Fri, Sep 24–Sun, Sep 26: Road closures and traffic obstructions around HKW. More...

Redefining the Power / After Dürer

Kiluanji Kia Henda / Andreas Siekmann
Since May 2021

Kiluanji Kia Henda | Redefining The Power I (with Shunnuz Fiel, Serie 75), 2010 | Courtesy of the artist

Kiluanji Kia Henda | Redefining The Power I (with Shunnuz Fiel, Serie 75), 2010 | Courtesy of the artist

Andreas Siekmann | After Dürer (2019), installation in progress | Photo: Elinor Lazar / HKW

Andreas Siekmann | After Dürer (2019), installation in progress | Photo: Elinor Lazar / HKW

What significance do exploitation and oppression have in the modern culture of memory? How is this shaped by internal and external colonization? Can monuments not only be razed, but revised? Two works on historical remembrance and the monuments debate.

With Redefining the Power, Kiluanji Kia Henda presents works from his long-term photography series Homen Nuovo (New Man) on the fate of colonial monuments in Luanda. Most statues celebrating “discovery,” conquest, enslavement and domination were already damaged or removed in Luanda during the civil war period (1975 to 2002). A city with empty pedestals represents a time of transition, a dangerous but productive uncertainty in terms of collective memory and imagining the future. In his photographic works, Kiluanji Kia Henda stages on these pedestals pivotal figures from Angola’s contemporary cultural life and underground, but also from the African diaspora in Portugal.

Andreas Siekmann’s work After Dürer (2019) is a contemporary interpretation of Albrecht Dürer’s unrealized Monument to the Vanquished Peasants (1525). It was Dürer’s response to the so-called German Peasants’ War, in which the rural population of what is now southern Germany and Austria revolted against feudal rule. Alongside the colonial expansion of Europe, there was also widespread dispossession of the poor population within Europe. The work relates this “inner” dimension of colonialism to contemporary global developments.

Installations in the Mirror Pond

Since May 2021

Stay up-to-date on the HKW program with our weekly newsletter.
Register here

Kiluanji Kia Henda, Redefining The Power I (with Shunnuz Fiel, Serie 75), 2010, Courtesy of the artist
Andreas Siekmann, Nach Dürer (2019), Installation im Aufbau, Foto: Elinor Lazar / HKW

Mo., 17. Mai 2021 — So., 31. Oktober 2021

Redefining the Power / Nach Dürer

Kiluanji Kia Henda / Andreas Siekmann

Installationen im Spiegelteich

Mai–Oktober 2021

Welchen Stellenwert haben Ausbeutung, Unterdrückung und Kolonialisierung in der Erinnerungskultur der Moderne? Können Denkmäler nicht nur gestürzt, sondern aktualisiert werden? Zwei Arbeiten zur historischen Erinnerung und Denkmaldebatte.

Mit Redefining the Power zeigt Kiluanji Kia Henda Arbeiten seiner langfristig angelegten Fotoserie mit dem Titel Homen Nuovo (New Man) zum Schicksal von Kolonialdenkmälern in Luanda. Die meisten Statuen, die „Entdeckung“, Eroberung, Sklaverei und Herrschaft feierten, wurden in Luanda schon während der Zeit des Bürgerkriegs (1975 bis 2002) beschädigt oder entfernt. Eine Stadt mit leeren Sockeln steht für eine Zeit des Übergangs, für eine gefährliche, aber auch produktive Unsicherheit in Bezug auf kollektive Erinnerung und Zukunftsvorstellung. In seinen Fotoarbeiten inszeniert Kiluanji Kia Henda auf diesen Sockeln wichtige Figuren aus dem heutigen kulturellen Leben und dem Underground Angolas aber auch der afrikanischen Diaspora in Portugal.

Andreas Siekmanns Arbeit Nach Dürer (2019) ist eine zeitgenössische Interpretation von Albrecht Dürers nie realisiertem Denkmal für die besiegten Bauern (1525). Damit reagierte Dürer auf die sogenannten deutschen Bauernkriege, in denen die Landbevölkerung der Gebiete des heutigen Süddeutschlands und Österreichs gegen die Feudalherrschaft revoltierte. Parallel zur kolonialen Expansion Europas kam es auch zu weitreichenden Enteignungen der armen Bevölkerung innerhalb Europas. Diese „innere“ Dimension des Kolonialismus setzt die Arbeit in Beziehung mit gegenwärtigen globalen Entwicklungen.