Still from Safari Prop V3 by Decolonize This Place
Forensic Architecture, Investigative Commons, Exhibition view, © Miguel Brusch/HKW
Video: Sam Blair, Music: Gunnar Óskarsson
Image Projection, Projecting images across digital space within a 3D model allows the researchers to determine real-world distances between objects. , © Forensic Architecture, 2021
Satellite imagery, Expansion of palm oil plantations into the territories of the Indigenous Dayak communities., © Forensic Architecture, 2021
Spectogram analysis of audible shots, © Forensic Architecture, 2021
Harness, 3D model to reconstruct a metal harness used to transport a canister similar to those previously linked to chlorine gas attacks across Syria., © Forensic Architecture, 2021
Trajectory model, A model to answer the question: could Abu al-Qi'an's car have rolled toward Israeli policemen of its own accord?, © Forensic Architecture, 2021
Model of the internet café in which Halit Yozgat was murdered by the NSU, Forensic Architecture's reconstruction at HKW 2017, Photo: Vanina Vignal

2021/2022

Investigative Commons

The program will be continued in 2022.

Conference
Oct 9, 2021

Exhibition
June 9–Aug 8, 2021

What can civil society do when state institutions are involved in crimes? Reporters, artists, activists and others look at racist policing, border systems and cyber-surveillance, exploring new investigative practices and methods to collectively establish the truth.

The defining characteristic of our era is a sustained attack by “counter-factual” neo-fascist groups against state institutions and judiciaries. A common response has been to cling to those traditional pillars of power-knowledge. But how should civil society react when those institutions themselves are responsible for crimes, state-terror and cover-ups; when the necessary struggle has two fronts: both for independent verification and against institutional knowledge?

The Investigative Commons seeks to address this crisis by socializing the development and deployment of “counter-forensic” evidence. Initiated by Forensic Architecture, FORENSIS and the European Center for Constitutional and Human Rights (ECCHR), this community of practice works to expose state and corporate violence. Its investigations combine the situated knowledge of communities at the forefront of political struggle with the toolkits of investigative reporters, whistleblowers, activists, lawyers, scientists, artists, architects and other cultural practitioners. All are working towards decisive casework that confronts urgent issues: racist policing and border regimes, cyber-surveillance, environmental destruction and dispossession, and the persistence of colonial violence. HKW will follow the Investigative Commons over the course of two years with exhibitions, conferences and reflections on the ways in which new technologies and aesthetic sensibilities might define and transform how we investigate the world.

Still aus Safari Prop V3 von Decolonize This Place
Forensic Architecture, Investigative Commons, Ausstellungsansicht, © Miguel Brusch/HKW
Video: Sam Blair, Musik: Gunnar Óskarsson
Bildprojektion, Durch die Projektion von Bildern über den digitalen Raum in einem 3D-Modell können die Forscher*innen reale Entfernungen zwischen Objekten bestimmen., © Forensic Architecture, 2021
Satellitenbilder, Ausweitung der Palmölplantagen auf die Gebiete der Indigenen Dayak-Gemeinschaften., © Forensic Architecture, 2021
Spektogrammanalyse hörbarer Aufnahmen, © Forensic Architecture, 2021
Harness, 3D-Modell zur Rekonstruktion eines Metallgeschirrs, das zum Transport eines Kanisters verwendet wurde, der denen ähnelt, die zuvor mit Chlorgasangriffen in Syrien in Verbindung gebracht wurden., © Forensic Architecture, 2021
Flugbahnmodell, Ein Modell zur Beantwortung der Frage: Könnte Abu al-Qi'ans Auto von selbst auf israelische Polizist*innen zugerollt sein?, © Forensic Architecture, 2021
Modell des Internetcafés, in dem Halit Yozgat durch den NSU ermordet wurde, Rekonstruktion von Forensic Architecture im HKW 2017 , Foto: Vanina Vignal

2021/2022

Investigative Commons

Das Programm wird 2022 fortgesetzt.

Konferenz
09.10.2021

Ausstellung
09.06.–08.08.2021

Was kann die Zivilgesellschaft tun, wenn staatliche Institutionen in Verbrechen verstrickt sind? Reporter*innen, Künstler*innen, Aktivist*innen u. a. richten den Blick auf rassistische Polizeiarbeit, Grenzsysteme und Cyberüberwachung und widmen sich neuen investigativen Praktiken und Methoden kollektiver Wahrheitsfindung.

„Kontrafaktische“ Angriffe auf staatliche Institutionen und die Justiz durch neofaschistische Gruppen sind ein wesentliches Merkmal der heutigen Zeit. Reaktionen darauf sind oft ein Festhalten an diesen traditionellen Säulen der Macht und des Wissens. Was aber kann die Zivilgesellschaft tun, wenn eben diese Institutionen für Verbrechen, Staatsterrorismus und Vertuschungen verantwortlich sind und an zwei Fronten gleichzeitig gekämpft wird: für unabhängige Beweise und gegen institutionelles Wissen?

Investigative Commons begegnet dieser Krise, indem es die Entwicklung und den Einsatz „counter-forensischer“ Beweise für die Allgemeinheit nutzbar macht. Initiiert von Forensic Architecture, FORENSIS und dem European Center for Constitutional and Human Rights (ECCHR) zielt diese interdisziplinäre Kooperation darauf ab, staatliche und unternehmerische Gewalt aufzudecken. Dabei trifft das situierte Wissen von Gruppen an der Front politischer Kämpfe auf Methoden von Investigativreporter*innen, Whistleblower*innen, Aktivist*innen, Rechtsanwält*innen, Wissenschaftler*innen, Künstler*innen, Architekt*innen und Kulturschaffenden. Sie alle arbeiten an Fällen von gesellschaftlicher Dringlichkeit: Grenzsysteme, Cyberüberwachung, Umweltzerstörung und Kontinuitäten kolonialer Gewalt. Das HKW begleitet Investigative Commons über zwei Jahre mit Ausstellungen und Konferenzen. Wie wird neue Technologie und ästhetisches Empfinden in Zukunft die Auseinandersetzung mit der Welt prägen?