Technosphere Magazine

since November 2016

Krebs Faraday Collaboration | © Steffen Fiedler, Daniel Foster Smith 2010

Krebs Faraday Collaboration | © Steffen Fiedler, Daniel Foster Smith 2010

Acting as a calibrating device at the point where natural environments, enormous sociotechnical forces, and evermore “technological species” converge, Technosphere Magazine traces the mechanisms of the Technosphere. It investigates specific dimensions, “apparatuses,” ruptures, and operational failures through and by which the technosphere becomes visible. How does the technosphere operate? What are its organizing principles and infrastructures? And how will we work amidst these new forms and constellations of humans, technology, and Earth systems that the technosphere spawns?

Over the course of the research project Technosphere (2015-19), the online magazine ties together research pieces, philosophical essays, and artistic approaches in curated thematic dossiers, thereby mapping out trajectories and converging points within the technosphere. Between autumn 2016 and spring 2019, eight to ten dossiers will be released each year.

Online at


Dossiercollagen © Nina Jäger

With contributions by

Lawrence Abu Hamdan, Babak Afrassiabi, S. Ayesha Hameed, Sammy Baloji, On Barak, Anil Bawa-Cavia, Etienne Benson, Josh Berson, Jeremy Bolen, Axel Braun, Keith Breckenridge, François Bucher, Lino Camprubí, Zachary Caple, Ele Carpenter, Andrew Chubb, Louis Chude-Sokei, Claire Colebrook, Rana Dasgupta, Filip De Boeck, Seth Denizen, Jonathan Donges, Keller Easterling, David Edgerton, Technosphere Editorial, Sasha Engelmann, Jennifer Gabrys, Oliver Gantner, Florian Goldmann, Johan Gärdebo, Orit Halpern, Carola Hein, Julian Henriques, Hanna Husberg, Erich Hörl, Timothy Johnson, Peter K. Haff, Laleh Khalili, Alexander Klose, Karin Knorr Cetina, Scott Knowles, Nile Koetting, Nicole Koltick, Nik Kosmas, Matthijs Kouw, Lars Kulik, Richard L. Hindle, Brian Larkin, John Law, S. Løchlann Jain, Donald MacKenzie, Laura McLean, Eden Medina, Anne-Sophie Milon, Gerald Nestler, James P. M. Syvitski, Luciana Parisi, Lisa Parks, Matteo Pasquinelli, Arno Rosemarin, Dorion Sagan, Birgit Schneider, Lizzie Stark, Lucy Suchman, Jenna Sutela, Bronislaw Szerszynski, Elisa T. Bertuzzo, Gregory T. Cushman, Nasrin Tabatabai, Katerina Teaiwa, Jol Thomson, Claire Tolan, John Tresch, Etienne Turpin, Asonseh Ukah, Underworlds, Sebastian Vehlken, Vladimir Vernadsky, Davor Vidas, Hannes Wiedemann, Cary Wolfe, Andrew Yang, Jan Zalasiewicz, Anna Zett, Liv Østmo and many more