Nach der Sonne

Jonas Eika | Ursel Allenstein

Video: BFF | best films forever, Music from “Radio Pristina EP” by Wirefoxterrier

Nach der Sonne | Photo: Silke Briel

Nach der Sonne | Photo: Silke Briel

Jury’s comment

It’s an astonishing book, harsh to the point of cruelty, a kind of Danish Kleist of the globalized present. The world is blurred, the fantastic is often almost indistinguishable from a painfully accurate retelling of reality. Jonas Eika’s short stories are about the haves and the have-nots, about capitalism and love, money, sex and, sometimes, loyalty. Queer boys who, while making tender love in the sea, mutate into prawns after cleaning the beach and serving as escorts for women tourists. Dazzling and cool, sensual and agitating: a book about boundaries and resistance and the power of the imagination to break open spaces of freedom.

– Elisabeth Ruge, jury

Jonas Eika | © Aphinya Jatuparisakul

Jonas Eika | © Aphinya Jatuparisakul

Author: Jonas Eika

Jonas Eika graduated from the Danish Academy for Creative Writing (Forfatterskolen) in 2015. In October 2019 he was awarded the renowned Nordic Council Literature Prize for his book of short stories Efter solen (After the Sun).

Ursel Alleinstein | © Sabrina Adeline Nagel

Ursel Alleinstein | © Sabrina Adeline Nagel

Translator: Ursel Allenstein

Ursel Allenstein studied Scandinavian, German and English language and literature in Frankfurt and Copenhagen. She is a translator from Swedish and Danish. She has received numerous awards for her translations, including the Jane Scatcherd Prize from the Ledig Rowohlt Foundation and the Nordic Council Literature Prize and most recently the 2020 Hamburg Literature Prize.

Nach der Sonne

Jonas Eika | Ursel Allenstein

Video: BFF | best films forever, Musik aus „Radio Pristina EP“ von Wirefoxterrier

Nach der Sonne | Foto: Silke Briel

Nach der Sonne | Foto: Silke Briel

Jurykommentar

Ein erstaunliches Buch, hart bis zur Grausamkeit, eine Art dänischer Kleist der globalisierten Gegenwart. Die Welt verschwimmt, Fantastisches ist von einer schmerzhaft genau erzählten Wirklichkeit oft kaum zu unterscheiden. Jonas Eikas Storys handeln von Habenichtsen und Begüterten, von Kapitalismus und Liebe, Geld, Sex und, manchmal, Treue. Queere Jungs, die sich beim zärtlichen Liebesakt im Meer Garnelen anverwandeln, nachdem sie zuvor den Beach gesäubert und Touristinnen als Kavalier gedient haben. Schillernd und kühl, sinnlich und agitierend: ein Buch über Grenzen und Widerstand und die Freiräume aufsprengende Kraft der Fantasie.

– Elisabeth Ruge, Jury

Jonas Eika | © Aphinya Jatuparisakul

Jonas Eika | © Aphinya Jatuparisakul

Autor: Jonas Eika

Jonas Eika machte 2015 seinen Abschluss an der Dänischen Akademie für Kreatives Schreiben (Forfatterskolen). Im Oktober 2019 erhielt er für seinen Erzählungsband Efter solen (Nach der Sonne) den renommierten Literaturpreis des Nordischen Rates.

Ursel Alleinstein | © Sabrina Adeline Nagel

Ursel Alleinstein | © Sabrina Adeline Nagel

Übersetzerin: Ursel Allenstein

Ursel Allenstein studierte Skandinavistik, Germanistik und Anglistik in Frankfurt und Kopenhagen. Sie ist Übersetzerin aus dem Schwedischen und Dänischen. Für ihre Übersetzungen wurde sie vielfach ausgezeichnet, u. a. mit dem Jane-Scatcherd-Preis der Ledig-Rowohlt-Stiftung und mit dem Nordic Council Literaturpreis sowie zuletzt mit dem Hamburger Literaturpreis 2020.