Sep 29–30, 2022

Digital Hate

Symposium, training, school project

Updates and program information:
HKW Newsletter

Symposium
Thu, Sep 29 & Fri, 30, 2022, 5–9 pm
Lecture hall

In German and English
Free admission

Teacher training
Thu, Sep 29 & Fri, 30, 2022, 2–5 pm
Conference room

In German
Free admission, with registration
(registration details following soon)

How do conspiracy ideologies, racism and anti-Semitism evolve online? Scholars, artists and education experts address the phenomenon of hate speech.

Hate speech and conspiracy narratives on the web increased considerably during the COVID-19 pandemic. How are these digital discourses structured and how do they spread? What role do racism and antisemitism play in this? And what strategies could help educate and serve to combat hate?

At the Digital Hate symposium, scholars, artists, activists and experts will discuss the ways hate speech and conspiracy theories are spread and together seek strategies to combat them. Participants will bring knowledge and perspectives from AI, political education, critical discourse analysis, anti-racist and anti-antisemitic struggles and artistic experiments into the conversation. For example, they will work with results from algorithmic text mining and machine learning processes. They will develop artistic interventions in AI and algorithms.

In a training course, teachers and educational practitioners can further educate themselves on how to deal with the topic of hate speech in the classroom and how to teach students skills for dealing with it.

In a six-month-long school project, students will grapple with the phenomenon of hate speech and the connections between conspiracy theories, racism and antisemitism in class.

29.–30.9.2022

Digitaler Hass

Symposium, Fortbildung, Schulprojekt

Updates und Programminformation:
HKW Newsletter

Symposium
Do 29. & Fr 30.9.2022 , 17–21h
Vortragssaal

Auf Deutsch und Englisch
Eintritt frei

Lehrer*innen-Fortbildung
Do 29. & Fr 30.9.2022, 14–17h
Konferenzraum

Auf Deutsch
Eintritt frei, mit Anmeldung
(Informationen zur Anmeldung in Kürze)

Wie entwickeln sich Verschwörungsideologien, Rassismus und Antisemitismus im Netz? Wissenschaftler*innen, Künstler*innen und Bildungsexpert*innen setzen sich mit dem Phänomen Hassreden auseinander.

Hassreden und Verschwörungsnarrative im Netz haben während der COVID-19 Pandemie stark zugenommen. Wie sind diese digitalen Diskurse strukturiert und wie verbreiten sie sich? Welche Rolle spielen dabei Rassismus und Antisemitismus? Und welche Strategien könnten bei der Aufklärung behilflich sein und zur Bekämpfung des Hasses dienen?

Beim Symposium Digitaler Hass diskutieren Wissenschaftler*innen, Künstler*innen, Aktivist*innen und Expert*innen über die Verbreitungswege von Hassreden und Verschwörungstheorien und suchen gemeinsam nach Strategien gegen sie. Die Teilnehmenden bringen Wissen und Perspektiven aus der KI, der politischen Bildung, Kritischer Diskursanalyse, antirassistischer und anti-antisemitischer Kämpfe sowie künstlerischer Experimente mit ins Gespräch. So arbeiten sie etwa mit Ergebnissen aus algorithmischen Verfahren des Text Mining und des maschinellen Lernens. Sie entwickeln künstlerische Interventionen in die KI und Algorithmen.

In einer Fortbildung können sich Lehrer*innen und Bildungspraktiker*innen weiterbilden, um das Thema Hassreden im Unterricht zu behandeln und Schüler*innen Kompetenzen für den Umgang damit zu vermitteln.

In einem Schulprojekt setzen sich Schüler*innen über 6 Monate im Unterricht mit dem Phänomen Hassreden und dem Zusammenhang von Verschwörungstheorien mit Rassismus und Antisemitismus auseinander.