Cosmic Awakening

2022, Nov 10 — 13

Time and space travel, cyborgs and escapism – how do visions of the future transform into music? A festival of utopian sounds.

To project

Audio – 1:31:02

A Sound Civilization

With Ann Cotten, Lonnie Holley, Duduzile L S Mathonsi, moderated by Natasha A. Kelly English original version Lectures, panel, Nov 13, 2022

Audio – 0:50:32

The Sound of Tomorrow

With Heiko Hoffmann, Lisa Rovner English original version Panel, Nov 12, 2022

Gallery – 9 pictures

Cosmic Awakening

Festival: Concerts, films, talks, installations Nov 10–13, 2022

Audio – 0:00:00

Chapter 3: Sound is a Matter of the Imagination | Cosmic Awakening

If truth is stranger than fiction, why shouldn’t music be stranger than science fiction? Sounds manipulate space and time, unlock new dimensions and open wormholes in parallel universes. In this respect, sonic fiction does the same as fantasy literature: It distorts the present and creates space for alternative worlds. With quotes from works by J. G. Ballard, Jimmy Carter, Becky Chambers, Kodwo Eshun, Ursula K. Le Guin, Daniel Oberhaus, Sun Ra, Holger Schulze, David Tudor, Whitney Wei.

Audio – 0:00:00

Chapter 2: How Loud is the Sun? | Cosmic Awakening

In the approach to Jupiter, the sun can be heard singing. But apart from the soundscapes on neighboring planets or in black holes, according to probability theory there is also extraterrestrial music. Science fiction literature has made it possible to understand how it might sound: a cacophony of smells or a symphony of free energy flows. With quotes from works by Isaac Asimov, Octavia E. Butler, Becky Chambers, Edward George, Stanislav Lem, Andi Petculescu, Sun Ra.

Audio – 0:00:00

Chapter 1: In Space No One Can Hear You Scream | Cosmic Awakening

The slogan used to advertise Ridley Scott’s science fiction film “Alien” is nothing more than a statement of fact: In space, no one can hear you scream. But isn’t the idea of sound everywhere in space, which is permeated to the last corner by cosmic background radiation, like an echo of the Big Bang? With quotes from works by Isaac Asimov, Jimmy Carter, Samuel R. Delany, Donna Haraway, N.K. Jemisin, Ursula K. Le Guin, Stanisław Lem, Sun Ra, Arkadi and Boris Strugazki.

Video – 1:31:27

What if the Dam was removed? Part 2

With Anthony D. Barnosky, Lesley Green, Orit Halpern, Elizabeth A. Hadly, Brian Holmes, Michelle Murphy, Allison Stegner, Karolina Sobecka, Olúfẹ́mi O. Táíwò, Stephanie Wakefield, Mi You Original version (German, English) Presentations, conversations, May 21, 2022

Cosmic Awakening

10.—13.11.2022

Zeitreisen und Raumfahrt, Cyborgs und Eskapismus – wie verwandeln sich Zukunftsvisionen in Musik? Ein Festival der utopischen Klänge

Mehr zum Projekt

Audio – 1:31:02

A Sound Civilization

Mit Ann Cotten, Lonnie Holley, Duduzile L S Mathonsi, moderiert von Natasha A. Kelly Englische Originalversion Vorträge, Panel, 13.11.2022

Audio – 0:50:32

The Sound of Tomorrow

Mit Heiko Hoffmann, Lisa Rovner Englische Originalversion Panel, 12.11.2022

Audio – 0:22:12

Chapter 3: Sound is a Matter of the Imagination | Cosmic Awakening

Wenn die Wahrheit seltsamer ist als die Fiktion, warum sollte Musik dann nicht seltsamer sein als Science Fiction? Klänge manipulieren Raum und Zeit, erschließen neue Dimensionen und öffnen Wurmlöcher in Paralleluniversen. In dieser Hinsicht tut Sonic Fiction dasselbe wie fantastische Literatur: Sie verzerrt die Gegenwart und schafft Raum für alternative Welten. Mit Zitaten aus Texten von J. G. Ballard, Jimmy Carter, Becky Chambers, Kodwo Eshun, Ursula K. Le Guin, Daniel Oberhaus, Sun Ra, Holger Schulze, David Tudor, Whitney Wei.

Audio – 0:18:16

Chapter 2: How Loud is the Sun? | Cosmic Awakening

Im Anflug auf Jupiter hört man die Sonne singen. Aber abgesehen von den Klangkulissen auf Nachbarplaneten oder in schwarzen Löchern, gibt es Wahrscheinlichkeitsrechnungen zufolge auch außerirdische Musik. Science-Fiction-Literatur hat begreifbar gemacht, wie sie klingen könnte: eine Kakofonie aus Gerüchen oder eine Sinfonie freier Energieströme. Mit Zitaten aus Texten von Isaac Asimov, Octavia E. Butler, Becky Chambers, Edward George, Stanislav Lem, Andi Petculescu, Sun Ra.

Galerie – 9 Bilder

Cosmic Awakening

Festival: Konzerte, Filme, Talks, Installationen 10.–13.11.2022

Audio – 0:15:22

Chapter 1: In Space No One Can Hear You Scream | Cosmic Awakening

Der Slogan, mit dem Ridley Scotts Science-Fiction-Film Alien beworben wurde, ist nichts anderes als eine Tatsachenbehauptung: Im Weltraum kann dich niemand schreien hören. Aber steckt nicht doch überall die Idee von Klang im All, das bis in den letzten Winkel durchdrungen ist von kosmischer Hintergrundstrahlung, wie von einem Echo des Urknalls? Mit Zitaten aus Texten von Isaac Asimov, Jimmy Carter, Samuel R. Delany, Donna Haraway, N.K. Jemisin, Ursula K. Le Guin, Stanisław Lem, Sun Ra, Arkadi und Boris Strugazki.

Video – 1:31:27

What if the Dam was removed? Teil 2

Mit Anthony D. Barnosky, Lesley Green, Orit Halpern, Elizabeth A. Hadly, Brian Holmes, Michelle Murphy, Allison Stegner, Karolina Sobecka, Olúfẹ́mi O. Táíwò, Stephanie Wakefield, Mi You Originalversion (Deutsch, Englisch) Präsentationen, Gespräche, 21.5.2022