tages konfrontiert sind. In fünf Kapiteln – Frühstück, Spiel, Mittagspause, Aperitif und Abendessen – und mit einer von den jüngeren Mitgliedern inszenierten Audiospur – entwickelt der Film eine visuelle und akustische Landschaft, die sich als Dramatisierung und Satire der Regierungsformen und des extraktiven Kapitalismus‘ der Siedler*innen darstellt, die den Karrabing im Laufe eines Tages begegnen.

22.15h WESZ (Porto) / 23.15h MESZ (Berlin)
Online & Porto, Serralves Museum
The Inheritance
Film-Screening, Preview
R: Karrabing Film Collective, USA 2021, 80 min, OV

In den späten 1960er und frühen 1970er Jahren kämpft die kleine Elizabeth Povinelli mit der Bedeutung ihrer alpinen Herkunft, die in den kräftigen Schattierungen eines im Familienhaus hängenden, gerahmten Bildes verborgen zu sein scheint. Bei ihr macht sie sichin plötzlichen Wutausbrüchen und tiefer Melancholie bemerkbar. Während sie mit dieser Geschichte ringt, findet sie heraus, dass der Ursprung ihres Erbes nicht in der Vergangenheit liegt, sondern vielmehr in den gegenwärtigen rassistischen und kolonialen Infrastrukturen, die sie in den USA umgeben, fortlebt.

Tag 1 | Tag 2 | Tag 3 | Tag 4 | Tag 5