Available online from Mar 11, 2021, 7 pm

Archival Absence

With Bassel Al Saadi, Fehras Publishing Practices, Ghassan Halwani, United for Intercultural Action (Balint Josa) and Rona Sela, moderated by Marwa Arsanios

What remembrance practices do societies develop that possess no (state) archives or have no access to them? How is testimony preserved and remembered there? Does the public have a right to archives? What role do initiatives by artists, researchers and activists play?

As public institutions, archives can contribute to the development of collective memory and to the discourse on cultural and national identities. Such archival sites are often lacking in the countries of the southern Mediterranean and the Middle East: European colonial policy did not allow independent historiography in the regions, with far-reaching consequences up to the present day. Today, archives there are created and maintained mainly by private initiatives. But such collections are vulnerable and often subject to loss and destruction in the course of political conflicts.

The artist collective Fehras Publishing Practices offers insights into its collection practice and artistic engagement with archival materials. Ghassan Halwani uses his film Erased, ____ Ascent of the Invisible (2018) to tell how the memory of those missing from the Lebanese civil war is kept alive. The artist Bassel Al Saadi reports on an archive project meant to reflect the history of art and the loss of cultural heritage in Syria for the first time. Balint Josa from United for Intercultural Action Action speaks about the work on a list that has documented deaths of people in connection with European border policy since 1993. Rona Sela shows an excerpt of her film Looted & Hidden – Palestinian Archives in Israel (2017), which follows the traces of destroyed Palestinian archives. Available in full length for private view only, here . For any public or commercial screening please contact Rona Sela.

With Bassel Al Saadi, Fehras Publishing Practices, Ghassan Halwani, United for Intercultural Action (Balint Josa) and Rona Sela, moderated by Marwa Arsanios

Ab Do, 11.03.2021 19h online verfügbar

Archival Absence

Mit Bassel Al Saadi, Fehras Publishing Practices, Ghassan Halwani, United for Intercultural Action (Balint Josa) und Rona Sela, moderiert von Marwa Arsanios

Welche Praktiken der Erinnerung entwickeln Gesellschaften ohne (staatliche) Archive oder ohne den Zugang dazu? Wie wird hier Zeugenschaft bewahrt und erinnert? Hat die Öffentlichkeit einen Anspruch auf Archive und welche Rolle spielen Initiativen von Künster*innen, Forscher*innen und Aktivist*innen?

Als öffentliche Institutionen können Archive zur Entwicklung eines kollektiven Gedächtnisses und zum Diskurs über kulturelle und nationale Identitäten beitragen. In den Ländern des südlichen Mittelmeerraums und des Nahen Ostens fehlen oftmals solche Archivorte: Die europäische Kolonialpolitik ließ eine eigenständige Geschichtsschreibung in den Regionen nicht zu – mit weitreichenden Folgen bis in die Gegenwart. Archive werden dort heute vor allem durch private Initiativen angelegt und gepflegt. Doch sind solche Sammlungen verwundbar und im Zuge von politischen Konflikten häufig Verlust und Zerstörung ausgesetzt.

Das Künstlerkollektiv Fehras Publishing Practices gibt Einblick in seine Sammlungspraxis und künstlerische Auseinandersetzung mit Archivmaterialien. Ghassan Halwani erzählt anhand seines Films Erased,___ Ascent of the Invisible (2018), wie die Erinnerung an die Vermissten des libanesischen Bürgerkriegs wachgehalten wird. Der Künstler Bassel Al Saadi berichtet von einem Archivprojekt, das erstmals Kunstgeschichte und Verlust von kulturellem Erbe in Syrien reflektieren soll. Balint Josa von United for Intercultural Action spricht über die Arbeit an einer Liste, die seit 1993 die Todesfälle von Menschen in Verbindung mit der europäischen Grenzpolitik dokumentiert. Rona Sela zeigt einen Ausschnitt aus ihrem Film Looted & Hidden – Palestinian Archives in Israel (2017), der den Spuren zerstörter palästinensischer Archive folgt. In voller Länge für rein private Vorführungen hier abrufbar. Für eine öffentliche oder kommerzielle Vorführung kontaktieren Sie bitte Rona Sela.

Mit Bassel Al Saadi, Fehras Publishing Practices, Ghassan Halwani, United for Intercultural Action (Balint Josa) und Rona Sela, moderiert von Marwa Arsanios