2020, Thu, Mar 05

Life after Music Magazines – the Norient Way

With Jenny Fatou Mbaye, Faisal M. Khan, Bryan Little, Kamila Metwaly, Ali Gul Pir, Sarathy Korwar & The UPAJ Collective (live), Dis Fig (DJ set)

Sarathy Korwar | Photo: Promo

Sarathy Korwar | Photo: Promo

Music print media are going extinct. Who will research, analyse and critic music? Where will the dialog about and with music take place in the future? And what do music and sound tell us about the global present? At the launch of the series On Music, the online music platform Norient offers answers. The online magazine and network for music scenes from Argentina to Ghana to Pakistan has reinvented itself in 2020 as the Norient Space. It has become a virtual gallery and community platform between art, journalism and academia that sees music as a seismograph of the times. At HKW’s restaurant Weltwirtschaft, its makers present the Norient Space and discuss the freedoms possible in the future for music journalism beyond algorithms and filter bubbles with artists, journalists and scholars.

Jenny Fatou Mbaye (Centre for Culture and the Creative Industries, City University of London) will provide an introduction to the topic in her keynote, followed by a discussion with Faisal M. Khan (curator, Akaliko Collective), Bryan Little (film director), Kamila Metwaly (music journalist, musician, curator, Savvy Contemporary) and Ali Gul Pir (rapper, satirist), moderated by Theresa Beyer (music and cultural journalist, Norient).

In addition, Norient’s digital sound and media art gallery The Now in Sound celebrates its premiere with a walk-in installation and live music by Sarathy Korwar & the UPAJ Collective. On their latest album More Arriving (The Leaf Label), the singer-songwriter, tabla percussionist and drummer Korwar and his band unite classic Indian percussion, contemporary British jazz and electronics. Afterwards Felicia Chen aka Dis Fig clears a path through techno, rap, noise and percussive electronics. From Berghain’s Säule to Berlin Community Radio to festivals such as Unsound (Poland), Nyege Nyege (Uganda) and Wetware (China), the Berlin-based producer and DJ is at home in the global underground.

Norient wants to make it possible to experience the world through music and sound, working together with journalists, researchers, bloggers, photographers, film and podcast producers from over 50 countries. Its focus is on subcultural and experimental artistic positions in a globalized, digitized and urbanized world.
www.norient-beta.com

Do, 05. März 2020

Life after Music Magazines – the Norient Way

Mit Jenny Fatou Mbaye, Faisal M. Khan, Bryan Little, Kamila Metwaly, Ali Gul Pir, Sarathy Korwar (live), Dis Fig (DJ-Set)

Sarathy Korwar | Foto: Promo

Sarathy Korwar | Foto: Promo

Gedruckte Musikmedien sterben aus. Was wird aus der Recherche, Analyse und Kritik von Musik? Wo findet zukünftig die Auseinandersetzung über und mit Musik statt? Und was erzählen Musik und Klang über die globale Gegenwart? Die Musik-Online-Plattform Norient bietet zum Auftakt der Reihe On Music Antworten: Mit dem Norient Space hat sich das Online-Magazin und Netzwerk für Musikszenen von Argentinien über Ghana bis Pakistan 2020 neu erfunden. Entstanden ist eine virtuelle Galerie und Community-Plattform zwischen Kunst, Journalismus und Wissenschaft, die Musik als Seismograf der Zeit versteht. Im HKW-Restaurant Weltwirtschaft stellen die Macher*innen den Norient Space vor und diskutieren mit Künstler*innen, Journalist*innen und Wissenschaftler*innen, welche Freiräume es für den Musikjournalismus jenseits von Algorithmen und Filterblasen künftig geben kann.

Jenny Fatou Mbaye (Centre for Culture and the Creative Industries, City University of London) führt in ihrer Keynote in die Thematik ein. Anschließend diskutieren Faisal M. Khan (Kurator, Akaliko Collective), Bryan Little (Filmregisseur), Kamila Metwaly (Musikjournalistin, Musikerin, Kuratorin, Savvy Contemporary) und Ali Gul Pir (Rapper, Satiriker), moderiert von Theresa Beyer (Musik- und Kulturjournalistin, Norient).

Dazu feiert Norients digitale Sound- und Media Art Gallery The Now In Sound als begehbare Installation Premiere; Live-Musik kommt von Sarathy Korwar. Der Singer-Songwriter, Tabla-Perkussionist und Schlagzeuger Korwar und seine Band verschmelzen auf ihrem neuen Album More Arriving (The Leaf Label) klassische indische Perkussion, zeitgenössischen britischen Jazz und Elektronik. Im Anschluss schlägt Felicia Chen aka Dis Fig eine Schneise durch Techno, Rap, Noise und perkussive Elektronik. Von Berghains Säule über das Berlin Community Radio bis zu Festivals wie Unsound (Polen), Nyege Nyege (Uganda) oder Wetware (China) ist die in Berlin lebende Produzentin und DJ im globalen Underground zuhause.

Norient will die Welt über Musik und Klang erfahrbar machen und arbeitet dazu mit Journalist*innen, Forschenden, Blogger*innen, Fotograf*innen, Film- und Podcast-Produzent*innen aus über 50 Ländern zusammen. Der Fokus der Plattform liegt auf subkulturellen und experimentellen künstlerischen Positionen in einer globalisierten, digitalisierten und urbanisierten Welt.
www.norient-beta.com