Weiches Begräbnis

Fang Fang | Michael Kahn-Ackermann

Weiches Begräbnis, Photo: Silke Briel

Jury’s comment

Literature from Asia that doesn’t rush to conform to Western narrative patterns – that alone is reading bliss. The author wrote the much-discussed Wuhan Diary. Her novel Weiches Begräbnis (Soft Burial) was initially a great success in China and then suddenly fell out of favor. A woman has managed to suppress the trauma of Mao’s land reform until old age, when her upstart son, a successful manager, provides her with the comfort of her own home. Overwhelmed by the sudden luxury, she falls into a stupor. Now the novel’s characters go in search of clues to understand her breakdown. This is accompanied by the narrator in a long, quiet narrative flow – non-psychological realism, unassuming and insistent. What results is the epic of a little old woman, helplessly shaken to the core by world history; moving for readers far beyond China.

– Robin Detje, jury

Fang Fang, © Wu Baojian

Author: Fang Fang

Fang Fang writes novels, novellas, short stories and essays. In 2016 she published the novel 软埋 (Soft Burial), for which she was awarded the prestigious Lu Yao Prize, and which has since disappeared from the Chinese market. In 2020, 武汉日记 (Wuhan Diary) was published. She has lived in Wuhan since she was two years old.

Michael Kahn-Ackermann, © private

Translator: Michael Kahn-Ackermann

Michael Kahn-Ackermann studied sinology at the LMU Munich and in Beijing. In 1988 he was founding director of the Goethe-Institut Beijing. He translates from Chinese, most recently All Under Heaven by Zhao Tingyang and Fang Fang’s Wuhan Diary (2020). Kahn-Ackermann lives in Nanjing.

Weiches Begräbnis

Fang Fang | Michael Kahn-Ackermann

Video: BFF | best films forever, Musik aus „Radio Pristina EP“ von Wirefoxterrier

Weiches Begräbnis | Foto: Silke Briel

Weiches Begräbnis | Foto: Silke Briel

Jurykommentar

Literatur aus Asien, die sich nicht vorauseilend an westliche Erzählmuster anpasst – schon das ist ein Leseglück. Die Autorin hat das viel diskutierte Wuhan Diary verfasst. Ihr Roman Weiches Begräbnis war in China erst ein großer Erfolg und fiel dann plötzlich in Ungnade. Einer Frau ist es bis ins Alter gelungen, das Trauma von Maos Bodenreform zu verdrängen, bis ihr der neureiche Sohn, ein erfolgreicher Manager, den Komfort eines eigenen Hauses verschafft. Vom plötzlichen Luxus überfordert, fällt sie in einen Stupor. Nun begeben sich die Figuren des Romans auf Spurensuche, um ihren Zusammenbruch zu verstehen. Das wird von der Erzählerin in einem langen, ruhigen Erzählfluss begleitet – nicht-psychologischer Realismus, bescheiden und beharrlich. Was entsteht, ist das Epos einer kleinen, alten, von der Weltgeschichte hilflos durcheinandergerüttelten Frau, bewegend weit über China hinaus.

– Robin Detje, Jury

Fang Fang | © Wu Baojian

Fang Fang | © Wu Baojian

Autorin: Fang Fang

Fang Fang schreibt Romane, Novellen, Kurzgeschichten und Essays. 2016 veröffentlichte sie den Roman 软埋 (Weiches Begräbnis), für den sie mit dem renommierten Lu-Yao-Preis ausgezeichnet wurde, und der mittlerweile vom chinesischen Markt verschwunden ist. 2020 erschien 武汉日记 (Wuhan Diary. Tagebuch aus einer gesperrten Stadt). Seit ihrem zweiten Lebensjahr lebt sie in Wuhan.

Michael Kahn-Ackermann | © privat

Michael Kahn-Ackermann | © privat

Übersetzer: Michael Kahn-Ackermann

Michael Kahn-Ackermann studierte Sinologie an der LMU München und in Peking. 1988 war er Gründungsdirektor des Goethe-Instituts Peking. Er übersetzt aus dem Chinesischen, zuletzt Alles unter dem Himmel von Zhao Tingyang und Fang Fangs Wuhan Diary. Tagebuch aus einer gesperrten Stadt (2020). Kahn-Ackermann lebt in Nanjing.