2018, Thu, May 24

Rosi Braidotti, Philippe Descola & Anne Peters – ANIMAL

Pierre Huyghe | Untitled (Human Mask), 2014, Film, color, sound, 19 minutes | Courtesy the artist; Marian Goodman Gallery, New York; Hauser & Wirth, London; Esther Schipper, Berlin; and Anna Lena Films, Paris. © Pierre Huyghe; VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2018

Pierre Huyghe | Untitled (Human Mask), 2014, Film, color, sound, 19 minutes | Courtesy the artist; Marian Goodman Gallery, New York; Hauser & Wirth, London; Esther Schipper, Berlin; and Anna Lena Films, Paris. © Pierre Huyghe; VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2018

The necessity to draw distinctions is one of the core principles of modernity: The separation of subject and object, of culture and nature, marks the exceptional position of human beings. Rosi Braidotti, Philippe Descola and Anne Peters examine how this state of modernity is shifting today.

Conventional practices of demarcation and power distribution have begun to dissolve. The human race no longer appears as the sole creator and inventor of itself and the world. We are no longer considered an exception in nature, cultural beings as opposed to a natural world of things. Instead, other agents appear on the scene. The Dictionary of Now questions the self-perception of humans and attempts to reframe the concept of the animal. The philosopher Rosi Braidotti speaks about the necessity of a new grammar to counter the hierarchical orders of exploitation and dominance. The anthropologist Philippe Descola advocates that we move away from an abstract concept of animals and, given our manifold relationships with non-human animals, grapple with a new self-understanding of humankind. The legal scholar Anne Peters asks what rights animals possess and where they are being represented at the global level.

So 27.5. Verkehrsbehinderungen rund um das HKW mehr

Do, 24. Mai 2018

Rosi Braidotti, Philippe Descola & Anne Peters – TIER

Pierre Huyghe | Untitled (Human Mask), 2014, Film, Farbe, Sound, 19 Minuten | Courtesy the artist; Marian Goodman Gallery, New York; Hauser & Wirth, London; Esther Schipper, Berlin; und Anna Lena Films, Paris. © Pierre Huyghe; VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2018

Pierre Huyghe | Untitled (Human Mask), 2014, Film, Farbe, Sound, 19 Minuten | Courtesy the artist; Marian Goodman Gallery, New York; Hauser & Wirth, London; Esther Schipper, Berlin; und Anna Lena Films, Paris. © Pierre Huyghe; VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2018

Unterscheidbarkeit ist in der Moderne ein zentrales Kriterium: Mit der Trennung von Subjekt und Objekt, Kultur und Natur wird die Ausnahmestellung des Menschen markiert. Rosi Braidotti, Philippe Descola und Anne Peters untersuchen, wie diese Verfasstheit der Moderne heute in Bewegung gerät.

Gängige Praktiken von Grenzziehung und Machtverteilung haben begonnen, sich aufzulösen: Der Mensch erscheint nicht mehr als einziger Schöpfer und Erfinder seiner selbst und der Welt. Er gilt auch nicht länger als eine Ausnahme der Natur, als Kulturwesen gegenüber einer natürlichen Dingwelt. Stattdessen treten weitere Akteur*innen auf den Plan. Das Wörterbuch der Gegenwart stellt das Selbstverständnis des Menschen in Frage und nimmt eine Neubestimmung des Tierbegriffs vor: Die Philosophin Rosi Braidotti spricht über die Notwendigkeit einer neuen Grammatik, die hierarchischen Ordnungen von Ausbeutung und Dominanz entgegenwirkt. Der Anthropologe Philippe Descola argumentiert dafür, von einem abstrakten Tier-Konzept abzurücken und sich in Anbetracht der vielfältigen Beziehungen zu nicht-menschlichen Tieren mit einem neuen menschlichen Selbstverständnis auseinanderzusetzen. Die Rechtswissenschaftlerin Anne Peters fragt, welche Rechte Tiere haben und wo diese auf globaler Ebene vertreten werden.