2015, Sat, Mar 07 and 2015, Sun, Mar 08

Who what how works?

With Maria Mohr and Stefanie Schlüter

The Lumière brothers' first 10 films | © Mathilde Frieda Lüderitz Venza

The Lumière brothers' first 10 films | © Mathilde Frieda Lüderitz Venza

The first-ever film screening for a paying audience—in Paris in 1895—lasted around twenty minutes. Each of the ten short films it included was just under a minute in length. The first one to be shown was the Lumière brothers' “Workers Leaving the Lumière Factory.”

Beginning with this short piece, the program will present various films from the history of cinema, from the early 20th century to the present, which deal with the conditions of work. Who works and who doesn't? What kinds of work are done by men, what kinds by women? How was work organized 100 years ago, and how is it organized today? What is work like for Europeans, and for people on other continents?

The young workshop participants will try their hand at the filmmaker's craft: How does the perspective—literally and figuratively—change when one films people working in a close-up versus a distance shot? How is a film created from separate individual shots, the smallest narrative units? The location for the shoot will be the Haus der Kulturen der Welt.

Verkehrsbehinderungen wegen des Berlin-Marathons bis 25.9. Mehr Infos...

Sa, 07. März 2015 und So, 08. März 2015

Wer was wie arbeitet?

Mit Maria Mohr und Stefanie Schlüter

Die ersten 10 Filme der Lumière | © Mathilde Frieda Lüderitz Venza

Die ersten 10 Filme der Lumière | © Mathilde Frieda Lüderitz Venza

Die erste Kinovorführung vor zahlendem Publikum, die es je gegeben hat, dauerte rund 20 Minuten. Jeder der insgesamt zehn kurzen Filme hatte eine Länge von nur knapp einer Minute. Mit dem Film „Arbeiter verlassen die Lumière-Werke“ eröffneten die Brüder Lumière dieses Filmprogramm im Jahr 1895 in Paris.

Ausgehend von diesem Stück Film werden verschiedene andere Filme aus der Kinogeschichte vom Anfang des 20. Jahrhunderts bis heute gezeigt, die sich mit Arbeitsverhältnissen beschäftigen. Wer arbeitet, wer nicht? Was arbeiten Männer, was Frauen? Wie war Arbeit vor 100 Jahren organisiert, wie heute? Wie arbeiten die Menschen in Europa, wie auf anderen Kontinenten?

Im Workshop werden die Kinder selbst tätig und erproben: Wie ändert sich die Einstellung – im doppelten Sinne des Wortes –, wenn ich Arbeit in einer Großaufnahme filme oder aus der Ferne,etwa in einer Totalen? Wie entstehen Filme aus einzelnen Einstellungen, den kleinsten erzählerischen Einheiten? Gedreht wird am Haus der Kulturen der Welt.