2021, Wed, Jun 09 — 2021, Sun, Jun 20

Berlinale Summer Special

Open Air Cinema HKW

Salomé Jashi | Taming the Garden | © Mira Film/Corso Film/Sakdoc Film

Salomé Jashi | Taming the Garden | © Mira Film/Corso Film/Sakdoc Film

Berlinale in the open air: In the exceptional year of 2021, the Berlinale will show films at 16 outdoor venues in a specially made open-air cinema at Museum Island, in outdoor versions of “Kiez-Kino” local screenings and in the middle of the Tiergarten in HKW’s Westgarten.

At HKW, the festival sections Forum and Forum Expanded will show international cinema productions of feature films, documentaries and short film programs that often deal with intense crises. They are about encounters with a murderer, the life of an activist, a dementia patient on a Caribbean island, but also about the cathartic confrontation of a film director with her situation as a non-German in Berlin or a crash course in Black resistance.

With films by Ephraim Asili, Cynthia Beatt, Christophe Cognet, Fabrizio Ferraro, Salomé Jashi, Prapat Jiwarangsan, PolakVanBekkum, Petna Ndaliko Katondolo, Jonna Kina, Angelika Levi, Vincent Meessen, Avi Mograbi, Susana Nobre, Moumouni Sanou, Kerstin Schroedinger, Moritz Siebert, Anocha Suwichakornpong, Emily Wardill, Chris Wright & Stefan Kolbe

Mi, 09. Juni 2021 — So, 20. Juni 2021

Berlinale Summer Special

Open Air Kino HKW

Salomé Jashi | Taming the Garden | © Mira Film/Corso Film/Sakdoc Film

Salomé Jashi | Taming the Garden | © Mira Film/Corso Film/Sakdoc Film

Berlinale unter freiem Himmel: Im Ausnahmejahr 2021 zeigt die Berlinale Filme in insgesamt 16 Outdoor-Spielstätten – in einem eigens geschaffenen Open Air-Kino auf der Museumsinsel, als Freiluftvarianten der „Kiez-Kinos“ oder inmitten des Tiergartens im Westgarten des HKW.

Die Festivalsektionen Forum und Forum Expanded zeigen im HKW internationale Kinoproduktionen zwischen Spiel- und Dokumentarfilm und Kurzfilmprogramme, die sich oftmals mit tiefen Krisensituationen auseinandersetzen. Es geht um Begegnungen mit einem Mörder, die Vita eines Aktivisten, einen Demenzkranken auf einer Karibikinsel, aber auch um die kathartische Auseinandersetzung einer Regisseurin mit ihrer Situation als Nichtdeutsche in Berlin oder einen Crashkurs in Schwarzem Widerstand.

Mit Filmen von Ephraim Asili, Cynthia Beatt, Christophe Cognet, Fabrizio Ferraro, Salomé Jashi, Prapat Jiwarangsan, PolakVanBekkum, Petna Ndaliko Katondolo, Jonna Kina, Angelika Levi, Vincent Meessen, Avi Mograbi, Susana Nobre, Moumouni Sanou, Kerstin Schroedinger, Moritz Siebert, Anocha Suwichakornpong, Emily Wardill, Chris Wright & Stefan Kolbe