CC: World


 

Rabih Mroué | Cheers to our Wishes (2020), film still

Rabih Mroué | Cheers to our Wishes (2020), film still

The year is 2020. COVID-19 is creating a planetary present – and, like a catalyst, reveals its inequalities all the more. From the microcosms of our everyday world to economies on the brink of collapse, the pandemic state of emergency makes the structures and forms of organization visible that underlie modern societies. For a moment, the fight against the spread counters the prevailing logic of capitalism. At the same time, the crisis becomes an unprecedented situation that only seems controllable with the means of the surveillance state. Social inequalities are worsening.

This is evident not only in the pandemic, but – particularly in the US – in the higher death rates of the disadvantaged sections of the population. The current spiral of violence there in the form of brutal police measures and state repression expresses the structural racism that still divides society – in spite of the laws passed and social movements for equality from the abolition of slavery to the Civil Rights movement up to Black Lives Matter.

The pandemic forces us to pause in opposition to the economization of all spheres of life. How are artists and people who think about alternative forms of thought and action experiencing this existential situation? What do they see in this state of standstill, of limbo? Videos, texts, audio clips and other formats open a window of reflection, clearing our view of the cracks in this planetary present and the misguided logics of the past, but also of possible futures.

With contributions by Mohammad Al Attar, Fatima Al Qadiri, Sinan Antoon, Ruha Benjamin, Black Brown Berlin, Imani Jacqueline Brown, Maria Chehonadskih, Teju Cole, Alice Creischer, Nadah El Shazly, Hu Fang, David Goldberg, Stacy Hardy, Kiluanji Kia Henda, James T. Hong, Tom McCarthy, Rabih Mroué, Neo Muyanga, The Otolith Group, Peggy Piesche, Kaushik Sunder Rajan, Claudia Rankine, Raqs Media Collective, Ava Rocha, Andrés Saenz De Sicilia, Andreas Siekmann, Himali Singh Soin, Nikiwe Solomon, Hito Steyerl, Meg Stuart, Jenna Sutela

Curatorial team: Bernd Scherer (Director), Philipp Albers, Detlef Diederichsen, Alexandra Engel, Anselm Franke, Niklas Hoffmann-Walbeck, Karen Khurana, Katrin Klingan, Laura Mattes, Daniel Neugebauer, Jan Trautmann, Sabine Willig, Mathias Zeiske

Part of The New Alphabet

Series of digital letters in video, text and audio formats

Stay up-to-date on the HKW program with our weekly newsletter.
Register here



“The convergence of police violence and corona”

Ruha Benjamin (Princeton University) and David Theo Goldberg (University of California, Irvine) on manifestations of racism in times of the pandemic: This clip is an excerpt of a longer conversation to be published in August within the online series CC: World. This edition of CC: World will comprise various voices that address aspects of systemic and institutional racisms in the US and beyond. Contributions by Claudia Rankine, Black Brown Berlin, Imani Jacqueline Brown, Peggy Piesche and more

CC: World


 

Rabih Mroué | Cheers to our Wishes (2020), Filmstill

Rabih Mroué | Cheers to our Wishes (2020), Filmstill

Es ist das Jahr 2020. Sars-CoV-2 erzeugt eine planetarische Gegenwart – und lässt wie ein Katalysator deren Ungleichheiten umso stärker hervortreten. Von den Mikrokosmen der Alltagswelt bis zu Volkswirtschaften am Rand des Kollapses: Im Ausnahmezustand der Pandemie werden die Strukturen und Organisationsformen sichtbar, die den modernen Gesellschaften zugrunde liegen. Der Kampf gegen die Ausbreitung stellt sich für einen Moment gegen die vorherrschende Logik des Kapitalismus. Zugleich wird die Krise zur Ausnahmesituation, die scheinbar nur noch mit den Mitteln des Überwachungsstaates zu kontrollieren ist. Soziale Ungleichheiten verschärfen sich.

Dies zeigt sich in der Pandemie nicht nur, aber insbesondere auch in den USA in höheren Sterberaten der benachteiligten Teile der Bevölkerung. Die aktuelle Spirale der Gewalt dort in Form von brutalen Polizeimaßnahmen und staatlicher Repression ist Ausdruck des strukturellen Rassismus, der immer noch die Gesellschaft spaltet – trotz aller rechtlichen Maßnahmen und gesellschaftlichen Bewegungen für Gleichheit, von der Abschaffung der Sklaverei über die Bürgerrechtsbewegung bis zu Black Lives Matter.

Die Pandemie zwingt zum Innehalten entgegen der Ökonomisierung aller Lebensbereiche. Wie erleben Künstler*innen und Menschen, die über alternative Denk-und Handlungsformen nachdenken, diese existentielle Situation? Was sehen sie in diesem Zustand des Stillstands, der Schwebe? Videos, Texte, Audiobeiträge und andere Formate öffnen ein Fenster der Reflexion: Der Blick wird frei auf die Risse der planetarischen Gegenwart ebenso wie die fehlgeleiteten Logiken der Vergangenheit – zugleich aber auch auf mögliche Zukünfte.

Mit Beiträgen von Mohammad Al Attar, Fatima Al Qadiri, Sinan Antoon, Ruha Benjamin, Black Brown Berlin, Imani Jacqueline Brown, Maria Chehonadskih, Teju Cole, Alice Creischer, Nadah El Shazly, Hu Fang, David Goldberg, Stacy Hardy, Kiluanji Kia Henda, James T. Hong, Tom McCarthy, Rabih Mroué, Neo Muyanga, The Otolith Group, Peggy Piesche, Kaushik Sunder Rajan, Claudia Rankine, Raqs Media Collective, Ava Rocha, Andrés Saenz De Sicilia, Andreas Siekmann, Himali Singh Soin, Nikiwe Solomon, Hito Steyerl, Meg Stuart, Jenna Sutela

Kuratorisches Team: Bernd Scherer (Intendant), Philipp Albers, Detlef Diederichsen, Alexandra Engel, Anselm Franke, Niklas Hoffmann-Walbeck, Karen Khurana, Katrin Klingan, Laura Mattes, Daniel Neugebauer, Jan Trautmann, Sabine Willig, Mathias Zeiske

Im Rahmen von Das Neue Alphabet

Serie digitaler Briefe im Video-, Text- und Audio-Format

Nichts mehr verpassen! Mit dem wöchentlichen HKW-Newsletter sind Sie immer auf dem Laufenden.
Zur Anmeldung



„Die Kombination von Polizeigewalt und Corona“

Ruha Benjamin (Princeton University) und David Theo Goldberg (University of California, Irvine) diskutieren Formen des Rassismus in Zeiten der Pandemie. Dieses Video ist ein Ausschnitt aus einem längeren Gespräch, das im August als Teil der digitalen Serie CC: World erscheint. Diese Ausgabe von CC: World besteht aus vielen Stimmen, die Aspekte des systemischen und institutionellen Rassismus in den USA und darüber hinaus in den Blick nehmen. Mit Beiträgen von Claudia Rankine, Black Brown Berlin, Imani Jacqueline Brown, Peggy Piesche u. a.