2017, Sat, Dec 02

Tokens

© Anil Bawa-Cavia/STD-IO

© Anil Bawa-Cavia/STD-IO

With the establishment of universal standards for industrial goods, credit systems, and human rights around 1948, the world is transformed into a technocratic space of transactions. Orchestrated by the material and virtual circulation of Tokens—universal currencies, data, and bodies—economic infrastructures and legal mechanisms emerge and begin to regulate a global society. Within a visual-discursive scenery largely based on the bookkeeping structure of a block chain, theoretical and artistic contributions contour the technical standards of an infinitely circulating present.

Program in collaboration with Victoria Ivanova (curator, cultural theorist) & Patricia Reed (artist, writer), visual design by Anil Bawa-Cavia and Patricia Reed, co-produced with Harry Sanderson

3 pm
Anna Echterhölter and Oscar Guardiola-Rivera
Genealogies of Standardization
Presentations

What kind of universal, token-based systems were envisioned around 1948 to recondition the war-torn world? With the post-WWII period came a series of economic problems generated by wartime debts, fragmented international relations and food shortages. Anna Echterhölter delves into projects such as Keynes’s ill-fated bancor currency and the United Nations’ Relief and Rehabilitation Association (UNRRA) in their attempts to alleviate these problems through token-based approaches that sought universalism and commensurability. In 1948, the Universal Declaration of Human Rights by the UN also sought a form of standardized legal structure that would tokenize the human subject. Oscar Guardiola-Rivera explores the implications of such a framework particularly as it has entrenched our contemporary condition in asymmetrical articulations of sovereignty, the imposition of Western ideas, and structural violence throughout the globe.

3.45 pm
Benjamin Bratton, Vera Tollmann & Boaz Levin, and Anna Echterhölter
Processing Sovereignty
Presentations

As economic and governance regimes scale to encompass our contemporary globalized condition, new technologies for integrating communication, addressability, and interfacial infrastructures become tantamount to a new form of sovereignty. Benjamin Bratton, addresses these emergent platform structures and their evolution through his conception of the Stack. Boaz Levin and Vera Tollman then move through the occulted, at-a-distance geographic presences of global finance by mapping the complex legal, political, and geospatial tools employed by global financial firms, using the City of London Corporation as a case study. Exploring the strange intersection of technology, economy, and governance in localized terms, Anna Echterhölter investigates the implications of voucher programs for food rationing in refugee camps run by intergovernmental institutions such as the World Food Program (WFP), and the UN High Commissioner on Refugees (UNHCR).

4.30 pm
Benjamin Bratton, Oscar Guardiola-Rivera, and Gerald Nestler
Logics of Derivation
Presentations

Risk is now calculated with increasing intensity and fed back into economic pricing models, governance strategies, and personal scores based on credit and lifestyle as abstract tokens both tradable and valuable. Benjamin Bratton tracks the multifarious dynamics that these logics and abstractions can generate. As derivatives incorporate their contingencies, they do so by excluding and relegating certain bodies, goods, and places as collateral damage. Oscar Guardiola-Rivera explores the consequences of incorporation and exclusion through international governance regimes increasingly determined by factored risk and contingency. Meanwhile, Blockchain technologies have set a new horizon for economic and political structures, challenging models of centralized governance and finance by employing “smart” contracts and exchangeable non-state tokens. What are the consequences of this innovative model for derivation? Gerald Nestler analyzes the tokenized material generated throughout the section on screen, and discusses the relationship these derivatives mediate between material reality and abstract valuation.

5.30 pm
Post-Westphalian Interfaces
Final discussion moderated by Victoria Ivanova & Patricia Reed
A cumulative discussion amongst all contributors pointing to the future possibilities (and threats) unleashed by procedures related to tokenization and the inherent increase of abstraction these entail, particularly in relation to geopolitical re-design.

Information on the contributors

Do 14.06. – Di 17.07. Verkehrseinschränkungen rund um das HKW. Mehr

Sa, 02. Dezember 2017

Tokens

© Anil Bawa-Cavia/STD-IO

© Anil Bawa-Cavia/STD-IO

Um 1948 wird die Welt zum technischen Transaktionsraum: Universelle Währungen, Daten und Subjekte zirkulieren als uniforme Einheiten – Tokens – und bilden Verrechnungseinheiten für Kapital, Industriegüter oder Menschenrechte. Seither orchestriert und reguliert das System der global im Umlauf befindlichen Tokens als technokratische Megastruktur internationales Recht und Regierungshandeln, Finanzökonomie und Datenverkehr. Die Buchhaltungsstruktur von Blockchains ist Basis für eine grafisch-diskursive Szenerie, in der theoretische und künstlerische Beiträge die technischen Standards einer auf ewig zirkulierenden Gegenwart konturieren.

Programm in Zusammenarbeit mit Victoria Ivanova und Patricia Reed, visuelle Gestaltung von Anil Bawa-Cavia und Patricia Reed, ko-produziert mit Harry Sanderson

15h
Anna Echterhölter and Oscar Guardiola-Rivera
Genealogies of Standardization
Präsentationen

Welche universellen, tokenbasierten Systeme entstanden um 1948, um eine vom Krieg zerrüttete Welt wieder zum Laufen zu bringen? Durch Krieg und Kriegsschulden verursachte Wirtschaftsprobleme, zerbrochene internationale Allianzen und Lebensmittelknappheit bestimmten die Jahre nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg. Anna Echterhölter untersucht Projekte wie Keynes' nicht umgesetzten Plan für die internationale Währung Bancor oder die Nothilfe- und Wiederaufbauverwaltung der Vereinten Nationen (UNRRA) in ihren Versuchen, diese Probleme mit tokenbasierten, also nach Universalismus und Kommensurabilität strebenden Ansätzen in den Griff zu bekommen. Mit der Allgemeinen Erklärung der Menschenrechte setzten die Vereinten Nationen 1948 eine Art normierte Rechtsstruktur um, die das menschliche Subjekt selbst zu einem Token macht. Oscar Guardiola-Rivera erkundet die Implikationen eines solchen rechtlichen Rahmens, insbesondere hinsichtlich der dadurch heute tief verwurzelten asymmetrischen Beziehungen souveräner Staaten, der erzwungenen Durchsetzung westlicher Ideen und einer weltweit herrschenden strukturellen Gewalt.

15.45h
Benjamin Bratton, Vera Tollmann & Boaz Levin, and Anna Echterhölter
Processing Sovereignty
Präsentationen

Während wir unsere Wirtschafts- und Regierungssysteme den flexiblen Bedingungen einer globalisierten Welt anpassen, werden neue Technologien, die Kommunikation, Schnittstellen und weltweite Adressierbarkeit integrieren, gleichbedeutend mit einer neuen Form von Souveränität. Benjamin Bratton diskutiert diese entstehenden Plattformen und ihre Entwicklung in seiner Konzeption des „Stack“. Boaz Levin und Vera Tollman bewegen sich durch die Kartografie der okkulten, fern-geografischen Präsenz globaler Finanzen und zeigen die legalen, politischen und geo-räumlichen Werkzeuge auf, mit denen weltweit agierende Finanzfirmen wie die City of London Corporation arbeiten. Anna Echterhölter verortet das Zusammenwirken von Technologie, Ökonomie und Governance im Begriff des Lokalen: Sie erörtert die Konsequenzen von Programmen zur Ausgabe von Essensgutscheinen in Lagern für Geflüchtete, die von zwischenstaatlichen Organisationen wie dem Welternährungsprogramm WFP und dem UN-Flüchtlingskommissariat UNHCR geleitetet werden.

16.30h
Benjamin Bratton, Oscar Guardiola-Rivera und Gerald Nestler
Logics of Derivation
Präsentationen

Zunehmend werden heute Risiken kalkuliert, die sich in wirtschaftliche Preismodelle, Regulierungsstrategien oder persönliche Bewertungen – auf der Grundlage von Kreditwürdigkeit und Lebensstil – zurückspeisen und als handelbare Tokens festgelegt werden. Benjamin Bratton zeichnet die Dynamik nach, die diese Logik und Abstraktion generieren kann. Da Derivate Zufallsergebnisse beinhalten, schließen sie gleichzeitig bestimmte Körper, Waren und Orte aus und degradieren sie als Kollateralschaden. Oscar Guardiola-Rivera erkundet die Konsequenzen der Inklusion und Exklusion durch internationale Regierungssysteme, die zunehmend von auszuklammerndem Risiko bestimmt werden. Unterdessen eröffnen Blockchain-Technologien bereits einen völlig neuen Horizont für zukünftige ökonomische und politische Strukturen und fordern zentral gesteuerte Regierungs- und Finanzmodelle durch die Nutzung „smarter“ Verträge und austauschbarer, nicht-staatlicher Währungseinheiten heraus. Gerald Nestler analysiert das Datenmaterial, das während der Tokens-Veranstaltung auf den Leinwänden entsteht, und diskutiert die Beziehung der Derivate als Mittler zwischen materieller Realität und abstrakter Bewertung.

17.30h
Post-Westphalian Interfaces
Diskussion
Moderiert von Victoria Ivanova & Patricia Reed

Ein zusammenfassendes Gespräch aller Teilnehmer*innen über zukünftige Möglichkeiten (und Gefahren), die durch die Tokenisierung und die damit einhergehende zunehmende Abstraktion entfesselt werden: Wie hängen sie insbesondere mit Neuentwürfen nachstaatlicher Geopolitik zusammen?

Informationen zu den Beitragenden