Cinema

Fragmentos de un diario inacabado | Journal inachevé | El hombre cuando es hombre

Sat, Jun 25–Sat, Aug 27, 2022
Sat, Jun 25, 2022
Lecture Hall
12.05 pm
Admission included in exhibition ticket
Sat, Jul 2, 2022
Lecture Hall
12.05 pm
Admission included in exhibition ticket
Sat, Jul 9, 2022
Lecture Hall
12.05 pm
Admission included in exhibition ticket
Sat, Jul 16, 2022
Lecture Hall
12.05 pm
Admission included in exhibition ticket
Sat, Jul 23, 2022
Lecture Hall
12.05 pm
Admission included in exhibition ticket
Sat, Jul 30, 2022
Lecture Hall
12.05 pm
Admission included in exhibition ticket
Sat, Aug 6, 2022
Lecture Hall
12.05 pm
Admission included in exhibition ticket
Sat, Aug 13, 2022
Lecture Hall
12.05 pm
Admission included in exhibition ticket
Sat, Aug 20, 2022
Lecture Hall
12.05 pm
Admission included in exhibition ticket
Sat, Aug 27, 2022
Lecture Hall
12.05 pm
Admission included in exhibition ticket

Every Saturday

12.05 pm

Admission with exhibition ticket

Courtesy of MUSEO DE LA MEMORIA Y LOS DERECHOS HUMANOS and Angelina Vásquez

Fragmentos de un diario inacabado (Fragments from an Unfinished Diary)

D: Angelina Vásquez, Chile/Finland 1983, 59 min, Spanish OV with English subtitles

Angelina Vásquez, a Chilean filmmaker who had been active in the Movimiento de Izquierda Revolucionaria (Revolutionary Left Movement, MIR), went into exile following Augusto Pinochet’s military coup in 1973. Ten years later, she returned to the country semi-clandestinely to make a film about what had happened in the intervening decade. Forced to leave before she started shooting, Vázquez pursued her project with the help of collaborators, completing it from Finland. In the words of film scholar Elizabeth Ramirez-Soto,“Fragmentos de un diario inacabado brings together elements of the epistolary and diary films, as well as the travelogue, to create a resilient portrait of Chilean society as it resists an oppressive dictatorial regime through different collective strategies, including folk music, popular theater, soup kitchens, and growing mass demonstrations that coincided with the shooting of Vásquez’s film.”

Courtesy of Marilú Mallet

Journal inacheve (Unfinished Diary)

D: Marilú Mallet, Canada 1982, 50 min, English/French/Spanish OV with English subtitles

Marilú Mallet arrived in Quebec in 1973, fleeing her native Chile after the coup d’état against Salvador Allende led to Augusto Pinochet’s military junta. Journal inachevé was made nearly a decade later. In the words of film scholar Elizabeth Ramírez-Soto, the film “uses the intimate diary form to convey Mallet’s everyday life as an exiled woman filmmaker in Montreal, working through her past while navigating a new culture,” thereby“bridging the individual and collective experiences of forced displacement.” Journal inachevé emerged from an unfinished epistolary film project titled Les lettres (The Letters), which Mallet planned to undertake together with her friend and fellow Chilean filmmaker in exile, Valeria Sarmiento, who was at the time living in Paris.

Courtesy of Valeria Sarmiento

El hombre cuando es hombre (Ein Mann, wenn er ein Mann ist)

D: Valeria Sarmiento, Costa Rica/Federal Republic of Germany/France, 67 min, Spanish OV with German subtitles

After going into exile from her native Chile following Augusto Pinochet’s 1973 military coup, Valeria Sarmiento continued her filmmaking practice in diverse locations, including Cuba and France. With funding from the West German television broadcaster ZDF, she went to Costa Rica with the intention of making a film about the perniciousness of Latin American machismo. El hombre cuando es hombre comprises interviews with men of all ages, speaking directly about sex and seduction, as well as observational sequences that underline how social rituals perpetuate gender stereotypes. Initially, the film seems neutral in its approach, yet as it progresses the sharp bite of Sarmiento’s ironic stance becomes unmistakable. As she put it, “The small details that keep accumulating form a threatening whole.”

Kino

Fragmentos de un diario inacabado | Journal inachevé | El hombre cuando es hombre

Sa 25.6.–Sa 27.8.2022
Sa 25.6.2022
Vortragssaal
12.05h
Eintritt im Ausstellungsticket inbegriffen
Sa 2.7.2022
Vortragssaal
Eintritt im Ausstellungsticket inbegriffen
Sa 9.7.2022
Vortragssaal
Eintritt im Ausstellungsticket inbegriffen
Sa 16.7.2022
Vortragssaal
Eintritt im Ausstellungsticket inbegriffen
Sa 23.7.2022
Vortragssaal
Eintritt im Ausstellungsticket inbegriffen
Sa 30.7.2022
Vortragssaal
Eintritt im Ausstellungsticket inbegriffen
Sa 6.8.2022
Vortragssaal
Eintritt im Ausstellungsticket inbegriffen
Sa 13.8.2022
Vortragssaal
Eintritt im Ausstellungsticket inbegriffen
Sa 20.8.2022
Vortragssaal
Eintritt im Ausstellungsticket inbegriffen
Sa 27.8.2022
Vortragssaal
Eintritt im Ausstellungsticket inbegriffen

Jeden Samstag

Jeweils 12.05h

Eintritt mit Ausstellungsticket

Courtesy of MUSEO DE LA MEMORIA Y LOS DERECHOS HUMANOS and Angelina Vásquez

Fragmentos de un diario inacabado (Fragments from an Unfinished Diary)

R: Angelina Vásquez, Chile/Finnland 1983, 59 min, spanische OV mit engl. Untertiteln

Die chilenische Filmemacherin Angelina Vázquez, die im Movimineto de Izquierda Revolucionaria aktiv gewesen war, ging nach Augusto Pinochets Militärputsch 1973 ins Exil. Zehn Jahre später kehrte sie heimlich zurück, um einen Film über das abgelaufene Jahrzehnt zu drehen. Bereits vor Drehbeginn war sie erneut gezwungen, das Land zu verlassen; das Projekt wurde mit Unterstützung vor Ort fertiggestellt, während Vazquez in Finnland war. Die Filmtheoretikerin Elizabeth Ramirez-Soto schreibt: „Mit der Verbindung von Elementen eines Tagebuchfilms, Briefen und Reiseberichten schafft Fragmentos de un diario inacabado ein widerständiges Bild der chilenischen Gesellschaft im Kampf gegen ein unterdrückerisches, diktatorisches Regime. Zu den kollektiven Strategien gehören Musik aus dem Volk genauso wie populäres Theater, Suppenküchen und zunehmend größere Demonstrationen, die mit den Dreharbeiten zu Vásquez’ Film zusammenfielen.“

Courtesy of Marilú Mallet

Journal inachevé (Unfinished Diary)

R: Marilú Mallet, Kanada 1982, 50 min, englische/französische/spanische OV mit engl. Untertiteln

Marilú Mallet ging 1973 nach Québec ins Exil. Sie hatte ihr Geburtsland Chile nach dem Putsch gegen Salvador Allende, der in eine Militarjunta unter Augusto Pinochet mundete, verlassen. Fast ein Jahrzehnt später entstand Journal inachevé. Der Film „nutzt die intime Form eines Tagebuchs, um Mallets Alltag als Filmemacherin im Montrealer Exil augenscheinlich zu machen“, schreibt die Filmwissenschaftlerin Elizabeth Ramírez-Soto. „Sie versucht sich in einer neuen Kultur zurechtzufinden und zugleich ihre Vergangenheit aufzuarbeiten. [...] So schlägt sie eine Brücke zwischen individuellen und kollektiven Erfahrungen erzwungener Migration.“ Journal inachevé erwuchs aus dem unvollendeten Filmprojekt Les lettres, das Mallet aus Briefen mit ihrer Freundin und Kollegin Valeria Sarmiento entwickeln wollte, die damals in Paris lebte.

Courtesy of Valeria Sarmiento

El hombre cuando es hombre (Ein Mann, wenn er ein Mann ist)

R: Valeria Sarmiento, Costa Rica/BRD/Frankreich 1982, 67 min, Spanische OV mit dt. Untertiteln

Der Militärputsch von Augusto Pinochet 1973 in Chile zwang Valeria Sarmiento aus ihrer Heimat ins Exil, ihre filmische Praxis setzte sie an verschiedenen Orten fort, darunter Kuba und Frankreich. Mit finanzieller Unterstützung des ZDF ging sie nach Costa Rica, um einen Film über die Gefährlichkeit des lateinamerikanischen machismo zu drehen. El Hombre cuando es hombre besteht aus Interviews mit Männern aller Altersgruppen, die über Sex und Verführung sprechen, und aus Beobachtungen, die verdeutlichen, wie soziale Rituale Geschlechterstereotype aufrechterhalten. Zu Beginn scheint der Film neutral zu sein, doch in seinem Verlauf wird Sarmientos scharf ironische Haltung unübersehbar. Wie sie es ausdrückt: „Es sind die kleinen Details, die sich zu einem bedrohlichen Ganzen anhäufen.“