The Whole Life: Archives and Reality


2019, May 19 — 25 | Dresden

AdA - Archiv der Avantgarden | © Staatliche Kunstsammlungen Dresden. Photo: David Pinzer

AdA - Archiv der Avantgarden | © Staatliche Kunstsammlungen Dresden. Photo: David Pinzer

The archive is omnipresent and always temporary. It reflects the realities of the past—while archived knowledge at the same time shapes the present. How do archives and their objects translate historical realities into contemporary narratives? What does this mean for the structure of archives, for their users, technologies, and forms of knowledge production? What can archives do for today’s societies?

In 2016 Egidio Marzona’s private collection was donated to the Staatliche Kunstsammlungen Dresden (SKD). This transformation of a private collection into a public archive, the Archiv der Avantgarden (AdA), is the starting point for The Whole Life: Archives and Reality. This moment of transition raises numerous new questions: What are the potentialities of such a process? What influence do archive practices and politics have on collections? What is the significance of the archive as a site for counter narratives and alternative knowledge production? How do historical ideologies forge the immaterial layer of the archive and how can current socio-political processes reflect on these past contexts? The Whole Life: Archives and Reality gathers objects, artists, researchers, and practitioners in the space of the Lipsiusbau to address these questions in week-long program of an archive viewing, public lectures, evening events and an international congress.

With works by Yane Calovski, Assaf Gruber, Gabi Ngcobo, Olaf Nicolai, Meg Stuart, Mathilde ter Heijne, Clarissa Thieme & Tanja Krone, Ala Younis

With contributions by Marion Ackermann, Ali Atef, Beatrice von Bismarck, Graciela Carnevale, Filipa César, Lynnée Denise, Ismael Dia, Assaf Gruber, Sarah E. James, Egidio Marzona, Doreen Mende, Gloria Meynen, Thokozani Mhlambi, Bonaventure S. B. Ndikung, Olaf Nicolai, Sneha Ragavan, Marcelo Rezende, Daniel Rosenberg, Tamer El Said, Bernd Scherer, Stefanie Schulte Strathaus, Nora Sternfeld, Ann Stoler, Sven Spieker, Ricardo Viviani, Marc Wagenbach and Vadim Zakharov

More about the project

Archive viewing, talks, congress, academy

May 19–25, 2019
Kunsthalle im Lipsiusbau, Staatliche Kunstsammlungen Dresden

Free admission

More about Lipsiusbau:
lipsiusbau.skd.museum

Das ganze Leben. Archive und Wirklichkeit


19. — 25.05.2019 | Dresden

AdA - Archiv der Avantgarden | © Staatliche Kunstsammlungen Dresden. Foto: David Pinzer

AdA - Archiv der Avantgarden | © Staatliche Kunstsammlungen Dresden. Foto: David Pinzer

Das Archiv ist allgegenwärtig und immer vorläufig. Hier spiegeln sich die Realitäten vergangener Zeiten – gleichzeitig prägt archiviertes Wissen die Gegenwart. Wie übersetzen Archive und ihre Objekte historische Wirklichkeiten in gegenwärtige Erzählungen? Was bedeutet dies für die Struktur von Archiven, für ihre Nutzer*innen, Technologien und Formen der Wissenserzeugung? Was können Archive für die heutige Gesellschaft leisten?

2016 ging die Privatsammlung von Egidio Marzona als Schenkung in den Besitz der Staatlichen Kunstsammlungen Dresden (SKD) über. Diese Transformation einer privaten Sammlung in ein öffentliches Archiv – das Archiv der Avantgarden (AdA) – ist der Ausgangspunkt für Das ganze Leben. Archive und Wirklichkeit. Der Moment des Übergangs wirft zahlreiche neue Fragen auf: Welche Möglichkeiten birgt ein solcher Prozess? Welchen Einfluss haben Archivpraktiken und -politiken auf Sammlungen? Welche Bedeutung hat das Archiv als Ort der Gegenerzählung und der alternativen Wissensproduktion? Wie formen historische Ideologien eine immaterielle Schicht des Archivs und wie reflektieren aktuelle gesellschaftspolitische Prozesse diese historischen Zusammenhänge? Das ganze Leben. Archive und Wirklichkeit versammelt Objekte, Künstler*innen, Forscher*innen und Praktiker*innen im Lipsiusbau in Dresden, um diese Fragen in einem einwöchigen Programm aus einer Archivsichtung, öffentlichen Vorträgen und Abendveranstaltungen sowie auf einem internationalen Kongress zu diskutieren.

Mit Arbeiten von Yane Calovski, Assaf Gruber, Gabi Ngcobo, Olaf Nicolai, Meg Stuart, Mathilde ter Heijne, Clarissa Thieme & Tanja Krone, Ala Younis

Mit Beiträgen von Marion Ackermann, Ali Atef, Beatrice von Bismarck, Graciela Carnevale, Filipa César, Lynnée Denise, Ismael Dia, Assaf Gruber, Sarah E. James, Egidio Marzona, Doreen Mende, Gloria Meynen, Thokozani Mhlambi, Bonaventure S. B. Ndikung, Olaf Nicolai, Sneha Ragavan, Marcelo Rezende, Daniel Rosenberg, Tamer El Said, Bernd Scherer, Stefanie Schulte Strathaus, Nora Sternfeld, Ann Stoler, Sven Spieker, Ricardo Viviani, Marc Wagenbach und Vadim Zakharov

Mehr zum Projekt

Archivsichtung, Vorträge, Kongress, Akademie

19.–25.05.2019
Kunsthalle im Lipsiusbau, Staatliche Kunstsammlungen Dresden

Eintritt frei

Mehr zum Programm:
lipsiusbau.skd.museum