2021, Sat, Oct 09

Socializing Evidence

Still from Safari Prop V3 by Decolonize This Place

Still from Safari Prop V3 by Decolonize This Place

The rise of counterfactual politics on- and off-line, presents societies with a dilemma. One option is to buttress the institutional basis of factual authority by supporting the existing judiciary, media, universities and cultural venues. Another approach, presented here, is more risky: to seize the contemporary moment of institutional crisis as an opportunity for a radical transformation of the way facts are produced and disseminated. This approach responds to the current skepticism towards institutional pronouncements with a vital form of collective truth-production; one that is both diffused and diverse, based on establishing an expanded community of practice that incorporates aesthetic and scientific sensibilities. Organized by one such community of practice, the Investigative Commons, this event brings together investigators, lawyers, activists, artists, architects and academics. They will discuss the ways in which new investigative practices have the potential to challenge different forums for the presentations of facts and articulation of claims: the mainstream media brought into crisis by the growth of ‘open source’ and 'citizen’ journalism; museums, which have been turned into sites of political contestation; and the courts where new kind of evidence, citizen-produced and crowd-verified, challenges traditional legal process.

4 pm
Welcome by Bernd Scherer
Introduction by Eyal Weizman: What is the Investigative Commons?

4.30–5.45 pm
Media
Discussion with Hadi Al Khatib, Lina Attalah, Gabriela Ivens and Stefanos Levidis, moderated by Emily Dische-Becker

The internet is the largest, most varied and complex information system ever developed. Open-source investigation (OSI) entails gathering, verifying, analyzing, synchronizing, geo-locating and cross-referencing evidentiary material, found amongst vast reams of online data, available to all, often in real time. In these new conditions of information sharing, it is often frontline communities, together with a network of remote and proximate activists and experts, that are first to produce and disseminate visual evidence of violence, well before the mainstream media. Social organizations now take over the means of (evidence) production and define how reality around them is framed and mobilized. This panel explores how OSI inaugurated a new field of journalism, one that is increasingly incorporated into mainstream media outlets. The participants will discuss how such investigative practices should not only be thought of as a set of techniques, but as grounded in, and feeding back into, new modes of social organization and arrangements of labor.

6–7.15 pm
Museums
Discussion with Henrike Naumann, Decolonize This Place (Nitasha Dhillon, Amin Husain) and Nan Goldin, moderated by Anselm Franke

Social mobilization, protests, boycotts, shutdowns, and occupations by self-organized activists have turned cultural spaces into sites of contestation and accountability. A new investigative aesthetics has mobilized the tools and sensibilities of artists and architects to expose the complicity of art institutions and their patrons' complicity in unjust practices and structures, leveraging the visibility of museums to exercise political pressure. Inviting such practices into art spaces is not only intended to place new techniques and issues on the wall, but oriented toward precipitating a crisis that poses a set of challenges – and demands – to institutions. This expands the political vocabulary of aesthetic practices from institutional critique, formative in highlighting the economical and ideological forces shaping art, to institutional contestation. The panel will discuss the places where the art system and contemporary liberation struggles meet.

7.45–9 pm
Courts
Discussion with Başak Ertür, Hanaa Hakiki, Chrysa Papadopoulou, and Christina Varvia, moderated by Wolfgang Kaleck

Video evidence found online often contains both representations of the reality around the videographers and the voice of the videographer themselves: crying, cursing, shouting, or narrating. As such, user-generated videos break the received division between evidence (referring to things) and testimony (referring to people). Woven together with other media – such as satellite imagery or CCTV footage – and oral or written testimony, such videos can add up to crucial evidence, with the potential for reshaping judicial processes. And as user-generated video evidence becomes increasingly common in evidencing rights violations, skills that previously had no part in the legal process – such as those of architects and filmmakers – are becoming essential in a new “forensic aesthetics.” When courts fail to deliver justice, whether by failing to recognize new media evidence or by virtue of their outmoded structures and practices, alternative forums such as people’s tribunals can emerge as sites in which claims for accountability can be made. This panel will explore how new practices of evidence-production can turn courts into sites of political contestation, struggles and claims for transformation.

9pm
Closing Remarks by Wolfgang Kaleck

Sa., 09. Oktober 2021

Socializing Evidence

Still aus Safari Prop V3 von Decolonize This Place

Still aus Safari Prop V3 von Decolonize This Place

Das Erstarken kontrafaktischer Politik on- und offline stellt Gesellschaften vor ein Dilemma. Einerseits können sie die institutionelle Basis faktischer Autorität durch die Unterstützung der bestehenden Justiz, Medien, Universitäten und kulturellen Einrichtungen untermauern. Ein anderer Ansatz ist riskanter: Die institutionelle Krise lässt sich als Chance begreifen für eine radikale Umgestaltung der Art und Weise, wie Fakten produziert und verbreitet werden. Dieser Ansatz reagiert auf die Skepsis gegenüber institutionellen Verlautbarungen mit kollektiver Wahrheitsproduktion – eine, die sowohl breit wie auch divers angelegt ist und auf einer gemeinsamen Praxis beruht, die ästhetisches und wissenschaftliches Feingefühl berücksichtigt. Bei der Konferenz kommen – organisiert von einer solchen Community of Practice, dem Investigative Commons – Ermittler*innen, Jurist*innen, Aktivist*innen, Künstler*innen, Architekt*innen und Akademiker*innen zusammen. Sie diskutieren neue investigative Praxen und ihr Potenzial, Behauptungen, Faktendarstellungen und ihre Plattformen herauszufordern: Die Massenmedien stürzten durch Open-Source- und Bürger*innenjournalismus in eine Krise, Kulturinstitutionen wurden Schauplätze politischer Auseinandersetzungen und vor Gericht stehen ganze Verfahren in Frage, aufgrund neuer Beweisformen, die von Bürger*innen produziert und durch Crowds verifiziert wurden.

16h
Begrüßung von Bernd Scherer
Einführung von Eyal Weizman: Was ist das Investigative Commons?

16.30–17.45h
Medien
Diskussion mit Hadi Al Khatib, Lina Attalah, Gabriela Ivens und Stefanos Levidis, moderiert von Emily Dische-Becker

Das Internet ist das größte, vielfältigste und komplexeste Informationssystem, das es gibt. Für Open-Source-Ermittlungen wird Beweismaterial aus frei im Internet zugänglichen Daten gesammelt, verifiziert, analysiert, abgeglichen, verortet und zusammengeführt – oft in Echtzeit. Unter diesen neuen Bedingungen des Informationsflusses sind es oft die von Gewalt betroffenen Gruppen selbst, die als erstes – und lange vor den Massenmedien – visuelle Beweise liefern. Gesellschaftliche Organisationen nehmen so nicht nur die (Beweis-)Beschaffung, sondern die Darstellung der sie umgebenden Realität selbst in die Hand. Das Panel thematisiert, wie diese Formen der Open-Source-Ermittlung ein neues Feld des Bürger*innenjournalismus erschlossen haben und heute oftmals Teil der Massenmedien geworden sind. Ist das investigative Vorgehen – neben methodischen Aspekten – nicht vor allem als Ergebnis und Quelle neuer gesellschaftlicher Organisationsformen und Arbeitsmodelle zu betrachten?

18–19.15h
Museen
Diskussion mit Henrike Naumann, Decolonize This Place (Nitasha Dhillon, Amin Husain) und Nan Goldin, moderiert von Anselm Franke

Mit sozialen Bewegungen, Protesten, Boykotts, Schließungen und Besetzungen haben selbstorganisierte Aktivist*innen Kunst- und Kulturräume zu Orten der Kontroverse und Verantwortung gemacht. Eine neue investigative Ästhetik bündelt dabei Strategien von Künstler*innen und Architekt*innen und deckt die Mitschuld von Kunstinstitutionen und Mäzen*innen an Unrechtssystemen auf, die Sichtbarkeit von Museen ermöglicht dabei politischen Druck. Diese Praxen in Kunsträume einzuladen bringt nicht nur neue Formen und Inhalte an die Wände. Vielmehr bedingen sie, dass sich die Institutionen mit einer Reihe von Forderungen konfrontieren lassen müssen. Das politische Vokabular der Institutionskritik, deren ästhetische Praxis die Beeinflussung der Kunst durch wirtschaftliche und ideologische Kräfte verdeutlichte, spricht jetzt von einer Institutionskontroverse. Im Zentrum des Panels steht die Frage: Wo treffen sich das System Kunst und die zeitgenössischen Befreiungskämpfe?

19.45–21h
Gerichte
Diskussion mit Başak Ertür, Hanaa Hakiki, Chrysa Papadopoulou und Christina Varvia, moderiert von Wolfgang Kaleck

Im Internet gefundene Videos enthalten neben der bildlichen Darstellung einer gefilmten Realität oft auch die Stimmen der Filmenden selbst: ihr Weinen, Fluchen, Schreien oder Erzählen. Solche nutzer*innengenerierten Videos brechen mit der gängigen Trennung von Beweismittel (in Bezug auf Dinge) und Zeugenschaft (in Bezug auf Menschen). Neben Satellitenbildern, Fernerkundungs- und Überwachungsmaterial und Aussagen von Zeug*innen können solche Videos entscheidende Beweise liefern und damit potenziell Gerichtsverfahren neu ausrichten. Das Können etwa von Architekt*innen und Filmemacher*innen, im juristischen Prozess bisher unbeachtet, wird für diese neue „forensische Ästhetik“ unverzichtbar. Wenn Gerichte keine Gerechtigkeit herstellen, können alternative Foren wie Bürger*innentribunale als Orte für Forderungen entstehen. Die Beitragenden des Panels diskutieren, inwiefern Gerichte durch diese neuen Beweisformen zu Orten für politische Kontroversen, Kämpfe und Transformationen werden.

21h
Schlussbemerkung von Wolfgang Kaleck