2021, Wed, Sep 01

#Transmitting

With Mahmoud Al-Shaer (28 magazine), Munir Fasheh, Meena Kandasamy, Adania Shibli and others

The past fourteen years of siege imposed on Gaza have not prevented attempts to overcome the effects of isolation and confinement from springing up in hidden cracks and crevices. Among these is 28 magazine, founded in 2013 by a group of young writers, its name taking inspiration from the number of letters in the Arabic alphabet. It responded to a need felt by many artists, writers and others for spaces for their literary and creative practice, which seek new language and new terms that aim to create renewed tools of resistance and modes of engagement with reality. Language, the Arabic alphabet and its twenty-eight letters – and their ability to move freely – have enabled many artists and writers to imaginatively transcend the enclosure and create connections, if only linguistically, with the wider Arabic speaking regions and the rest of the world.

In its endeavor to find a new language and terminology, to create spaces for contemplation and co-operation, and to transcend the constraints imposed on Gaza, 28 magazine has made extensive use of the internet. Digital spaces have become a refuge where especially young people can freely represent themselves and connect with others outside Gaza.

In this edition of the New Alphabet School, 28 magazine will attempt not only to think and discuss through transmitting, but to create spaces to find and consider new languages, new terms and new tools to confront the challenges of reality. The participants will examine practices of literature, art, resistance and freedom that arise out of and draw upon autonomous and collective experience by creating relationships between the past, the present and visions of the future, and between the near and far in Palestine and beyond. They are invited to take part in a semi-utopian endeavor of finding inspiration in the confrontation with the crises of reality and to uncover new realms of interaction, engagement, attention and interest.

Curated by Mahmoud Al-Shaer (28 magazine) in conversation with Ibrahim Hannoon and in cooperation with Adania Shibli

Day 1 | Day 2 | Day 3 | Day 4

Wednesday, September 1

6.30 pm CEST (Berlin) / 7.30 pm EEST (Rafah)
HKW
Introduction
By Olga Schubert and Adania Shibli

6.45 pm CEST (Berlin) / 7.45 pm EEST (Rafah)
HKW
“Mujaawarah/Neighboring”, “Tahaaduth/Conversing” and “Turba/Soil” as Vision for Living and Learning
Lecture by Munir Fasheh

Learning that had no connection to formal education or academia was the most interesting part of his life, says learning theorist Munir Fasheh. As a result of the 1967 war in Palestine, the lecturer for mathematics and physics started moving away from university teaching and went along the path of learning in harmony with what characterized Arab civilization most: wisdom that stemmed from interaction among various cultures. This wisdom is not transmitted as a body of knowledge but emerges in the social interaction between learners. On a daily basis, Munir Fasheh reflected on what he had done and gone through the day before and made sense out of it. This, for Fasheh, is the meaning of learning which is generally suppressed in academic institutions. Vision, rather than goals and strategies, have been the central guide for him. Words, both as viruses and as healers, formed a main theme in his vision: a vision that he summarizes in a new trinity. In his lecture, Fasheh will present this concept and the three interconnected components: “mujaawarah” (Arabic for the state or act of being a neighbor) as the organic social unit in building community; “wellness” as the governing value not to be violated in action; and “nurturing soils” as the essence of life.

7.15 pm CEST (Berlin) / 8.15 pm EEST (Rafah)
HKW
Palestine on My Mind: “Thaaimann/Motherland”, “Thaaimozhi/Mother-Tongue” and “Thanmaanam/Self-Respect”
Lecture by Meena Kandasamy

It would appear that there are not many reasons for Tamils in India to think about Palestine. But perhaps the 1980s struggle for a separate homeland of Tamil Eelam in Sri Lanka brought to fore the inspirational example of the Palestinian struggle. In her lecture, Meena Kandasamy will explore how many Tamils hark back to exploited, colonized, oppressed places in the world whenever they face oppression. Kandasamy’s thesis is, that what happened to Palestine is what will happen to Tamils in India. She does not see it as a warning alone, but also as the seed for the necessity of struggle and in that sense, an unspoken solidarity.
In her lecture, the activist, poet, novelist and translator will talk about some of the pressing issues that India, and especially the state of Tamil Nadu, faces today under a nationalist, Hindu majoritarian rightwing government. She will look at parallels between the situation of Tamils in India and Palestinians when it comes to language, injustice in the allocation of jobs and land, the struggle against stealth settler colonialism and resistance. What does happen when we think of Palestine?

7.45 pm CEST (Berlin) / 8.45 pm EEST (Rafah)
28 magazine gallery (Rafah)
Lectures, presentations and music
By Rana Al-Batrawi, Mahmoud Al-Shaer, Maree Bashir, Majdal Nateel, Shareef Sarhan, Muhammad Zohud and others

8.45 pm CEST (Berlin) / 9.45 pm EEST (Rafah)
HKW & 28 magazine gallery (Rafah)
Discussion
With Mahmoud Al-Shaer, Maree Bashir, Munir Fasheh, Meena Kandasamy, Adania Shibli and others

Day 1 | Day 2 | Day 3 | Day 4

Recording of the live stream in Arabic

Mi., 01. September 2021

#Transmitting

Mit Mahmoud Al-Shaer (28 magazine), Munir Fasheh, Meena Kandasamy, Adania Shibli u. a.

Die vergangenen vierzehn Jahre Blockade im Gazastreifen haben nicht verhindert, dass in den verstecktesten Ecken und Nischen versucht wurde, die Auswirkungen der Isolation und der Einengung zu überwinden. Eine dieser Bestrebungen ist das 2013 von einer Gruppe junger Autor*innen gegründete 28 magazine, dessen Name von der Anzahl der Buchstaben des arabischen Alphabets inspiriert ist. Es entstand aus dem Bedürfnis vieler Künstler*innen, Autor*innen und anderer Menschen nach Räumen für ihre literarische und kreative Praxis, die eine neue Sprache und neue Begriffe sucht, Formen des Widerstands schafft und sich mit der Realität auseinandersetzt. Sprache, das arabische Alphabet und seine achtundzwanzig Buchstaben – und ihre Bewegungsfreiheit – haben schon viele Künstler*innen und Autor*innen dazu befähigt, kraft der Imagination Grenzen zu überwinden und, zumindest sprachlich, Verbindungen zu anderen arabischsprachigen Regionen und dem Rest der Welt herzustellen.

Auf der Suche nach neuen Sprachen und Terminologien, nach kontemplativen und kooperativen Räumen sowie Überwindung der in Gaza herrschenden Einschränkungen nutzt das 28 magazine extensiv das Internet. Gerade für junge Menschen wurde der digitale Raum ein Zufluchtsort, um sich frei auszudrücken und mit anderen außerhalb Gazas in Kontakt zu treten.

Mit dieser Ausgabe der New Alphabet School strebt das 28 magazine an, „transmitting“ nicht nur als Form der Übertragung zu denken und diskutieren, sondern auch, um Räume zu entwickeln, die Platz schaffen für neue Sprachen, Begriffe und Werkzeuge, die den Herausforderungen der Realität begegnen.
Auseinandersetzen werden sich die Teilnehmenden mit literarischen, künstlerischen, widerständigen und Freiheits-Praxen, die aus autonomen und kollektiven Erfahrungen entstehen und auf diese bauen, indem sie Vergangenes mit Zukunftsvisionen und Nähe mit Distanz verknüpfen – sowohl in Palästina als auch darüber hinaus. Sie sind zum Mitwirken an einem semi-utopischen Versuch eingeladen, um Inspiration in der Konfrontation mit der Krise der Realität zu finden und dabei neue Interaktionswelten und Engagements, Aufmerksamkeitsformen und Interessen freizulegen.

Kuratiert von Mahmoud Al-Shaer (28 magazine) im Gespräch mit Ibrahim Hannoon und in Zusammenarbeit mit Adania Shibli

Tag 1 | Tag 2 | Tag 3 | Tag 4

Mittwoch, 01.09.

18.30h MESZ (Berlin) / 19.30h OESZ (Rafah)
HKW
Einführung
Von Olga Schubert und Adania Shibli

18.45h MESZ (Berlin) / 19.45h OESZ (Rafah)
HKW
„Mujaawarah/Nachbarschaft“, „Tahaaduth/Konversation“ und „Turba/Erde“, Visionen für Leben und Lernen
Vortrag von Munir Fasheh

Zu den interessantesten Dingen seines Lebens gehören für den Lerntheoretiker Munir Fasheh Arten und Weisen des Lernens, die er unabhängig von der akademischen Welt kennenlernte. Der Mathematik- und Physikdozent wandte sich im Zuge des Krieges von 1967 in Palästina von der universitären Lehre ab. Damals begann er sich für Lernformen zu interessieren, die damit im Einklang stehen, was die arabische Zivilisation womöglich am besten beschreibt: ein Wissen, das sich durch den Austausch verschiedener Kulturen herausbildet. Dieses Wissen überträgt sich nicht in gesammelter Form, sondern entsteht durch soziale Interaktion der Lernenden. Munir Fasheh reflektierte täglich, was er am Vortag gemacht hatte und überlegte, wie seine Erlebnisse Sinn ergeben könnten. Das ist für Fasheh die Grundbedeutung des Lernens, die aber von akademischen Institutionen unterdrückt wird. Zu seiner zentralen Richtschnur wurde die Vision, nicht das Ziel oder die Strategie. Dabei stellen Wörter, in ihrer viralen sowie heilenden Funktion, die Hauptelemente seiner Vision dar – die er in Form einer neuen Dreiheit erklärt. In seinem Vortrag spricht Fasheh über sein Konzept und dessen drei zusammenhängende Komponenten: „Mujaawarah“ (Arabisch für Nachbarschaft als Handlung und Zustand) als ein sozial gewachsenes Element, das für das Entstehen einer Gemeinschaft wesentlich ist, „Wohlbefinden“ als Leitwert, der durch das Handeln nicht verletzt werden darf sowie „die Pflege der Erde“ als Essenz des Lebens.

19.15h MESZ (Berlin) / 20.15h OESZ (Rafah)
HKW
An Palästina denken: „Thaaimann/Mutterland“, „Thaaimozhi/Muttersprache“ und „Thanmaanam/Self-Respect“
Vortrag von Meena Kandasamy

Auf den ersten Blick scheint es für Tamil*innen in Indien nicht viele Gründe zu geben, an Palästina zu denken. Aber vielleicht ist mit dem Aufbegehren um das eigenständige Tamil Eelam in den 1980er Jahren in Sri Lanka der palästinensische Kampf zu einem inspirierenden Beispiel geworden. Meena Kandasamy geht in ihrem Vortrag davon aus, dass sich viele Tamil*innen auf andere Orte der Ausbeutung und Kolonisierung zurückbeziehen, wenn sie Unterdrückung ausgesetzt sind. Kandasamys These zufolge könnte den Tamil*innen das gleiche Schicksal wie den Palästinenser*innen drohen. Sie sieht das nicht nur als Warnung, sondern auch als einen Keim für die Notwendigkeit des Kampfes und in diesem Sinn als eine stille Form der Solidarität.
In ihrem Vortrag beleuchtet die Aktivistin, Dichterin, Schriftstellerin und Übersetzerin einige der drängendsten Themen, die Indien und vor allem den Bundesstaat Tamil Nadu unter einer vorwiegend hinduistischen, rechtsnationalen Regierung betreffen. Dabei nimmt sie Parallelen zwischen der Situation von Tamil*innen in Indien und der Palästinenser*innen in den Blick: von der Sprache über die ungerechte Verteilung von Arbeitsplätzen und Land bis zum Kampf gegen versteckten Siedlerkolonialismus und Widerstand. Wie von Indien aus an Palästina denken?

19.45h MESZ (Berlin) / 20.45h OESZ (Rafah)
28 magazine gallery (Rafah)
Vorträge, Präsentationen und musikalische Beiträge
Von Rana Al-Batrawi, Mahmoud Al-Shaer, Maree Bashir, Majdal Nateel, Shareef Sarhan, Muhammad Zohud u. a.

20.45h MESZ (Berlin) / 21.45h OESZ (Rafah)
HKW & 28 magazine gallery (Rafah)
Diskussion
Mit Mahmoud Al-Shaer, Maree Bashir, Munir Fasheh, Meena Kandasamy, Adania Shibli u. a.

Tag 1 | Tag 2 | Tag 3 | Tag 4

Mitschnitt des Livestreams auf Arabisch