Worldtronics 2010

Electronica Surprise
2010, Dec 01, Wed — 2010, Dec 04, Sat

Worldtronics has always seen itself as a festival that explores all aspects of Electronica. Its goal is to surprise you, not confirm your expectations, which is why it showcases activities in less known, but all the more active music scenes from around the world: developments in places that don’t immediately come to mind when talking about electronic music, yet guarantee interesting stylistic innovations and trends, such as last year when the Bosphorus scene took part in the Kreuztanbul-Festival. And Worldtronics discovers new and innovative works that break the boundaries of genre, like the multi-media event by the Lappetites in 2009.

The program for 2010 is still too far away to give details about coming events, but this much can be said about a festival featuring the very latest developments: International Electro-Festivals will be invited to showcase their music scenes at the Haus der Kulturen der Welt.

In addition to live acts, each issue of Worldtronics provides a platform for labels, record stores, clubs, professional journals, software and hardware producers to present their music and more, for more information click on: Electronic Trade Fair. In 2009, the trade fare was as popular as the hands-on workshops, mixing and remixing demonstrations. Aside from the concerts, the meeting place will be an exciting highlight of the festival this year too.

Worldtronics 2010

Electronica Surprise
Mi, 01. Dezember 2010 — Sa, 04. Dezember 2010

Worldtronics hat sich immer als Festival verstanden, das alle Dimensionen der Electronica thematisiert. Es will überraschen, nicht Erwartungen bestätigen. Deshalb werden die Aktivitäten in weniger bekannten, aber umso agileren Szenen vorgestellt: Entwicklungen in Gegenden, die einem nicht sofort einfallen, wenn von elektronischer Musik die Rede ist, die aber dafür umso interessantere Stil-Begegnungen garantieren. Musikalische Wechselwirkungen werden nachverfolgt – wie im letzten Jahr die Rückkoppelungen mit der Szene am Bosporus in Kooperation mit dem Kreuztanbul-Festival. Und den Entdeckungen und Innovationen jenseits der üblichen Genre-Kategorisierungen spürt Worldtronics ebenso nach, wie 2009 mit dem Multi-Media-Event der Lappetites.

Der Vorlauf bis Anfang Dezember ist zu lang für ein Festival für aktuelle Entwicklungen, als dass Details der Programmplanung festliegen können, aber soviel sei verraten: Internationale Elektro-Festivals werden eingeladen, im Haus der Kulturen der Welt ihre jeweilige Heimatszene zu präsentieren.

Neben Live-Konzerten bietet jede Ausgabe von Worldtronics eine Plattform zur Präsentation von Labels, Plattenshops, Clubs, Fachblättern, Soft- und Hardware-Produzenten unter dem Titel „Elektronik-Fachmarkt“. Der Fachmarkt war 2009 ebenso gut angenommen wie die praxisorientierten Workshops, Mixing- und Remixing-Demonstrationen. Dieser Treffpunkt ist auch in diesem Jahr ein wichtiges Element neben den Konzerten.