HKW is undergoing renovations. The restaurant will remain open. Wassermusik and Internationaler Literaturpreis will be held on the roof terrace and in the restaurant. | More information...

Nervous Systems

Quantified Life and the Social Question
March 11 – May 9, 2016

Julien Prévieux | Courtesy: Galerie Jousse Entreprise, Paris | “Patterns of Life (Film-Still)”, 2015

Julien Prévieux | Courtesy: Galerie Jousse Entreprise, Paris | “Patterns of Life (Film-Still)”, 2015

Nervous Systems: Exhibition trailer

Nervous Systems: Exhibition trailer

Jon Rafman | Courtesy of the artist and Future Gallery, Berlin

Jon Rafman | Courtesy of the artist and Future Gallery, Berlin

Goldin+Senneby | „Nassau 6am“ with Johan Hjerpe (graphic designer), 2008

Goldin+Senneby | „Nassau 6am“ with Johan Hjerpe (graphic designer), 2008

Can our inner thoughts be transmitted by our eye movements? Can our future actions be predicted by our current behavior? Julien Prévieux’s film Patterns of Life enacts more than a century of evolving technologies in tracking human behavior, from reorganizing the factory floor to today’s “activity-based intelligence” in the “war on terror.” This is but one example from over 30 works tracing the inversions that mark the relationship between man and machine. Co-curated by Stephanie Hankey and Marek Tuszynski from the Tactical Technology Collective and Anselm Franke the exhibition showcases a range of reflections on our quantified society and the processes of self-quantification. Historical artworks call for a reinterpretation of early conceptual art’s concern with quantification, its “aesthetics of bureaucracy,” and the deconstruction of the self in light of current data- collection. The exhibition includes contributions by media historians and writers, reconstructing the history and the present rise of data-technologies and portraying the world they bring about. A live installation—conceived by Tactical Tech—offers an active space in which visitors can explore their own digital traces. This White Room combines selected artworks, digital products, investigations, and activist projects with discussions, consultations, and demos exploring the devices we use every day, and how we can regain some control over our data.

Read the curatorial statement by Anselm Franke, Stephanie Hankey & Marek Tuszynski

Tactical Tech is a collective of practitioners, technologists, and activists who work to demystify the politics of data in an international context. Since its founding in 2003, Tactical Tech’s work has supported thousands of activists, journalists, and human rights defenders worldwide to use information and technology in their work.

With artistic contributions and works by Vito Acconci, Timo Arnall, Mari Bastashevski, Grégoire Chamayou, Emma Charles, Mike Crane, Arthur Eisenson, Harun Farocki, Charles Gaines, Melanie Gilligan, Goldin+Senneby, Avery F. Gordon, Laurent Grasso, Orit Halpern, Lawrence Abu Hamdan, Ben Hayes, Douglas Huebler, Tung-Hui Hu, On Kawara, Korpys / Löffler, Lawrence Liang, Noortje Marres, !Mediengruppe Bitnik, Henrik Olesen, Matteo Pasquinelli, Julien Prévieux, Jon Rafman, Miljohn Ruperto, RYBN.ORG, Dierk Schmidt, Nishant Shah, Eyal Sivan & Audrey Maurion, Deborah Stratman, Alex Verhaest, Gwenola Wagon & Stéphane Degoutin, Stephen Willats, Mushon Zer-Aviv and others.
And in the White Room: Jacob Appelbaum & Ai Weiwei, Aram Bartholl, Tega Brain & Surya Mattu, James Bridle, Julian Oliver & Danja Vasiliev, Veridiana Zurita and contributions by Open Data City, Peng! Collective, Privacy International, Share Lab, Malte Spitz and others.

An exhibition by Haus der Kulturen der Welt in collaboration with Tactical Technology Collective, co-curated by Stephanie Hankey, Marek Tuszynski and Anselm Franke. Nervous Systems takes place as part of 100 Years of Now.

Exhibition

Nervöse Systeme

Quantifiziertes Leben und die soziale Frage
Fr, 11. März — Mo, 09. Mai 2016

Julien Prévieux | Courtesy: Galerie Jousse Entreprise, Paris | „Patterns of Life“ (Film-Still), 2015

Julien Prévieux | Courtesy: Galerie Jousse Entreprise, Paris | „Patterns of Life“ (Film-Still), 2015

Nervöse Systeme: Ausstellungstrailer

Nervöse Systeme: Ausstellungstrailer

Jon Rafman | Courtesy of the artist and Future Gallery, Berlin

Jon Rafman | Courtesy of the artist and Future Gallery, Berlin

Goldin+Senneby | „Nassau 6am“ with Johan Hjerpe (graphic designer), 2008

Goldin+Senneby | „Nassau 6am“ with Johan Hjerpe (graphic designer), 2008

Übertragen unsere Augenbewegungen das, was uns im Innersten bewegt? Können Handlungen durch die Analyse unseres derzeitigen Verhaltens prognostiziert werden? Julien Prévieuxs Film Patterns of Life setzt mehr als ein Jahrhundert technischer Aufzeichnungen menschlichen Verhaltens in Szene, von der Neuorganisation von Fabriken bis zur „activity-based intelligence“, der Mustererkennung aus Aktivitäts- und Bewegungsanalysen im „Krieg gegen den Terror“. Das ist nur ein Beispiel aus mehr als 30 künstlerischen Arbeiten zu Verschränkungen und Verkehrungen im Verhältnis von Mensch und Maschine. Ko-kuratiert von Anselm Franke sowie Stephanie Hankey und Marek Tuszynski vom Tactical Technology Collective, präsentiert die Ausstellung ein breites Spektrum an Reflexionen über die quantifizierte Gesellschaft der Gegenwart und die damit verbundenen Prozesse der Selbst-Quantifizierung. Historische Arbeiten rufen dazu auf, den Umgang der frühen Konzeptkunst mit Quantifizierung zu überdenken – ihre „Ästhetik der Bürokratie“ und ihre Dekonstruktion von Identität. Beiträge von Medienwissenschaftler*innen und Autor*innen rekonstruieren den Aufstieg der Datentechnologien von den Anfängen bis zur Gegenwart und porträtieren die Welt, die daraus erwachsen ist. Eine Live-Installation, konzipiert von Tactical Tech, eröffnet einen interaktiven Raum, in dem Besucher*innen ihre eigenen Datenspuren nachverfolgen können. Dieser White Room verbindet künstlerische Arbeiten, digitale Produkte, Recherchearbeiten und aktivistische Projekte mit Diskussionen, Konsultationen und Vorführungen zu Geräten des täglichen Gebrauchs und der Frage, wie sich ansatzweise Kontrolle über die eigenen Daten zurückgewinnen lässt.

Zum kuratorischen Statement von Anselm Franke, Stephanie Hankey & Marek Tuszynski

Tactical Tech ist ein Kollektiv von Praktiker*innen, Technolog*innen und Aktivist*innen. Tactical Tech arbeitet an der Entmystifizierung der internationalen Datenpolitik, um Menschenrechte und Meinungsfreiheit zu fördern. Seit der Gründung 2003 hat das Kollektiv Tausende von Aktivist*innen, Journalist*innen und Menschenrechtler*innen weltweit beim effektiven Einsatz von Informationen und Technologie unterstützt.

Mit künstlerischen Arbeiten und Beiträgen von Vito Acconci, Timo Arnall, Mari Bastashevski, Grégoire Chamayou, Emma Charles, Mike Crane, Arthur Eisenson, Harun Farocki, Charles Gaines, Melanie Gilligan, Goldin+Senneby, Avery F. Gordon, Laurent Grasso, Orit Halpern, Lawrence Abu Hamdan, Ben Hayes, Douglas Huebler, Tung-Hui Hu, On Kawara, Korpys / Löffler, Lawrence Liang, Noortje Marres, !Mediengruppe Bitnik, Henrik Olesen, Matteo Pasquinelli, Julien Prévieux, Jon Rafman, Miljohn Ruperto, RYBN.ORG, Dierk Schmidt, Nishant Shah, Eyal Sivan & Audrey Maurion, Deborah Stratman, Alex Verhaest, Gwenola Wagon & Stéphane Degoutin, Stephen Willats, Mushon Zer-Aviv u.a.
Sowie im White Room: Jacob Appelbaum & Ai Weiwei, Aram Bartholl, Tega Brain & Surya Mattu, James Bridle, Julian Oliver & Danja Vasiliev, Veridiana Zurita und Beiträge von Open Data City, Peng! Collective, Privacy International, Share Lab, Malte Spitz u.a.

Eine Ausstellung vom Haus der Kulturen der Welt in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Tactical Technology Collective, co-kuratiert von Stephanie Hankey, Marek Tuszynski und Anselm Franke.
Nervöse Systeme findet im Rahmen von 100 Jahre Gegenwart statt.

Ausstellung