Wassermusik

Goodbye UK – and Thank You for the Music
2018, Jul 27, Fri — 2018, Aug 18, Sat

© Jakob Hoff

© Jakob Hoff

The upcoming disruptions caused by Brexit offer a good opportunity to finally thank the United Kingdom for enriching the last 60 years with an exquisite pop canon. Liverpool beat and lovers rock, glam rock and grime, drum’n’bass and dubstep—British innovations have regularly shaken up the pop world. Not to be overlooked in all of this is the influence of Caribbean and African migrants, who could legally immigrate to the UK after 1948. The breathtaking development made by British jazz and rhythm & blues starting in the 1950s is also heavily marked by this. Additionally, since the first generation of rock bands also recruited from this scene, it can be claimed: Without the Alpha Boys School, where most of the Jamaican jazz players got their music training, there would have been no Rolling Stones, Cream, or Fleetwood Mac. This year Wassermusik celebrates the brilliance and breadth of British music. With a wide variety of artists from the UK, but also from Poland, France, Mexico, India, and Nigeria. Because gratitude to British music-making knows no borders.

With concerts by Matthew Herbert’s Brexit Big Band, The Zombies, Jazz Jamaica, Scritti Politti, Little Axe & Adrian Sherwood, Orlando Julius & The Heliocentrics, Kobo Town, Mexrrissey, Shabaka & The Ancestors, Bright Phoebus Revisited, Eva Lazarus, Go-Kart Mozart, Friedrich Sunlight, Aquaserge, Anushka, Zara McFarlane, Mitch & Mitch, Peter Cat Recording Co., The Chap, Bas Jan among many others, with a film program, discussions, the installation Welcome to Saxnot by Scott King, and the Wassermarkt market.

The past ten editions of Wassermusik dealt with themes ranging from Surf and Tiki (2008) and Deserts (2011), The New Pacific (2013) and Mother India (2015) to The Other Caribbean (2016) and in 2017, for its tenth year, celebrated itself. Wassermusik X invited the “best of” and artists the makers of Wassermusik had always wanted to engage but who were unable to take part for various reasons.

In 2018, the festival, curated by Detlef Diederichsen and Martin Hossbach, will again be held on the popular HKW roof terrace unless the weather does not allow, then in the exhibition hall.

Festival
Concerts, films, talks

Open air on the roof terrace
Waterproof – in case of rain in Ausstellungshalle 1 (exhibition hall 1)

Wassermusik

Goodbye UK – and Thank You for the Music
Fr, 27. Juli 2018 — Sa, 18. August 2018

Foto: Richard Rush

Foto: Richard Rush

Matthew Herbert’s Brexit Big Band | © Marc Allan

Matthew Herbert’s Brexit Big Band | © Marc Allan

Adrian Sherwood & Little Axe | © Promo

Adrian Sherwood & Little Axe | © Promo

The Zombies | © Payley Photography

The Zombies | © Payley Photography

Orlando Julius & The Heliocentrics | © Promo

Orlando Julius & The Heliocentrics | © Promo

Mexrrissey | © Promo

Mexrrissey | © Promo

Jazz Jamaica | © Promo

Jazz Jamaica | © Promo

Shabaka & The Ancestors | © Leeroy Jason

Shabaka & The Ancestors | © Leeroy Jason

Bright Phoebus Revisited | © Pete Heywood

Bright Phoebus Revisited | © Pete Heywood

Kobo Town | © Paul Wright

Kobo Town | © Paul Wright

Scritti Politti | © Promo

Scritti Politti | © Promo

Die anstehenden Einschnitte durch den Brexit sind ein guter Anlass, sich bei Großbritannien endlich dafür zu bedanken, dass es die letzten sechzig Jahre mit einem exquisiten Pop-Kanon bereichert hat. Liverpool-Beat und Lovers Rock, Glam Rock und Grime, Drum ’n’ Bass und Dubstep – regelmäßig erschütterten britische Innovationen die Popwelt. Nicht zu unterschätzen ist bei all diesen Entwicklungen der Einfluss karibischer und afrikanischer Migrant*innen, die ab 1948 legal nach UK einreisen konnten. Auch die atemberaubende Entwicklung, die der britische Jazz und Rhythm & Blues ab den 1950er Jahren nahmen, ist hiervon stark geprägt. Und da sich aus dieser Szene auch die erste Generation britischer Rockbands rekrutierte, kann man behaupten: Ohne die Alpha Boys School, in der die meisten der jamaikanischen Jazzer*innen ihre musikalische Ausbildung erhielten, keine Rolling Stones, Cream oder Fleetwood Mac. Wassermusik feiert in diesem Jahr Brillanz und Breite britischer Musik. Mit höchst unterschiedlichen Künstler*innen aus UK, aber auch aus Polen, Frankreich, Mexiko, Indien und Nigeria. Denn die Dankbarkeit gegenüber dem britischen Musikschaffen kennt keine Grenzen.

Mit Matthew Herbert’s Brexit Big Band, The Zombies, Jazz Jamaica, Scritti Politti, Little Axe & Adrian Sherwood, Orlando Julius & The Heliocentrics, Kobo Town, Mexrrissey, Shabaka & The Ancestors, Bright Phoebus Revisited, Eva Lazarus, Go-Kart Mozart, Friedrich Sunlight, Aquaserge, Anushka, Zara McFarlane, Mitch & Mitch, Peter Cat Recording Co., The Chap, Bas Jan u. a., mit einem Filmprogramm, Gesprächen, der Installation Welcome to Saxnot von Scott King und dem Wassermarkt.

Die vergangenen zehn Ausgaben der Wassermusik beschäftigten sich mit Themen von Surf und Tiki (2008) über Wüsten (2011), Der neue Pazifik (2013) oder Mother India (2015) bis Die andere Karibik (2016) und feierte sich 2017 anlässlich seiner zehnten Ausgabe selbst: Unter dem Titel Wassermusik X wurde ein Best-of eingeladen – und Künstler*innen, die man schon immer holen wollte, die aber aus unterschiedlichen Gründen nicht kommen konnten.

2018 findet das von Detlef Diederichsen und Martin Hossbach kuratierte Festival wieder auf der beliebten HKW-Dachterrasse statt, bei schlechtem Wetter in der Ausstellungshalle.

Festival
Konzerte, Filme, Gespräche

Open Air auf der Dachterrasse
Bei Regen in der Ausstellungshalle 1

27.07.–18.08.2018

Abendticket (2 Konzerte & Film):
12–18€
Festivalpass: 100€
Film solo 6€/4€
Kinder unter 11 Jahren Eintritt frei
Gespräche Eintritt frei
Onlinetickets