Guided tour

Queer Topographies

Guided tour through HKW

Sun, Sep 5, 2021
2 pm
Sold out
5€/3,50€
Sat, Sep 10, 2022
Meeting point: box office
Part of “Tag des offenen Denkmals”
Free admission, with entry ticket

We recommend that guests wear FFP2 masks. More information

Haus der Kulturen der Welt | © Silke Briel

On the bank of the Spree, very close to HKW, a monument commemorates the former location of the Institut für Sexualwissenschaft (1919-1933) and its founder Magnus Hirschfeld. In his book Berlins Drittes Geschlecht (Berlin’s Third Gender), Hirschfeld mapped the lives of “Uranians” in Berlin at the turn of the century, describing scenes from pubs and other popular meeting places and classifying the linguistic codes used there.

Hirschfeld’s work as a physician and sexologist can certainly be viewed critically today as it is steeped in the eugenic discourses of his time, i.e., ideological concepts such as a doctrine of hereditary health. But his activist efforts to decriminalize homosexuality made the institute not only a research site, but also a refuge for queer people. In 1956, the Congress Hall, which has housed HKW since 1989, was built on part of the site of the institute that was destroyed by the Nazis.

Far from the grand narratives, a tour through and around the building directs the viewer’s attention to sideline settings and counter-narratives. Amid facts and fables, it’s about the construction history of the Congress Hall, institutional queering at HKW and the historic cruising area in the Tiergarten.

With Christopher Wierling

Führung

Queere Topografien

Führung durch das HKW

So 5.9.2021
14h
Ausverkauft
5€/3,50€
Sa 10.9.2022
Treffpunkt: Kasse
Im Rahmen des „Tag des offenen Denkmals“
Eintritt frei, mit Einlassticket

Wir empfehlen das Tragen einer FFP2-Maske. Mehr Informationen

Haus der Kulturen der Welt | © Silke Briel

Am Spreeufer, ganz in der Nähe des HKW, erinnert ein Denkmal an den ehemaligen Standort des Instituts für Sexualwissenschaft (1919-1933) und dessen Gründer Magnus Hirschfeld. In seinem Text Berlins Drittes Geschlecht kartographierte Hirschfeld das Leben der „Urninge“ und „Urninden“ in Berlin zur Jahrhundertwende, schilderte Szenen aus Lokalen und anderen beliebten Treffpunkten und klassifizierte die dort verwendeten sprachlichen Codes.

Hirschfelds Arbeit als Arzt und Sexualwissenschaftler ist heute durchaus kritisch zu betrachten, ist sie doch durchzogen von den eugenischen Diskursen seiner Zeit, also von ideologischen Konzepten wie einer Erbgesundheitslehre. Aber sein aktivistischer Einsatz für die Entkriminalisierung von Homosexualität machte das Institut nicht nur zur Forschungsstätte, sondern auch zu einem Zufluchtsort für queere Menschen. Auf einem Teil des Grundstücks des von den Nazis zerstörten Instituts wurde 1956 die Kongresshalle erbaut, die seit 1989 das HKW beherbergt.

Abseits der großen Narrative lenkt ein Rundgang durch und um das Haus den Blick auf Nebenschauplätze und Gegenerzählungen: Zwischen Fakten und Fabulieren geht es um die Baugeschichte der Kongresshalle, institutionelles Queering am HKW und die historische Cruisingarea im Tiergarten.

Mit Christopher Wierling