Fri, Sep 24–Sun, Sep 26: Road closures and traffic obstructions around HKW. More...

2021, Sat, Mar 06 — 2021, Sun, Aug 29

Werner Düttmann. Building. Berlin.

Congress Hall under construction with view of the Reichstag ruins in the background, Mar 5, 1957 | Akademie der Künste, Berlin, Werner-Düttmann-Archiv, No. 10 F. 6/3 | Photo: Leon Müller

Congress Hall under construction with view of the Reichstag ruins in the background, Mar 5, 1957 | Akademie der Künste, Berlin, Werner-Düttmann-Archiv, No. 10 F. 6/3 | Photo: Leon Müller

From Ernst-Reuter-Platz to St. Agnes in Kreuzberg to subway stations on the U7 line: Architect and urban planner Werner Düttmann shaped Berlin like no other in the post-war period. His works include residential and cultural buildings such as the Brücke-Museum and the Academy of Arts in the Hansa district, public spaces, social and transport buildings. Together with Franz Mocken, from 1957 Düttmann was also responsible for the construction of the Congress Hall, in which HKW is located today.

Düttmann would have turned one hundred on March 6, 2021. The exhibition Werner Düttmann. Building. Berlin. initiated and conceived by the Brücke-Museum honors his work. 28 “exhibition satellites” designed by the Kooperative für Darstellungspolitik – one in front of HKW’s outdoor stairway – will draw attention to his buildings in the city. Info panels at HKW will show archival material and historical documents about Düttmann’s use of forms, the history of the Congress Hall and its location in the Tiergarten.

An extensive catalogue will be published for the exhibition in German and English by Wasmuth & Zohlen Verlag.

Werner Düttmann. Building. Berlin. is conceived and organized by the Brücke-Museum in cooperation with the Akademie der Künste Berlin, the Berlin Monument Authority and the Technische Universität Berlin, supported by the LOTTO-Stiftung Berlin and the Capital Cultural Fund.

Sa, 17. April 2021 — So, 11. Juli 2021

Werner Düttmann. Berlin. Bau. Werk.

Kongresshalle, im Bau mit Blick auf Reichstagsruine im Hintergrund, 5.3.1957 | Akademie der Künste, Berlin, Werner-Düttmann-Archiv, Nr. 10 F. 6/3 | Foto: Leon Müller

Kongresshalle, im Bau mit Blick auf Reichstagsruine im Hintergrund, 5.3.1957 | Akademie der Künste, Berlin, Werner-Düttmann-Archiv, Nr. 10 F. 6/3 | Foto: Leon Müller

Vom Ernst-Reuter-Platz über St. Agnes in Kreuzberg bis hin zu U-Bahnhöfen der U7: Als Architekt und Stadtplaner prägte Werner Düttmann Berlin wie kaum ein anderer in der Nachkriegszeit. Seine Arbeiten umfassen Wohn- und Kulturbauten wie das Brücke-Museum oder die Akademie der Künste im Hansa-Viertel, öffentliche Plätze, Sozial- und Verkehrsbauten. Gemeinsam mit Franz Mocken verantwortete Düttmann ab 1957 auch die Bauausführung der Kongresshalle, in der sich heute das HKW befindet.

Am 6. März 2021 wäre Düttmann hundert Jahre alt geworden. Die vom Brücke-Museum initiierte und konzipierte Ausstellung Werner Düttmann. Berlin. Bau. Werk würdigt sein Schaffen. Anlässlich des Jubiläums machen 28 von der Kooperative für Darstellungspolitik gestaltete „Ausstellungssatelliten“ ab dem 6. März in der Stadt auf seine Bauten aufmerksam. Als Teil des netzwerkartigen Projekts zeigt eine Ausstellung im HKW ab 17. April Archivmaterialen und historische Dokumente zu Düttmanns Formensprache, der Geschichte der Kongresshalle und ihrem Standort im Tiergarten.

Anlässlich der Ausstellung erscheint ein umfassender Katalog im Wasmuth & Zohlen Verlag in deutscher und englischer Sprache.

Werner Düttmann. Berlin. Bau. Werk. wird konzipiert und organisiert vom Brücke-Museum, in Kooperation mit der Akademie der Künste Berlin, dem Landesdenkmalamt Berlin und der Technischen Universität Berlin, gefördert von der LOTTO-Stiftung Berlin und dem Hauptstadtkulturfonds.