10. Internationaler Literaturpreis

Celebration of the Shortlist & Award Ceremony June 28, 2018

Fiction by all available means: What literary forms do current narratives assume? What multiplications and interrelations of texts and realities are set in motion by the processes of translation? Under which conditions does our imagining and thinking, our writing, translating and reading take place? How does the contemporary text negotiate the complexities and distortions faced by mobile and incessantly self-observant societies? Who writes the texts in which the world is present?

In 2018, HKW and Stiftung Elementarteilchen will award the Internationaler Literaturpreis for the tenth time. Since 2009, the prize money of €35,000 – € 20,000 for the author and € 15,000 for the translator – has been conferred to an outstanding work of contemporary international literature translated into German for the first time, thereby honoring the relationship between the original work and its translation.

The award will be presented on June 28, 2018 during a literature festival: The Celebration of the Shortlist & Award Ceremony will not only present the prize-winning book, but delve into the narrative spectrum of the entire shortlisted texts. In a variety of formats – readings, conversations on literary materials, discussions – the authors and translators will offer insights into their own modes of production and reading and undertake literary investigations of the present with the jury and other guests.

Using a multi-stage method, a jury of seven will first determine the shortlist and then the awardee duo. In 2018, the jury will consist of the literary critic and author Verena Auffermann, the journalist and writer Jens Bisky, the literary translators Katy Derbyshire and Frank Heibert, the dramaturge, author and curator Jens Hillje, the literary scholar and editor Daniel Medin, and Daniela Seel, editor and poet.

Since 2017, the award has been accompanied by the residency program of the Literarische Colloquium Berlin (LCB), where the awardees present their latest work in the following year. The ideas and conversations surrounding the award are augmented in the EPITEXT blog by interviews, essays and notes and by articles on literature and translation: epitext.hkw.de

Previous awardees: 2017 Fiston Mwanza Mujila | Katharina Meyer & Lena Müller: Tram 83; 2016 Shumona Sinha | Lena Müller: Erschlagt die Armen!; 2015 Amos Oz | Mirjam Pressler: Judas; 2014 Dany Laferrière | Beate Thill: Das Rätsel der Rückkehr; 2013 Teju Cole | Christine Richter-Nilsson: Open City; 2012 Mircea Cărtărescu | Gerhardt Csejka & Ferdinand Leopold: Der Körper; 2011 Michail Schischkin | Andreas Tretner: Venushaar; 2010 Marie NDiaye | Claudia Kalscheuer: Drei starke Frauen; 2009 Daniel Alarcón | Friederike Meltendorf: Lost City Radio

The Award for Translated Contemporary Literatures is conferred by the Haus der Kulturen der Welt and the Stiftung Elementarteilchen. The Haus der Kulturen der Welt is supported by the Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media as well as by the Federal Foreign Office.


May 23
Announcement of the shortlist

Jun 12
Announcement of the awardees

Original language, with simultaneous translation English/German

Jun 19, 2018 7:30 pm

Reading by last year’ awardees

Fiston Mwanza Mujila, Lena Müller & Katharina Meyer
Literarisches Colloquium Berlin