A Slightly Curving Place


New date: Jul 23–Sep 20, 2020

Padmini Chettur, study for A Slightly Curving Place, 2020 | Image: Sara

Padmini Chettur, study for A Slightly Curving Place, 2020 | Image: Sara

Isipabbhar is a Prakrit phrase from Jain cosmology referring to a special place above the heavens shaped like a parasol. It is where the disembodied souls of the perfected ones go to live in eternal isolation. There, sealed off from the rest of the cosmos, they are unable to interact with other souls, unable to hear them or be heard.

In this exhibition, a slightly curving place is to be found not at the apex of the universe but under an ambisonic dome of speakers. Here, an audience of listeners might gather to sense a past they cannot hear. The sound that arrives is a record of sound as it was. Elsewhere, on projection screens, the body of a dancer rotates in one direction, as it makes an image of time that turns in another.

Centered around a multi-authored audio play, the exhibition responds to propositions opened up by Umashankar Manthravadi in his practice as a self-taught acoustic archaeologist. It brings together writers, choreographers, dancers, actors, composers, musicians, field recordists and sound designers who engage and transform not just each others’ work but also that of many others.

The ambisonic dome, which comprises 21 speakers and produces a three-dimensional sound field, has been provided by the Audio Communication Group, Technische Universität Berlin.

A volume accompanying the exhibition will be published by archive books in September 2020.

The exhibition is realized in collaboration with and with contributions by Umashankar Manthravadi, Mojisola Adebayo, Bani Abidi, Vinit Agarwal, Sukesh Arora, Anurima Banerjee, Moushumi Bhowmik, Arunima Chatterjee, Madhuri Chattopadyay, Padmini Chettur, Emese Csornai, Padma Damodaran, Jenifer Evans, Eunice Fong, Tyler Friedman, Janardan Ghosh, Brooke Holmes, Alexander Keefe, Sukanta Majumdar, Robert Millis, Farrah Mulla, Rita Panjatan, Ayaz Pasha, TJ Rehmi, RENU, Uzma Z. Rizvi, Sara, Yashas Shetty, The Travelling Archive, Maarten Visser and others.

More about the project

Curated by Nida Ghouse

Part of The New Alphabet

Exhibition, discourse program, publication

New date:
Jul 23–Sep 20, 2020

Opening hours:
Daily except Tue
2–8 pm

Exhibition hall 2, lobby

Free admission

The public discourse program will be developed as a digital format.

To ensure comfort and security of our visitors and employees, health and safety protocols have been established. This includes a reduced visitor capacity and a no-touch viewing experience. Please wear your own mouth and nose protection on site and maintain a minimum distance of 1.5 meters from others. We recommend to bring your own headphones.

Stay up-to-date on the HKW program with our weekly newsletter.
Register here

A Slightly Curving Place


Neuer Termin: 23.07.–20.09.2020

Padmini Chettur, Studie zu A Slightly Curving Place, 2020 | Bild: Sara

Padmini Chettur, Studie zu A Slightly Curving Place, 2020 | Bild: Sara

Der Ausdruck „Isipabbarabhumi“ aus dem Prakrit beschreibt in der Kosmologie des Jainismus einen besonderen Ort hoch über dem Himmel, der wie ein Sonnenschirm gebogen ist. Dort leben die körperlosen Seelen der Vollkommenen in ewiger Einsamkeit. Vom übrigen Kosmos getrennt, können sie keinen Kontakt zueinander aufnehmen, die anderen Seelen weder hören noch gehört werden.

In der Ausstellung entsteht ein bogenförmiger Ort nicht am Scheitelpunkt des Universums, sondern unter einer ambisonischen Klangkuppel. Hier kann sich ein Publikum versammeln, um einer Vergangenheit nachzuspüren, die heute nicht mehr hörbar ist. In einem anderen Raum rotiert ein tanzender Körper auf Projektionsleinwänden und malt ein Bild der Zeit, das in ein anderes übergeht.

Die Ausstellung antwortet auf experimentelle Ansätze des Klangarchäologen Umashankar Manthravadi. Ihr Zentrum bilden ein vielstimmiges, räumlich inszeniertes Hörstück und eine Videoinstallation, die Beiträge aus Literatur, Choreografie, Komposition, Tanz, Schauspiel, Musik, Fieldrecordings und Sounddesign zusammenbringen. Die Mitwirkenden greifen dabei nicht nur die Arbeit der anderen auf, sondern lassen weitere Anregungen einfließen und transformieren sie.

Die ambisonische Kuppel besteht aus 21 Lautsprechern und erzeugt ein dreidimensionales Klangfeld. Sie wird vom Fachbereich Audiokommunikation der Technischen Universität Berlin zur Verfügung gestellt.

Ein Begleitband zur Ausstellung erscheint im September 2020 bei archive books.

Die Ausstellung entsteht unter Mitwirkung von und in Zusammenarbeit mit
Umashankar Manthravadi, Bani Abidi, Mojisola Adebayo, Vinit Agarwal, Sukhesh Arora, Anurima Banerji, Lilia Di Bella, Moushumi Bhowmik, Arunima Chatterjee, Madhuri Chattopadyay, Padmini Chettur, Emese Csornai, Padma Damodaran, Hugo Esquinca, Jenifer Evans, Eunice Fong, Tyler Friedman, Janardan Ghosh, Brooke Holmes, Alexander Keefe, Sukanta Majumdar, Robert Millis, Farah Mulla, Rita Sonal Panjatan, Ayaz Pasha, TJ Rehmi, RENU, Uzma Z. Rizvi, Sara, Yashas Shetty, The Travelling Archive, Maarten Visser und anderen.

Mehr zum Projekt

Kuratiert von Nida Ghouse

Im Rahmen von Das Neue Alphabet

Ausstellung, digitales Diskursprogramm, Publikation

Neuer Termin:
23.07.–20.09.2020

Öffnungszeiten:
täglich außer Di
14–20h

Ausstellungshalle 2, Foyer

Hörstück auf Englisch
Videoinstallation ohne Sprache

Eintritt frei

Digitales Diskursprogramm:
Sa 05.09.
Fr 11.09.
Fr 18.09.

Umfassende Hygienevorkehrungen zum Schutz der Besucher*innen und Mitarbeiter*innen beinhalten eine begrenzte Besucher*innen-Kapazität und ein kontaktloses Ausstellungserlebnis. Bitte tragen Sie vor Ort einen eigenen Mund-Nasen-Schutz und halten Sie den Mindestabstand von 1,5 Metern zu anderen Besucher*innen ein. Wir empfehlen, eigene Kopfhörer mitzubringen. Mehr...

Nichts mehr verpassen! Mit dem wöchentlichen HKW-Newsletter sind Sie immer auf dem Laufenden.
Zur Anmeldung