Alice Quaresma, Playground 10, 2017, © Alice Quaresma
Angélique Kidjo, © Promo
Milton Nascimento, © Promo
Gilberto Gil, Photo: Cris Almeida
Ranky Tanky, © Peter Frank Edwards
Maravillas de Mali, © Richard Holstein
Les Amazones d’Afrique, © Promo
Benin International Musical, © Promo
Louis Towers, Photo: Alfredo Torres
Mario Lucio & Simentera, © Promo
The Congos and Pura Vida, © Lenny Oosterwijk

Jul 05–27, 2019

Wassermusik: Black Atlantic Revisited

Festival
Concerts, films, conference

Jul 5–27, 2019

In 1993 Paul Gilroy’s book The Black Atlantic: Modernity and Double Consciousness was published. In it, he examines how the history of the Black Atlantic diaspora defied art and knowledge to find new forms. Music is of particular importance in this context. In 2004 the Black Atlantic project grappling with Gilroy’s theories took place at HKW. Fifteen years later it’s time to take them up again.

The focus of Wassermusik in 2019 – entitled Black Atlantic Revisited – is on the South Atlantic and its musical cultures. With concerts by Milton Nascimento, Angélique Kidjo, Gilberto Gil and many others, a film program and the Wassermarkt.

Curated by Detlef Diederichsen

Echoes of the South Atlantic (July 10 and 11), a conference by the Goethe-Institut, looks at the present-day situation of Atlantic relations between Africa, the Americas and Europe. Paul Gilroy is among the many contributors.

Alice Quaresma, Playground 10, 2017, © Alice Quaresma
Angélique Kidjo, © Promo
Milton Nascimento, © Promo
Gilberto Gil, Foto: Cris Almeida
Ranky Tanky, © Peter Frank Edwards
Maravillas de Mali, © Richard Holstein
Les Amazones d’Afrique, © Promo
Benin International Musical, © Promo
Louis Towers, Foto: Alfredo Torres
Mario Lucio & Simentera, © Promo
The Congos and Pura Vida, © Lenny Oosterwijk

05.–27.7.2019

Wassermusik: Black Atlantic Revisited

Festival
Konzerte, Filme, Konferenz

05.–27.07.2019

1993 erschien Paul Gilroys Buch The Black Atlantic: Modernity and Double Consciousness. Darin untersucht er, wie die Schwarze diasporische Geschichte des Atlantiks Kunst und Wissen herausfordert(e), neue Formen zu finden – besonders wichtig war dabei die Musik. 2004 fand am HKW das Projekt Black Atlantic statt und setzte sich mit Gilroys Thesen auseinander. Fünfzehn Jahre später ist die Zeit reif, sie erneut aufzunehmen.

Im Fokus der Wassermusik 2019 stehen unter dem Titel Black Atlantic Revisited der Südatlantik und seine musikalischen Kulturen. Mit Konzerten von Milton Nascimento, Angélique Kidjo, Gilberto Gil u.v.a., einem Filmprogramm und dem Wassermarkt.

Kuratiert von Detlef Diederichsen.

Die Konferenz Echoes of the South Atlantic (10. und 11. Juli), eine Veranstaltung des Goethe-Instituts, blickt auf die heutige Situation der atlantischen Beziehungen zwischen Afrika, den Amerikas und Europa. Mit Beiträgen von Paul Gilroy u.v.a.