Cinema

Iris | Lie Back and Enjoy It | Cycles | I Don’t Know | Jennifer, Where Are You?

Sun, Jun 26–Sun, Aug 28, 2022
Sun, Jun 19, 2022
Lecture Hall
5.15 pm
Admission included in exhibition ticket
Sun, Jun 26, 2022
Lecture Hall
5.15 pm
Admission included in exhibition ticket
Sun, Jul 3, 2022
Lecture Hall
5.15 pm
Admission included in exhibition ticket
Sun, Jul 10, 2022
Lecture Hall
5.15 pm
Admission included in exhibition ticket
Sun, Jul 17, 2022
Lecture Hall
5.15 pm
Admission included in exhibition ticket
Sun, Jul 24, 2022
Lecture Hall
5.15 pm
Admission included in exhibition ticket
Sun, Jul 31, 2022
Lecture Hall
5.15 pm
Admission included in exhibition ticket
Sun, Aug 7, 2022
Lecture Hall
5.15 pm
Admission included in exhibition ticket
Sun, Aug 14, 2022
Lecture Hall
5.15 pm
Admission included in exhibition ticket
Sun, Aug 21, 2022
Lecture Hall
5.15 pm
Admission included in exhibition ticket
Sun, Aug 28, 2022
Lecture Hall
5.15 pm
Admission included in exhibition ticket

Every Sunday

5.15 pm

Admission with exhibition ticket

Courtesy of Sixpackfilm

Iris

D: Maria Lassnig, USA 1971, 11 min, English OV

Iris is the first of four portraits comprising Soul Sisters, a series of films Maria Lassnig made while living in New York. Using an array of techniques including superimposition, stop-motion photography, distorting mirrors, and unconventional camera angles, the Austrian artist crafts an undulating and unfamiliar representation of the female nude, with her friend Iris Vaughan as subject. Best known for her work as a painter, Lassnig employed the term Körperbewusstsein or “body awareness” to describe her practice. Here, she carries over this approach into film, leaving behind a realistic depiction of the human form to better communicate corporeal sensation.

Copyright of Chicago Film Archives

Lie Back and Enjoy It

D: JoAnn Elam, USA 1982, 8 min, English OV

“I don’t like your idea for this film”—so begins Lie Back and Enjoy It, in which a woman talks back to a male director who plans to make a “personal film” about the two of them. These disembodied voices discuss sexism, power, and the politics of representation as images of a woman’s face flicker and fill the screen, occasionally interrupted by fragments of text. JoAnn Elam uses optical printing to rupture cinematic illusion, increasingly disfiguring and obscuring the woman’s image as the film progresses. Does this intervention offer the woman salvation from the objectification to which she is subject? Or is it an allegory of her true invisibility in patriarchal visual culture?

Courtesy of Women Make Movies and Zeinabu irene Davis

Cycles

D: Zeinabu irene Davis, USA 1989, 16 min, English OV

In Cycles, a woman awaits the arrival of her period, filling the intervening time with household chores and care for herself. Zeinabu irene Davis renders the routines and pleasures of her protagonist’s life with a poetic sensuality, drawing on Afro-Caribbean forms of spirituality and song. In the filmmaker’s words, “The cool thing is, people can watch the film and not have a clue, but for others I’m able to express background about culture and history that hopefully gives them a greater appreciation and understanding of Black culture and how it’s tied to Black womanhood and celebrations of Black women.” Rather than a “feminist,” Davis considers herself a “womanist,” explaining, “There are problems with some of the ideals of feminism that do not encompass all of what I am as a Black woman, mother, daughter, wife, etcetera.”

Courtesy of Avatar Films

I Don’t Know

D: Penelope Spheeris, USA 1970, 20 min, English OV

Penelope Spheeris, I Don’t Know (1970), 16 mm, 20 min., USA I Don’t Know is the first of two short films featuring Jimmie – a femme sometimes referred to as “he” and other times as “she” – that Penelope Spheeris made during her time as a graduate student at the University of California, Los Angeles. The film refuses not only the binary of male/female but also that of documentary/ fiction: it entangles interview and verité footage with reenactments of real events and fantasy sequences to explore friendship, violence, love, and money in the lives of Jimmie and Linda, Spheeris’s lesbian sister.

Jennifer, Where Are You?

D: Leslie Thornton USA 1981, 11 min, English OV

A little girl gazes into a handheld mirror, applying red lipstick. Her rehearsal of the affectations of womanhood goes awry from the outset: she colors outside the lines, smearing the makeup such that her mouth resembles a clown’s rictus. A paternal voice, sinister and insistent, echoes on the soundtrack, calling out the film’s title repeatedly to no answer. Images of a house and adults appear inverted along the horizontal axis, emblems of reproductive futurity literally upended. By the end, the girl’s once pleasant countenance has soured into sullenness. Glowering, she refuses to blow out the match held in front of her from off-screen, watching it burn as the voice continues to call her name.

Kino

Iris | Lie Back and Enjoy It | Cycles | I Don’t Know | Jennifer, Where Are You?

So 26.6.–So 28.8.2022
So 19.6.2022
Vortragssaal
17.15h
Eintritt im Ausstellungsticket inbegriffen
So 26.6.2022
Vortragssaal
17.15h
Eintritt im Ausstellungsticket inbegriffen
So 3.7.2022
Vortragssaal
Eintritt im Ausstellungsticket inbegriffen
So 10.7.2022
Vortragssaal
Eintritt im Ausstellungsticket inbegriffen
So 17.7.2022
Vortragssaal
Eintritt im Ausstellungsticket inbegriffen
So 24.7.2022
Vortragssaal
Eintritt im Ausstellungsticket inbegriffen
So 31.7.2022
Vortragssaal
Eintritt im Ausstellungsticket inbegriffen
So 7.8.2022
Vortragssaal
Eintritt im Ausstellungsticket inbegriffen
So 14.8.2022
Vortragssaal
Eintritt im Ausstellungsticket inbegriffen
So 21.8.2022
Vortragssaal
Eintritt im Ausstellungsticket inbegriffen
So 28.8.2022
Vortragssaal
Eintritt im Ausstellungsticket inbegriffen

Jeden Sonntag

Jeweils 17.15h

Eintritt mit Ausstellungsticket

Courtesy of Sixpackfilm

Iris

R: Maria Lassnig, USA 1971, 11 min, engl. OV

Iris ist das erste von insgesamt vier Porträts in der Reihe Soul Sisters, die Maria Lassnig in ihrer Zeit in New York drehte. Mit verschiedensten Techniken (u. a. Doppelbelichtung, Stop-Motion-Fotografie, verzerrende Spiegel, unkonventionelle Kamerawinkel) gelingt der österreichischen Künstlerin eine ungewöhnliche Repräsentation weiblicher Nacktheit als Körperlandschaft – in diesem Fall mit ihrer Freundin Iris Vaughan. Lassnig, die vor allem als Malerin bekannt ist, prägte den Begriff Körperbewusstsein für ihren Ansatz, der auch in diesem Film deutlich zu erkennen ist. Realistische Darstellungen der menschlichen Form lässt sie hinter sich, um körperliche Empfindungen besser vermitteln zu können.

Copyright of Chicago Film Archives

Lie Back and Enjoy It

R: JoAnn Elam, USA 1982, 8 min, engl. OV

„Ich mag deine Idee für diesen Film nicht.“ Mit diesen Worten beginnt Lie Back and Enjoy It, in dem eine Frau einem männlichen Regisseur antwortet, der über sie beide einen „persönlichen Film“ machen möchte. Zwei Stimmen ohne Körper diskutieren über Sexismus, Macht und die Politik der Repräsentation. Dazu flackern Bilder des Gesichts der Frau über die Leinwand, gelegentlich unterbrochen von Textfragmenten. JoAnn Elam verwendet optical printing (die Verdoppelung einzelner Filmkader), um die Illusion des Filmischen zu durchbrechen. Je länger der Film läuft, desto stärker wird das Bild der Frau zerstückelt und unklar. Kann diese Intervention die Frau aus der Objektivierung erlösen, der sie unterliegt? Oder handelt es sich um eine Allegorie ihrer tatsächlichen Unsichtbarkeit in einer patriarchalen visuellen Kultur?

Courtesy of Women Make Movies and Zeinabu irene Davis

Cycles

R: Zeinabu irene Davis, USA 1989, 16 min, engl. OV

In Cycles wartet eine Frau auf ihre Periode, die Zeit füllt sie mit Hausarbeit und Körperpflege. Zeinabu irene Davis zeigt die Routinen und Freuden im Leben ihrer Protagonistin mit einer poetischen Sinnlichkeit – unter Rückgriff auf afrokaribische Lieder und Spiritualität. „Das Coole daran ist“, so die Filmemacherin: „Die Leute können sich den Film ansehen, ohne eine Ahnung davon zu haben, dass ich zugleich Hintergründe über Kultur und Geschichte erschließe, die hoffentlich eine größere Wertschätzung und ein Verständnis von Schwarzer Kultur ermöglichen – nicht zuletzt im Hinblick auf das Frausein und die Würdigung Schwarzer Frauen.“ Davis bezeichnet sich nicht als Feministin, sondern als womanist, denn: „Es gibt ein Problem mit manchen Idealen des Feminismus, sie treffen nicht den Kern dessen, was ich als Schwarze Frau, Mutter, Tochter, Ehefrau etc. bin.“

Courtesy of Avatar Films

I Don’t Know

R: Penelope Spheeris, USA 1970, 20 min, engl. OV

I Don’t Know ist der erste von zwei kurzen Filmen mit Jimmie – einer Femme, die manchmal als Er und manchmal als Sie angesprochen wird. Penelope Spheeris war während der Produktion Studentin an der University of California, Los Angeles. Der Film verweigert sich nicht nur der Binarität von Geschlecht, sondern auch einer klaren Trennung zwischen dem Dokumentarischen und Fiktionalen. Interviews und Vérité-Bildmaterial werden mit Reenactments von tatsächlichen Ereignissen und Fantasiesequenzen verbunden, erforschen Freundschaft, Gewalt, Liebe und Geld im Leben von Jimmie und Linda, der lesbischen Schwester von Spheeris.

Jennifer, Where Are You?

R: Leslie Thornton, USA 1981, 11 min, engl. OV

Ein kleines Mädchen blickt in einen Handspiegel, trägt roten Lippenstift auf. Die Probe auf weibliches Verhalten geht von der ersten Minute an schief: Das Rot verläuft über die Lippen, das Make-up verschmiert das Gesicht zu einer Clownsgrimasse. Eine unheimliche und eindringliche männliche Stimme kommt wie ein Echo von der Tonspur, ruft immer wieder die Titelfrage des Films, eine Antwort bleibt jedoch aus. Bilder von einem Haus und Erwachsenen erscheinen über die Horizontachse gebrochen, die Embleme einer reproduktiven Zukünftigkeit sind buchstäblich auf den Kopf gestellt. Zum Ende hin ist das Vergnügen des Mädchens einer verdrießlichen Stimmung gewichen. Mit finsterem Blick weigert sie sich, ein brennendes Streichholz auszublasen, das ihr von außerhalb des Bilds entgegengehalten wird. Sie blickt auf die Flamme. Die Stimme ruft immer noch nach ihr.