2017, Thu, Mar 162017, Sat, Mar 18

Antiakademismus

Grafik: Jochen Stankowski

Grafik: Jochen Stankowski

The triumph of the university is one of the great success stories of modern times. Nonetheless everyone is talking about its crisis; of its downfall even. An unhappy awareness has taken root in many faculties expressed in hostility towards the institution. Anti-academicism is all the rage, in particular among intellectuals.

Based on this diagnosis, the 15th Blankensee Colloquium will devote itself to the history and theory of anti-academism, a phenomenon that has existed as long as universities have. The scholars’ parodies of the Early Modern Age as well as various political attempts to disempower or abolish universities testify to this. However, the institution of the university has survived the armed and pacifist attacks of every political stripe more or less unscathed and ultimately emerged stronger from every confrontation. Anti-academism and the university seem to rely on one another. How could this co-dependency become a motor of theoretical renewal? What role models, movements, genres and institutions emerged from it? Are there other modes of academic self-understanding outside discourses over crises? Is there an anti-academism today that goes beyond a pose of obvious criticism? What do these questions mean for the university as an educational place, research center and utopia?

With François Cusset, Diedrich Diederichsen, Rosa Eidelpes, Patrick Eiden-Offe, Thomas Etzemüller, Marian Füssel, Eva Geulen, Julika Griem, Stefan Höhne, Rembert Hüser, David Kaldewey, Jürgen Kaube, Kader Konuk, Geoffroy de Lagasnerie und Nina Verheyen.

Detailed program and all participants at antiakademismus.hu-berlin.de

An event by Hanna Engelmeier (Goethe-Universität Frankfurt) and Philipp Felsch (Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin) in cooperation with Haus der Kulturen der Welt

Do, 16. März 2017Sa, 18. März 2017

Antiakademismus

Grafik: Jochen Stankowski

Grafik: Jochen Stankowski

Der Siegeszug der Universität ist eine der großen Erfolgsgeschichten der Moderne. Nichtsdestotrotz hat die Rede von ihrer Krise, ja sogar von ihrem Ruin Konjunktur. In vielen Fakultäten hat sich ein unglückliches Bewusstsein ausgebildet, das sich durch Feindschaft gegen die Institution Luft macht. Insbesondere unter Intellektuellen gehört Antiakademismus zum guten Ton.

Ausgehend von dieser Diagnose will sich das 15. Blankensee-Colloquium der Geschichte und Theorie des Antiakademismus widmen, denn das Phänomen existiert, seitdem es Universitäten gibt. Davon zeugen die Gelehrtenparodien der Frühen Neuzeit ebenso wie diverse politische Versuche, die Universitäten zu entmachten oder abzuschaffen. Doch die Institution Universität überstand bewaffnete und pazifistische Angriffe jeder politischer Couleur mehr oder weniger unbeschadet und ging letztlich aus allen Auseinandersetzungen gestärkt hervor. Antiakademismus und Universität scheinen aufeinander angewiesen zu sein. Wie konnte diese Wechselwirtschaft zum Motor theoretischer Erneuerung werden? Welche Rollenmodelle, Bewegungen, Gattungen und Institutionen gingen aus ihr hervor? Gibt es außerhalb von Krisendiskursen andere Modi akademischer Selbstverständigung? Ist Antiakademismus heute jenseits einer Pose naheliegender Kritik zu haben? Was bedeuten diese Fragen für die Universität als Ausbildungsort, Forschungsstätte und Utopie?

Mit François Cusset, Diedrich Diederichsen, Rosa Eidelpes, Patrick Eiden-Offe, Thomas Etzemüller, Marian Füssel, Eva Geulen, Julika Griem, Stefan Höhne, Rembert Hüser, David Kaldewey, Jürgen Kaube, Kader Konuk, Geoffroy de Lagasnerie und Nina Verheyen.

Ausführliches Programm und alle Teilnehmer*innen auf antiakademismus.hu-berlin.de

Eine Veranstaltung von Hanna Engelmeier (Goethe-Universität Frankfurt) und Philipp Felsch (Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin) in Kooperation mit dem Haus der Kulturen der Welt