Das Neue Alphabet


2019–2021

Filipa César, Textile/Text (research image for Das Neue Alphabet), 2018. Courtesy of the artist.

Filipa César, Textile/Text (research image for Das Neue Alphabet), 2018. Courtesy of the artist.

Court of Justice of the European Union, Interpretation booth during the “Open Day”, 05.05.2018 Luxemburg Luxemburg | © Giulia Bruno and Armin Linke, 2018

Court of Justice of the European Union, Interpretation booth during the “Open Day”, 05.05.2018 Luxemburg Luxemburg | © Giulia Bruno and Armin Linke, 2018

Karin Harrasser, montage based on Francisco de Goya’s “Vuelo de brujas” from 1798 for The New Alphabet, 2018 | © Courtesy of the artist

Karin Harrasser, montage based on Francisco de Goya’s “Vuelo de brujas” from 1798 for The New Alphabet, 2018 | © Courtesy of the artist

Is it possible to imagine an overabundance of multifarious fields of languages, knowledge production, and learning practices beyond one universal matrix? Can common reference points and collective action be enabled without monopolistic force? How can knowledge be both situated and globally relevant?

Alphabets are specific kinds of phonographic sign systems built on a finite number of discrete symbols. The letters of an alphabet can be combined, creating seemingly endless possibilities for semantic and operational codings. As a universalistic matrix, subsuming any linguistic expression into one abstract system, alphabets are also imperialist infrastructures. Are algorithms, the binary code, and the information stored in DNA the alphabets of today? And what potential ways are there for re-coding such textual infrastructures?

HKW’s new long-term project Das Neue Alphabet is intended both as a diagnosis and a provocation: vernacular, opaque, or marginalized ways of knowing are increasingly subsumed into abstract universalizing structures. What strategies of resistance against such processes of forced alphabetization exist or could be developed? And which role do artistic methods of appropriation and creolization play in this context?

The opening days of Das Neue Alphabet introduce artistic and scholarly navigations through knowledge and language systems permeated by expanding worlds and created in transcultural encounters between universal and vernacular languages. The New Alphabet School, a school for artistic, curatorial, and activist strategies, explores approaches to learning and un-learning in order to re-think the idea of criticism as a practice of shared responsibility and care. During the opening days, the School will be inaugurated with a unique (Un-)Learning Place, curated by Boris Buden and Olga von Schubert.

In practical explorations, the Educational Program will delineate positions and attitudes: hacking, queering, or mapping are just some of the techniques employed in the context of evolving literacies to engage "new experts" in the bold undertaking of re-reading and transforming the present.

With Asset Production, Kader Attia, Gigi Argyropoulou, Sandeep Bhagwati, Giulia Bruno, Boris Buden, Filipa César, Kate Crawford, Simon Denny, diffrakt – centre for theoretical periphery, Fehras Publishing Practices, Paul Feigelfeld, Karin Harrasser, Ranjit Hoskoté, Yuk Hui, Alexander Kluge, knowbotiq, Sybille Krämer, Britta Lange, Armin Linke, Tactical Technology Collective, Telekommunisten, Trevor Paglen, raumlabor berlin, Slavs&Tatars, Felix Stalder, Studio Nand, Hito Steyerl, Nicoline van Harskamp, and many others.

Curated by Bernd Scherer in collaboration with Olga von Schubert.

Das Neue Alphabet is supported by the Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media due to a ruling of the German Bundestag. The educational program will be developed in collaboration with the GfZK, Museum of Contemporary Art Leipzig.

Opening
Jan 10–13, 2019

Das Neue Alphabet


2019–2021

Filipa César, Textile/Text (research image for Das Neue Alphabet), 2018. Courtesy of the artist.

Filipa César, Textile/Text (research image for Das Neue Alphabet), 2018. Courtesy of the artist.

Gerichtshof der Europäischen Union, Dolmetscherkabine am „Tag der offenen Tür“ | © Giulia Bruno and Armin Linke, 2018

Gerichtshof der Europäischen Union, Dolmetscherkabine am „Tag der offenen Tür“ | © Giulia Bruno and Armin Linke, 2018

Karin Harrasser, Bildmontage auf der Grundlage von Francisco de Goyas „Vuelo de brujas“ von 1798 für Das Neue Alphabet, 2018 | © Courtesy of the artist

Karin Harrasser, Bildmontage auf der Grundlage von Francisco de Goyas „Vuelo de brujas“ von 1798 für Das Neue Alphabet, 2018 | © Courtesy of the artist

Ist eine Vielfalt von Sprachen, Schriften, Wissensproduktionen und Lernweisen jenseits der universellen Matrix eines einzigen Alphabets denkbar? Lassen sich gemeinsame Referenzpunkte finden und ist kollektives Handeln möglich, ohne alles auf einen Nenner zu bringen? Wie kann Wissen gleichzeitig ortsgebunden und global relevant sein?

Alphabete sind spezifische Formen phonografischer Zeichensysteme, die auf einer begrenzten Zahl klar unterscheidbarer Symbole basieren. Die Buchstaben eines Alphabets können kombiniert werden und bieten scheinbar unendliche Möglichkeiten semantischer und operationaler Kodierungen. Die Philosoph*innen der Aufklärung glaubten deshalb, dass nur die europäischen Alphabete für die Freiheit des Denkens geeignet wären. Als universalistische Matrix, die jegliche sprachliche Äußerung in ein abstraktes System fasst, stellt ein Alphabet aber nicht zuletzt auch eine imperialistische Infrastruktur dar. Sind Algorithmen, der Binärcode und die DNA die Alphabete von heute? Und welche Möglichkeiten wären denkbar, solche textlichen Infrastrukturen neu zu kodieren oder zu konterkarieren?

Der Titel des nächsten HKW-Langzeitprojekts, Das Neue Alphabet, versteht sich als Diagnose und Polemik zugleich: Lokale, undurchsichtige oder marginalisierte Wissensformen weichen mehr und mehr abstrakten universalisierenden Strukturen. Das Projekt macht es sich zur Aufgabe, Strategien des Widerstands gegen solche Prozesse forcierter Alphabetisierung zu identifizieren – oder sie zu entwickeln. Ein besonderer Schwerpunkt liegt dabei auf künstlerischen Methoden der Aneignung und Kreolisierung (und ihrer Bedeutung im Kontext der Alphabetisierung).

Zur Auftaktveranstaltung von Das Neue Alphabet navigieren Akademiker*innen und Künstler*innen durch die Wissens- und Sprachsysteme expandierender Welten, die von transkultureller Begegnung und der Spannung zwischen universalistischen Wissenssprachen und lokalen Gebrauchssprachen geprägt sind.

Die New Alphabet School – eine Schule künstlerischer, kuratorischer und aktivistischer Strategien – wird als von Boris Buden und Olga von Schubert kuratierter (Un-)Learning Place eröffnet, der Formen des (Ver)Lernens erforscht, um den Kritikbegriff als Praxis geteilter Verantwortung und Sorge neu zu denken.

In praktischen Erkundungen wird sich zudem das Programm der Kulturellen Bildung mit Möglichkeit von Positionierung, Haltung und Strategie beschäftigen: Hacking, queering oder mapping sind nur einige der Techniken, die sich im Kontext einer neuen Alphabetisierung anwenden lassen, um neue Expert*innen dafür zu begeistern, die Gegenwart neu zu lesen – und sie zu verändern.

Mit Asset Production, Kader Attia, Gigi Argyropoulou, Sandeep Bhagwati, Giulia Bruno, Boris Buden, Filipa César, Kate Crawford, Simon Denny, diffrakt – zentrum für theoretische peripherie, Fehras Publishing Practices, Paul Feigelfeld, Karin Harrasser, Ranjit Hoskoté, Yuk Hui, Alexander Kluge, knowbotiq, Sybille Krämer, Britta Lange, Armin Linke, Tactical Technology Collective, Telekommunisten, Trevor Paglen, raumlabor berlin, Slavs&Tatars, Felix Stalder, Studio Nand, Hito Steyerl, Nicoline van Harskamp und vielen anderen

Kuratiert von Bernd Scherer in Zusammenarbeit mit Olga von Schubert

Das Neue Alphabet wird gefördert von der Beauftragten der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien aufgrund eines Beschlusses des Deutschen Bundestages. Das Bildungsprogramm wird gemeinsam mit der Galerie für Zeitgenössische Kunst Leipzig (GfZK) entwickelt.

Eröffnung
10.–13.01.2019