Biographies of the participating artists

Astronauta Pinguim | © Ramiro Pissetti

Astronauta Pinguim | © Ramiro Pissetti

Fabrício Carvalho had to travel the furthest to get to Lifelines. After working in various bands in his southern Brazilian hometown of Porto Alegre, in 2000 he began experimenting under the name of Astronauta Pinguim with an equipment pool of historic synthesizers. The pulsating West German machine music of the 1970s is unmistakably his guiding light. His latest album is even called “Zeitgeist/Propaganda.” He recorded the 7 inch vinyl “Automatic/Here She Comes, There She Goes” with the Silver Apples singer Simeon Coxe III. At the same time, Astronauta Pinguim is a researcher in the field of early Electronica: he presents his findings and interviews in a blog and the weekly Oscillations Radio Show broadcast in Brazil and Portugal.

Carolin Brandl | © Tobias Bartl

Carolin Brandl | © Tobias Bartl

Carolin Brandl, originally from the field of dance, now works in film. Her works, associated with the documentary genre, are also shown in an art context. For her film and artistic work Brandl received an annual art award endowed by the German stock exchange. Alongside her projects as film director, she has worked on a regular basis on artistic collaborations with choreographers and (electronic) musicians for several years. “Unfinished Portrait of Roedelius Today” is her third joint project with Hanno Leichtmann. At HKW Carolin Brandl is showing a conceptual video in which she, like Leichtmann, uses loops and refers to Roedelius’s song titles. The film work oscillates between text and image, producing ever-new references to Leichtmann’s sound installation and the work of Roedelius.

Caramusa | © Pascal Dolemiuex

Caramusa | © Pascal Dolemiuex

To preserve traditional Corsican music from oblivion, in 1984 the brothers Jean-Jacques and Christian Andreani founded the research organization E Cetera and the ensemble Caramusa. The Andreanis traveled the island, learned the traditional melodies and how to play the traditional instruments. The band’s name refers to one of them: the Corsican bagpipes. In addition, they use pipes and flutes (pirula or pifana), percussion, mouth harp, the urganettu, a polyphonic accordion, and the cetera, a 16-stringed zither. Along with voices they produce a rough, polyphonic sound, which Caramusa have played at numerous festivals and released on four CDs.

Chor der Kulturen der Welt

Chor der Kulturen der Welt

Founded in 2007, the Chor der Kulturen der Welt is a polyphonic multipurpose tool whose members interpret pop songs, traditional and contemporary compositions on either side of the tempered tone system under the direction of Barbara Morgenstern and Phillipp Neumann. In 2007, they performed with Harmonia at their legendary Reunion at HKW. For Lifelines, they are rehearsing to premier a cantata composed by Hans-Joachim Roedelius’ ancestor Johann Christoph.

Christopher Chaplin | © C. Chaplin

Christopher Chaplin | © C. Chaplin

Among his most unlikely and yet typical collaborations is Hans-Joachim Roedelius’s encounter with Charlie Chaplin’s youngest son Christopher Chaplin. After initially following in his famous father’s footsteps in the acting profession, for several years Chaplin has also worked as a pianist and composer. Fabrique Records issued “Seven Echoes” in 2010, an electro-acoustic collaboration with the Viennese sound artist Thomas Pötz aka Kava. Then in Vienna, Roedelius and Chaplin came together for the first time at a concert at Gugging psychiatric clinic. This was followed by Chaplin’s remix of Roedelius’ contribution to the BBC series Late Night Junction, joint appearances and the album “King of Hearts.”

Lloyd Cole | © Kim Frank

Lloyd Cole | © Kim Frank

Singer-songwriter Lloyd Cole began his career as the front man of the Commotions, a band navigating between blue-eyed soul, folk and pop that had a short but stormy career. Cole then worked solo and with the even more short-lived U.S. band The Negatives until the Hamburg label Tapete Records honored him with an extensive retrospective. In 2001, Cole trod electronic pathways with his album “Plastic Wood,” from which Roedelius created spontaneous and unsolicited remixes. The two continued their collaboration on the 2013 album “Selected Studies Vol. 1” on the Bureau B label. As the numbering suggests, their alliance is far from over and will be tested live at HKW.

Brian Eno | © Mary Evers

Brian Eno | © Mary Evers

The name Brian Eno stands like no other for the development and definition of what is known as “Ambient:” liquefied sounds following in the footsteps of Erik Satie, which replace the soothing background noise of nature in the technologized noosphere. The former Roxy Music keyboardist has long left his mark going beyond the borders of music into popular culture, establishing both gender- and pitch-bending in pop music and exploring new territories in many interdisciplinary fields like Zen Buddhism, music theory, audiovisual art and software development. His visits to Moebius & Roedelius in Weserbergland are now considered a formative station on his winding pathway.

E S B | © Yann Dupuis

E S B | © Yann Dupuis

Sliding ARPs, droning Korgs, mumbling Moogs: For ten days, the three musicians Thomas Poli, Lionel Laquerrière and the composer and multi-instrumentalist Yann Tiersen locked themselves in the latter’s studio, each chose his analog synthetic weapons, and off they went: unrehearsed, intuitive and under the influence of a canon of Kraftwerk, Delia Derbyshire, Tim Hecker, Grouper, Neu!, Popol Vuh and, of course, Roedelius. The session was preceded by a series of live performances. When the recording lamp lit red, the outcome was uncertain, but E S B (Elektrische Staubband) knew exactly what they were doing. The proof will be available this autumn on the debut album issued by Bureau B or on stage at HKW.

Richard Fearless | © Promo

Richard Fearless | © Promo

Richard Fearless was already exploring somber sound spheres with his band Death in Vegas and he is still in the thrall of heavy bass and atonal noises. It was not by accident that he called his label Drone, and even when the bass drum stomps down below, the harmonies looming above it bear the handwriting of a Roedelius connoisseur. The primary colors of Richard Fearless’s sound palette are still derived from the synth classics Korg MS-20, the Roland SH-09 and the canonical Roland family of the 303, 808 and 909.

Arnold Kasar | © Marcus Witte

Arnold Kasar | © Marcus Witte

The pianist, producer and sound engineer Arnold Kasar, a native of the southern Black Forest, feels at home between Nu Jazz and Electronica. Kasar contributed his sound arts to a large number of bands from the Sonar Kollektiv milieu, like Micatone and Nylon, and built the musical stage for the late-blooming hipster Friedrich Liechtenstein. In 2012 he released his first solo album “The Piano Has Been Smoking,” on which he renewed his relationship with the neglected instrument of his childhood: the piano. It is a relationship that he intensified using an orchestra and singing (!) on his successor album “Walk On” and now extends to a quadrangle in duet with Hans-Joachim Roedelius.

Peter Kruder | © Lukas Gansterer 2013

Peter Kruder | © Lukas Gansterer 2013

Viennese artist, producer and DJ Peter Kruder is a legendary figure in electronic music. The Kruder and Dorfmeister releases “G-Stoned” (G-Stone, 1994), “DJ Kicks” and “The K&D Sessions” (!K7, 1996 and 1998), together with his partner Richard Dorfmeister, are considered pioneering for the genre. Parallel to his partnership with Dorfmeister, Peter Kruder has always followed solo projects. In 1999, he released his debut album “Peace Orchestra”. His remixes include works by Bebel Gilberto, Fauna Flash and many others. In 2001, Kruder kicked off the Voom Voom project with Fauna Flash (Christian Prommer and Roland Appel). Additionally, he has released various singles under his own name on labels such as Gigolo Records, Macro, 2DIY4 and the Compost Black Label. As a DJ, Kruder has been spinning since the early 1990s.

Lukas Lauermann | © Rosa Fuerpass

Lukas Lauermann | © Rosa Fuerpass

Lukas Lauermann is a cellist, composer, artist and musical aesthete in the Vienna scene. He played with the bands Donauwellenreiter and A Life, A Song, A Cigarette, for Soap&Skin and The Twentieth Century. In addition to solo projects, he also collaborated with Ritornell, Mimu Merz and Der Nino aus Wien. He worked as a theatrical and performance musician with Gelatin, Bree Zucker, Salvatore Viviano and Bruno Galindo. Lauermann studied at the Vienna University of Music and Performing Arts and the Anton Bruckner University in Linz. In 2014, Lauermann received an Austrian government scholarship for young artists for composition.

Hanno Leichtmann | © Stini Roehrs

Hanno Leichtmann | © Stini Roehrs

At home in the broad field between improvised real-time and digital club music, Hanno Leichtmann is a true child of the anarchic Berlin 1990s. He released solo albums under the names Static and Vulva String Quartett, performed music in projects such as Pole and Band, Denseland and White Hole, composed stage music for Sasha Waltz, film soundtracks for Christoph Schlingensief and, as the drummer of the trio Groupshow (with Andrew Pekler and Jan Jelinek), expressly declared himself Kraut. His installation for Lifelines formally draws on work such as Minimal Studies (2013) and Unfinished Portrait of Youth Today (2015). Loops and sounds distilled from Roedelius’ oeuvre are played by multiple sound media over four sound systems. Supplemented by Carolin Brandl’s video images, every night new, aleatoric Roedelius “variations” are thus generated. A few days ago, Leichtmann was also commissioned by the IMD in Darmstadt to transform its newly opened complete archives into an installation during the 2016 summer courses.

Christoph H. Müller | © Alexander Gonzales

Christoph H. Müller | © Alexander Gonzales

Christoph H. Müller has a magnificent synthpop skeleton in the closet with the novelty wave hit “Muhammar” by his former band Touch El Arab. The Swiss musician has continued to empathize with non-European musical cultures in an unconventional way. He produced “Hot Stuff” for the dance floor with The Boyz from Brazil before they mutated into the sedate Gotan Project in 1999 and broadly electrified the tango. They were working again in a sophisticated way with samplers and drum machines, but also collaborated with such luminaries as Gustavo Beytelmann and Nini Flores. Müller’s penchant for anagrams leads us directly to today’s duo program, Imagori.

Qluster (left to right: Onnen Bock, Hans-Joachim Roedelius, Armin Metz) | © Stefan Maria Rother

Qluster (left to right: Onnen Bock, Hans-Joachim Roedelius, Armin Metz) | © Stefan Maria Rother

Kluster with a K, Cluster with a C, and now Qluster. Begun in Berlin in 1968 by Hans-Joachim Roedelius, Conrad Schnitzler and the late Dieter Moebius, whenever the group changed its lineup it also changed its spelling. The C was dropped when Schnitzler left and Kluster floated along as a duo towards Harmonia, Conny Plank and Brian Eno. When Moebius left after more than 30 years, the Q was adopted along with Onnen Bock, the sound artist and former sound engineer of the Berlin Philharmonic. This lineup of Qluster produced the 2011 trilogy “Rufen.” “Fragen.” “Antworten.” The Lifelines-concert, in which Bock and Roedelius join Armin Metz on three pianos, offers a taste of the upcoming album, “Tasten.”

Hans-Joachim Roedelius | © Alexander Gonzales

Hans-Joachim Roedelius | © Alexander Gonzales

Born in Berlin-Steglitz in 1934, Hans-Joachim Roedelius was a UFA child actor, refugee, nurse and palliative caregiver, detective, butler, chauffeur and masseur. His life’s path led him through both Germanys to Corsica but he always remained in contact with the world of music. When that world made sparks in West Germany in the late 1960s with the visual arts between Fluxus and expansion of consciousness, Roedelius was part of it with his bands Cluster and Harmonia. They soon were considered outstanding representatives of West German progressive rock, which British journalists tenderly dubbed “Krautrock.” Roedelius’s contributions, however, were neither martial nor overly intellectual; Zen garden-like soundscapes became his trademark, mostly created on the piano and synthesizer. Since then he has tirelessly produced solo works as well as collaborations in addition to installations, sound sculptures, film and stage music. He lives and works tirelessly in Baden near Vienna and regularly returns to Corsica.

Tempus Transit | © Promo

Tempus Transit | © Promo

As Palindrome Hotel, Albin Paul and Stephan Steiner revitalize the European tradition of Bordun music. In their Hotel Haydn program, for example, they put these playing and singing techniques, which were swept aside by European art music, in global and postmodern contexts. When they perform as Tempus Transit with Heidelinde Graz and Roedelius, they leave the world of reconstruction behind and create a medieval counterpoint to the keyboard performance with their overtone singing and yodeling or on instruments such as bagpipes, nyckelharpa, violin, accordion, reed pipe and clarinet.

Hans-Joachim Roedelius and Stefan Schneider | © Peter Stumpf

Hans-Joachim Roedelius and Stefan Schneider | © Peter Stumpf

Stefan Schneider is a son of the ElectriCity of Dusseldorf, the home of Kraftwerk, Can, Neu! and Kreidler. Schneider played bass in the group named after an Austrian motorcycle before founding To Rococo Rot in Berlin with the brothers Ronald and Robert Lippok. In their own ways, both bands aligned Düsseldorf ideas and ideals – minimalism, pulse, repetition and new technology – with the crucial developments of the 1990s – techno and post-rock. Schneider has released two albums on Bureau B with Hans-Joachim Roedelius: “Stunden” (2011) and, two years later, “Tiden,” a dialog for piano and electronics. The duo is drawing from their trove of sound for its Lifelines performance.

Tim Story | © Lee Ring

Tim Story | © Lee Ring

Tim Story may come from Detroit, Michigan, but his heart beats audibly for the European avant-garde. And European labels like Atem and Uniton Records were those that first noticed his “21st Century Chamber Musique” in the early 1980s: dark, melodic ambient miniatures – mostly, but not only, made on synthesizers and piano. Twenty-five albums now bear his name, in addition to numerous contributions to compilations and soundtracks, including that for the documentary Caravan (2005). His acquaintance with Roedelius began with a fan letter. Since then, in addition to numerous concerts the two have produced five albums together. He was also the producer of the Cluster album Qua (2009).

Biografien der teilnehmenden Künstler*innen

Astronauta Pinguim | © Ramiro Pissetti

Astronauta Pinguim | © Ramiro Pissetti

Den weitesten Anreiseweg zu Lifelines hat Fabrício Carvalho. Nachdem er in seiner südbrasilianischen Heimatstadt Porto Alegre in verschiedenen Bands gedient hatte, begann er 2000 mit einem Gerätepark aus historischen Synthesizern unter dem Namen Astronauta Pinguim zu experimentieren. Unverkennbar dient ihm die pulsierende Maschinenmusik aus dem Westdeutschland der 1970er Jahre als Leitstern: Sein jüngstes Album trägt den Namen „Zeitgeist/Propaganda“. Mit dem dem Silver-Apples-Sänger Simeon Coxe III nahm er die 7“ „Automatic/Here She Comes, There She Goes“ auf. Gleichzeitig ist Astronauta Pinguim ein Forscher in Sachen früher Electronica: Seine Fundstücke und Interviews präsentiert er in einem Blog und der wöchentlich in Brasilien und Portugal ausgestrahlten Oscillations Radio Show.

Carolin Brandl | © Tobias Bartl

Carolin Brandl | © Tobias Bartl

Carolin Brandl, ursprünglich vom Tanz kommend, arbeitet heute im Bereich Film. Ihre Arbeiten, dem Genre Dokumentarfilm zugeordnet, werden auch im Kunstkontext gezeigt. Für ihre filmisch-künstlerische Arbeit wurde Brandl mit einem von der deutschen Börse gestifteten Jahreskunstpreis ausgezeichnet. Parallel zu ihren Projekten als Filmregisseurin, arbeitet sie seit mehreren Jahren regelmäßig in künstlerischen Kooperationen mit Choreographen und (elektronischen) Musikern. „Unfinfinished Portrait of Roedelius Today“ ist bereits ihr drittes gemeinsames Projekt mit Hanno Leichtmann. Im HKW zeigt Carolin Brandl eine konzeptuelle Videoarbeit, in der sie, wie Leichtmann, mit Loops arbeitet und sich auf die Songtitel von Roedelius bezieht. Die filmische Arbeit oszilliert zwischen Text und Bild, so dass sich immer neue Bezüge zu Leichtmanns Soundinstallation und zum Werk von H.-J. Roedelius herstellen lassen.

Caramusa | © Pascal Dolemiuex

Caramusa | © Pascal Dolemiuex

Um die traditionelle korsische Musik vor dem Vergessen zu bewahren, gründeten die Brüder Jean-Jacques und Christian Andreani 1984 die Forschungsorganisation E Cetera und das Ensemble Caramusa. Die Andreanis bereisten die ganze Insel, lernten die überlieferten Melodien und das Spiel der traditionellen Instrumente. Der Bandname verweist auf eines davon: die korsische Version des Dudelsacks. Hinzu kommen Pfeifen und Flöten (Pirula oder Pifana), Perkussion, Maultrommel, das polyphone Akkordeon Urganettu und die Cetera, eine 16-saitige Zither. Mit den Stimmen vereint ergeben sie einen rauen, polyphonen Klang, den Caramusa auf zahlreichen Festivals und bisher vier CDs zu Gehör gebracht haben.

Chor der Kulturen der Welt

Chor der Kulturen der Welt

Der 2007 gegründete Chor der Kulturen der Welt ist ein vielstimmiges Mehrzweckwerkzeug: Diesseits und jenseits des temperierten Tonsystems interpretieren seine Mitglieder unter der Leitung von Barbara Morgenstern und Phillipp Neumann Popsongs, Traditionelles und zeitgenössische Kompositionen. Schon 2007 traten sie mit Harmonia bei deren legendärer Reunion im HKW auf. Für Lifelines studieren sie eine Uraufführung einer Kantate von Hans-Joachim Roedelius' Urahn Johann Christoph ein.

Christopher Chaplin | © C. Chaplin

Christopher Chaplin | © C. Chaplin

Zu den unwahrscheinlichsten und zugleich typischen Kollaborationen zählt die Begegnung zwischen Hans-Joachim Roedelius und Charlie Chaplins jüngstem Sohn Christopher Chaplin. Zunächst folgte dieser seinem berühmten Vater in den Beruf des Schauspielers, seit einigen Jahren ist er auch als Pianist und Komponist tätig. 2010 erschien auf Fabrique Records „Seven Echoes“, eine elektro-akustische Kooperation mit dem Wiener Klangkünstler Thomas Pötz alias Kava. Und in Wien, bei einem Konzert in der psychiatrischen Anstalt „Gugging“, trafen Roedelius und Chaplin erstmals aufeinander. Es folgte Chaplins Remix von Roedelius' Beitrag zur BBC-Reihe „Late Night Junction“, gemeinsame Auftritte und das Album „King of Hearts“.

Lloyd Cole | © Kim Frank

Lloyd Cole | © Kim Frank

Der Singer-Songwriter Lloyd Cole begann seine Karriere als Frontmann der Commotions, einer zwischen Blue Eyed Soul, Folk und Pop navigierenden Band, der eine kurze aber stürmische Karriere beschieden war. Cole schlug sich fortan solo und mit der noch kurzlebigeren US-Band The Negatives durch, bevor das Hamburger Label Tapete Records ihn mit einer ausführlichen Werkschau würdigte. Bereits 2001 hatte Cole mit dem Album „Plastic Wood“ elektronische Wege beschritten, von denen Roedelius spontan und unaufgefordert Remixe anfertigte. Auf dem 2013 bei Bureau B veröffentlichten Album „Selected Studies Vol. 1“ setzen die beiden ihre Zusammenarbeit fort. Diese ist – wie die Nummerierung nahelegt – noch lange nicht abgeschlossen und wird am HKW live erprobt.

Brian Eno | © Mary Evers

Brian Eno | © Mary Evers

Wie kein zweiter Name steht der von Brian Eno für die Entwicklung und Definition des Begriffs „Ambient“: Verflüssigte Klänge in der Tradition Erik Saties, die in der technologisierten Noosphäre das beruhigende Grundrauschen der Natur ersetzen. Der ehemalige Roxy-Music-Keyboarder hat weit über die Grenzen der Musik hinaus in der Populärkultur seine Spuren hinterlassen, das Gender- wie das Pitch-bending in der Popmusik etabliert und in vielen intersdisziplinären Bereichen zwischen Zen-Buddhismus, Musiktheorie, audiovisueller Kunst und Software-Entwicklung Neuland erschlossen. Seine Besuche bei Moebius & Roedelius im Weserbergland gelten heute als prägende Station auf seinem verschlungen Weg.

E S B | © Yann Dupuis

E S B | © Yann Dupuis

ARPs gleiten, Korgs dro(eh)nen, Moogs blubbern: Zehn Tage haben sich die drei Musiker Thomas Poli, Lionel Laquerrière und der Komponist und Multiinstrumentalist Yann Tiersen in dessen Studio eingeschlossen, ein jeder wählte seine analog-synthetischen Waffen, und dann ging es los: ungeprobt, intuitiv und unter dem Einfluss eines Kanons von Kraftwerk und Delia Derbyshire bis zu Tim Hecker, Grouper, Neu!, Popol Vuh … und Roedelius. Der Session war eine Reihe von Live-Auftritten vorausgegangen. Als die Aufnahmelampe rot aufleuchtete, war das Ergebnis zwar ungewiss, doch E S B (Elektrische Staubband) wussten genau, was sie taten. Davon darf man sich ab diesem Herbst auf dem auf Bureau B erschienen Debüt-Album überzeugen oder auf der Bühne des HKW.

Richard Fearless | © Promo

Richard Fearless | © Promo

Schon mit seiner Band Death in Vegas erforschte Richard Fearless düstere Klangsphären; schwere Bässe und atonale Geräusche haben ihn bis heute nicht losgelassen. Nicht zufällig hat er sein Label programmatisch Drone getauft, und selbst wenn untenrum die Bassdrum stampft, tragen die darüber dräuenden Harmonien die Handschrift eines Roedelius-Kenners. Bis heute stammen die Primärfarben von Richard Fearless' Klangpalette aus den Synth-Klassikern Korg MS-20, dem Roland SH-09 und der kanonischen Roland-Familie 303, 808 und 909.

Arnold Kasar | © Marcus Witte

Arnold Kasar | © Marcus Witte

Zwischen Nu Jazz und Electronica fühlt sich der aus dem Südschwarzwald stammende Pianist, Produzent und Sound Engineer Arnold Kasar zu Hause. Kasar stellte seine Klangkünste in den Dienst einer Vielzahl von Bands aus dem Sonarkollektiv-Umfeld wie Micatone und Nylon und zimmerte die musikalische Bühne für den spätberufenen Hipster Friedrich Liechtenstein. 2012 veröffentlichte er sein erstes Soloalbum „The Piano Has Been Smoking“. Darauf erneuerte er seine Beziehung zum vernachlässigten Instrument seiner Kindheit: dem Klavier. Eine Beziehung, die er mit dem Nachfolger „Walk On“ orchestral – und singend! – vertiefte und nun im Duett mit Hans-Joachim Roedelius zum Viereck erweitert.

Peter Kruder | © Lukas Gansterer 2013

Peter Kruder | © Lukas Gansterer 2013

Der Wiener Künstler, Produzent und DJ Peter Kruder ist eine legendäre Figur/Lichtgestalt der elektronischen Musik. Mit Richard Dorfmeister bildete er Kruder und Dorfmeister; die Releases „G-Stoned“ (G-Stone, 1994), „DJ Kicks“ und „The K&D Sessions“ (!K7, 1996 und 1998) gelten als bahnbrechend für das Genre. Parallel dazu verfolgte Kruder stets auch Soloprojekte: 1999 veröffentlichte er sein Debütalbum „Peace Orchestra“. Er machte Remixe für Bebel Gilberto, Fauna Flash und viele andere. 2001 startete er das Voom Voom Projekt mit Fauna Flash (Christian Prommer und Roland Appel). Er veröffentlichte Singles auf Labels wie Gigolo Records, Macro, 2DIY4 und dem Compost Black Label. Seit den frühen 1990er Jahren ist er als DJ unterwegs.

Lukas Lauermann | © Rosa Fuerpass

Lukas Lauermann | © Rosa Fuerpass

Lukas Lauermann ist Cellist, Komponist, Künstler und ein musikalischer Feingeist der Wiener Szene. Er ist Musiker bei den Bands Donauwellenreiter und A Life, A Song, A Cigarette, bei Soap&Skin und The Twentieth Century. Neben seinen Soloprojekten kollaborierte er u.a. mit Ritornell, Mimu Merz und Der Nino aus Wien. Als Theater- und Performancemusiker arbeitete er mit Gelatin, Bree Zucker, Salvatore Viviano und Bruno Galindo. Studiert hat Lauermann an der Universität für Musik und darstellende Kunst Wien und der Anton Bruckner Privatuniversität Linz. 2014 erhielt Lauermann das Startstipendium des BMUKK für Komposition.

Hanno Leichtmann | © Stini Roehrs

Hanno Leichtmann | © Stini Roehrs

Zuhause im weiten Feld zwischen improvisierter Echtzeit- und digitaler Clubmusik, ist Hanno Leichtmann ein echtes Gewächs der anarchischen Berliner Neunzigerjahre. Er veröffentlichte Soloalben unter dem Namen Static und Vulva String Quartett, musizierte in Projekten wie Pole and Band, Denseland und White Hole, komponierte Bühnenmusik für Sasha Waltz, Filmmusik für Christoph Schlingensief und bekannte sich als Schlagzeuger des Trios Groupshow (mit Andrew Pekler und Jan Jelinek) ausdrücklich zum Kraut. Seine Installation für Lifelines knüpft formal an Arbeiten wie "Minimal Studies"(2013) und „Unfinished Portrait of Youth Today“ (2015) an: Aus Roedelius' Gesamtwerk herausdestillierte Loops und Sounds werden von mehreren Klangspeichern auf vier Soundsystemen abgespielt. Ergänzt um die Videobilder von Carolin Brandl entstehen so jeden Abend neue, aleatorische Roedelius-"Variations". Vor wenigen Tagen wurde Leichtmann auch vom Darmstädter IMD beauftragt, das gerade neu eröffnete Gesamtarchiv des IMD bei den Ferienkursen 2016 zu einer Installation zu transformieren.

Christoph H. Müller | © Alexander Gonzales

Christoph H. Müller | © Alexander Gonzales

Mit dem Novelty-Wave-Hit „Muhammar“ seiner damaligen Formation „Touch El Arab“ hat Christoph H. Müller eine prächtige Synthie-Pop-Leiche im Keller. Und auch weiterhin hat der Schweizer sich auf eigenwillige Weise in außereuropäische Musikkulturen hineingefühlt: Mit „The Boyz From Brazil“ produzierte er „Hot Stuff“ für den Dancefloor, bevor sie 1999 zum gesetzteren Gotan Project mutierten und breitenwirksam den Tango elektrifizierten. Dabei arbeiteten sie auf raffinierte Weise wieder mit Sampler und Drummachines, aber kollaborierten auch mit leibhaftigen Koryphäen wie Gustavo Beytelmann und Nini Flores. Müllers Hang zum Anagramm führt uns direkt zum heutigen Duo-Programm „Imagori“.

Qluster (v.l.n.r.: Onnen Bock, Hans-Joachim Roedelius, Armin Metz) | © Stefan Maria Rother

Qluster (v.l.n.r.: Onnen Bock, Hans-Joachim Roedelius, Armin Metz) | © Stefan Maria Rother

Kluster mit K, Cluster mit C, nun sind wir bei Qluster. Immer wenn Hans-Joachim Roedelius' große musikalische Liebe, die 1968 in Berlin mit Conrad Schnitzler und dem kürzlich verstorbenen Dieter Moebius begann, einen Personalwechsel mitmachte, schlug sich dies in einer Variation der Schreibweise nieder. Das C musste weg, als Schnitzler ging und Kluster als Duo weiterschwebten, Richtung Harmonia, Conny Plank und Brian Eno. Als Moebius nach mehr als 30 Jahren ging, war das Q fällig. Hinzu kam der Klangkünstler und einstige Tonmeister der Berliner Philharmoniker Onnen Bock. In dieser Besetzung veröffentlichte Qluster 2011 die Trilogie „Rufen.“ „Fragen.“ „Antworten“. Das Lifelines-Konzert, bei dem Bock und Roedelius gemeinsam mit Armin Metz die drei Pianos betätigen, bietet einen Ausblick auf das kommende Album „Tasten“.

Hans-Joachim Roedelius | © Alexander Gonzales

Hans-Joachim Roedelius | © Alexander Gonzales

1934 in Berlin-Steglitz geboren, war Hans-Joachim Roedelius in jungen Jahren UFA-Kinderstar, Flüchtling, Krankenpfleger und Sterbebegleiter, Detektiv, Butler, Chauffeur und Masseur. Sein Weg führte ihn durch beide Deutschlands bis nach Korsika – dabei blieb er immer in Kontakt mit der Welt der Musik. Als diese im Westdeutschland der End-1960er Jahre mit der bildenden Kunst zwischen Fluxus und Bewusstseinserweiterung Funken schlug, war Roedelius mit seinen Bands Cluster und Harmonia dabei. Sie galten bald als herausragende Vertreter des bundesdeutschen Progressive Rock, den britische Journalisten zärtlich „Krautrock“ tauften. Dabei waren Roedelius' Beiträge weder martialisch noch verkopft: Sein Markenzeichen wurden zen-garten-artige Klanglandschaften, meist erzeugt mit Klavier und Synthesizer. Seitdem hat er unermüdlich produziert – Solo-Arbeiten ebenso wie Kollaborationen, außerdem Installationen, Klangskulpturen, Film- und Bühnenmusik. Er lebt und arbeitet unermüdlich in Baden bei Wien und kehrt regelmäßig nach Korsika zurück.

Tempus Transit | © Promo

Tempus Transit | © Promo

Unter dem Namen Palindrome Hotel revitalisieren Albin Paulus und Stephan Steiner die europäische Tradition der Bordunmusik. Die von der europäischen Kunstmusik hinweggefegte Spiel- und Liedweisen stellen sie u. a. in dem Programm „Hotel Haydn“ auch in globale und postmoderne Kontexte. Wenn sie als Tempus Transit mit Heidelinde Graz und Roedelius musizieren, verlassen sie die Welt der Rekonstruktion und setzen zum Keyboard-Spiel mit ihrem Obertongesang und Jodeln oder auf Instrumenten wie Dudelsack, Nyckelharfe, Geige, Akkordeon, Schalmei und Klarinette einen mittelalterlichen Kontrapunkt.

Hans-Joachim Roedelius und Stefan Schneider | © Peter Stumpf

Hans-Joachim Roedelius und Stefan Schneider | © Peter Stumpf

Stefan Schneider ist ein Sohn der ElectriCity Düsseldorf, der Heimat von Kraftwerk, Can, Neu! … und Kreidler. Bei der nach einem österreichischen Kraftrad benannten Kapelle diente Schneider als Bassist, bevor er in Berlin mit den Brüdern Ronald und Robert Lippok To Rococo Rot gründete. Beide Bands haben auf ihre Weise die Düsseldorfer Ideen und Ideale – Minimalismus, Puls, Repetition und neue Technologie – mit den entscheidenden Entwicklungen der Neunzigerjahre – Techno und Postrock – abgeglichen. Mit Hans-Joachim Roedelius hat Schneider bisher zwei Alben auf Bureau B veröffentlicht: „Stunden“ (2011) und zwei Jahre später „Tiden“, ein Dialog für Piano und Electronics, aus dessen Klangfundus das Duo beim Lifelines-Auftritt schöpft.

Tim Story | © Lee Ring

Tim Story | © Lee Ring

Zwar kommt Tim Story aus Detroit, Michigan, doch sein Herz schlägt hörbar für die europäische Avantgarde. Und so waren es europäische Labels wie Atem und Uniton Records, die Anfang der 1980er Jahre zuerst auf seine „21st Century Chamber Musique“ aufmerksam wurden: dunkle, melodische Ambient-Miniaturen – zumeist, aber nicht nur, mithilfe von Synthesizern und Piano erzeugt. 25 Alben tragen heute seinen Namen, dazu kommen zahlreiche Beiträge zu Compilations und Soundtracks, u. a. für den Dokumentarfilm „Caravan“ (2005). Seine Bekanntschaft mit Roedelius geht auf einen Fan-Brief zurück. Seitdem entstanden neben zahlreichen Konzerten fünf gemeinsame Alben. Beim Cluster-Album „Qua“ (2009) fungierte er als Produzent.