Presentation, Discussion

Anthropocene Working Group. A Scientific Forum

Wed, May 18, 2022
Lecture Hall
9 am–7 pm
Free admission, with registration

In English

Registration required until May 13

We recommend that guests wear FFP2 masks. More information

A three-day forum on the findings of the twelve research sites from which the Anthropocene Working Group (AWG) will nominate their candidate Global Stratotype Section and Point (GSSP) to define the start of the geological Anthropocene.

During the program Unearthing the Present, the AWG and its associated research groups invite the public to attend as observers the AWG’s internal meeting and to witness a milestone in the process of defining the geological Anthropocene. On May 18 and 19, the research teams will present findings from twelve sites and discuss the results with fellow AWG researchers; on May 20, in an open forum, the public will be given the unique opportunity to ask questions and enter into discussion with members of the AWG and the scientific teams.

The discussion will be focused on the diverse human-generated markers preserved at these sites and the suitability of each site to host a GSSP. Special attention will be paid to the practical circumstances and difficulties of collecting the samples and analyzing the human-generated signals found within them.

The Scientific Forum initiates the final phase of a decade of research to formalize the chronostratigraphic Anthropocene. After evaluating the findings presented at the Scientific Forum, the AWG will announce which of the twelve GSSP candidates they have selected to provide evidence for the new geological unit at a press conference at HKW in December 2022.

Program:

9 am
Welcome
Bernd Scherer & Colin Waters

Presentations

9.30 am
Flinders Reef, Australia
Jens Zinke

11 am
Searsville Reservoir, USA
Anthony D. Barnosky, Elizabeth A. Hadly, Allison Stegner

12 noon
San Francisco Estuary, USA
Mark Williams, Stephen Himson

2 pm
Antarctic Peninsula, Antarctica
Liz Thomas

3 pm
East Gotland Basin, Baltic Sea
Jérôme Kaiser, Juliana A. Ivar do Sul

4.30 pm
West Garden Flower Bank Reef, USA
Kristine L. DeLong

5.30 pm
Crawford Lake, Canada
Francine M.G. McCarthy

6.30 pm
Wrap Up
Simon Turner, Colin Waters

Anthropocene Working Group. A Scientific Forum

Presentation, Discussion

May 19, 2022

Anthropocene Working Group. A Scientific Forum

On Revealing the Stratigraphic Anthropocene

Public Forum, Q&A

May 20, 2022

Präsentationen, Diskussion

Anthropocene Working Group. A Scientific Forum

Mi 18.5.2022
Vortragssaal
9–19h
Eintritt frei, mit Anmeldung

Auf Englisch

Anmeldung bis zum 13.5.

Wir empfehlen das Tragen einer FFP2-Maske. Mehr Informationen

Ein dreitägiges wissenschaftliches Forum beschäftigt sich mit den stratigrafischen Forschungen im Auftrag der Anthropocene Working Group (AWG) zur Identifikation und Beschreibung eines geologischen Referenzpunktes (GSSP) für den Beginn der neuen Erdepoche. Zwölf Forschungsteams präsentieren und diskutieren die Ergebnisse ihrer Untersuchungen.

Im Rahmen der Veranstaltung Unearthing the Present laden die AWG und ihre assoziierten Forschungsgruppen dazu ein, an der Präsentation der Resultate teilzunehmen und damit einen entscheidenden Schritt bei der Definition des geologischen Anthropozäns zu begleiten. Am 18. und 19. Mai legen die Gruppen die finalen Ergebnisse aus zwölf Standorten dar, um sie anschließend intern zu diskutieren. Das Publikum hat am 20. Mai im Rahmen eines öffentlichen Forums die Gelegenheit, Fragen zu stellen und sich mit Mitgliedern der AWG und den Forschungsteams auszutauschen.

Die Diskussion konzentriert sich auf die verschiedenen anthropogenen Marker, die sich in den zwölf untersuchten Bohrkernproben identifizieren lassen, sowie auf die Eignung der jeweiligen Bohrkerne als definitive geologische Referenzpunkte für das Anthropozän. Ein besonderes Augenmerk richtet sich auf die praktischen Aspekte – die Umstände und Herausforderungen während der Entnahme sowie der anschließenden Analyse der anthropogenen Signale.

Das wissenschaftliche Forum leitet die letzte Phase eines Jahrzehnts der Forschung zur Formalisierung des chronostratigrafischen Anthropozäns ein. Nach Auswertung der vorgestellten Ergebnisse wird die AWG im Rahmen einer Pressekonferenz im Dezember 2022 am HKW ihre Entscheidung bekannt geben, welcher der zwölf Kandidaten als GSSP für das neue Erdzeitalter vorgeschlagen wird.

Programm:

9h
Begrüßung
Bernd Scherer & Colin Waters

Präsentationen

9.30h
Flinders Riff, Australien
Jens Zinke

11h
Searsville Reservoir, USA
Anthony D. Barnosky, Elizabeth A. Hadly, Allison Stegner

12h
San Francisco Bay, USA
Mark Williams, Stephen Himson

14h
Antarktische Halbinsel, Antarktis
Liz Thomas

15h
Östliches Gotlandbecken, Ostsee
Jérôme Kaiser, Juliana A. Ivar do Sul

16.30h
Westliches Flower Garden Bank Riff, USA
Kristine L. DeLong

17.30h
Crawford Lake, Kanada
Francine M.G. McCarthy

18.30h
Zusammenfassung
Simon Turner, Colin Waters

Anthropocene Working Group. A Scientific Forum

Präsentationen, Diskussion

19.5.2022

Anthropocene Working Group. A Scientific Forum

On Revealing the Stratigraphic Anthropocene

Öffentliches Forum, Q&A

20.5.2022