2013, Sat, Feb 23

Creative Creatures

With Susane Heiter, Karl-Heinz Frommolt, David Rothenberg, Thomas Macho. Moderator: Holger Schulze
In English language

Wherein does the musical or purely sound aesthetic quality of the sounds and calls, the cries and noises made by various animals consist? Why do people wish so much that animals make music and compose, and what do we hear when we hear music in animal sounds? Is it something like when we see islands in cloud formations? What biological and neurological foundation that is more than just an anthropocentric hope and hypothesis could actually be found for an aesthetically grounded form of animal music-making? And finally, what kind of world would it be if animals never made music? Would humanoid musical culture just be a freak of nature?

Participants:

Susanne Heiter studied music at Universität der Künste Berlin and organ at Vienna’s Konservatorium. She also studied biology at Universität Wien and Berlin’s Humboldt Universität. She is currently working on a doctoral thesis at UdK Berlin, entitled “Animal Sounds? On the Lines Separating Nature and Culture in Music after 1950,” in which she studies the function of material from the animal kingdom in contemporary compositions.


Karl-Heinz Frommolt directs the bio-acoustic archive, which since the 1950s has collected over 100,000 mating calls, warning signals, peeps, and other sounds. Frommolt studied in Moldavia, and Russia, and wrote his doctoral thesis on the sonic activity of the wolf. In recent years, his research has been focused on bioacoustic nature preservation monitoring, where he studies changes in wetland fauna using innovative methods.


Thomas Macho has been a professor for cultural history at Berlin’s Humboldt-Universität since 1993, where he co-founded the interdisciplinary Hermann von Helmholtz-Zentrum für Kulturtechnik. From 2006 to 2008 he served as dean (Philosophische Fakultät III, Humboldt-Universität), from 2008 to 2009 he was senior fellow at the Internationales Kolleg für Kulturtechnikforschung und Medienphilosophie, Bauhaus-Universität Weimar, and from 2009 to 2011 he served as director at the Institut für Kulturwissenschaft, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin. His dissertation was entitled “Zur Dialektik des musikalischen Kunstwerks,” and his publications include Tiere, Menschen, Maschinen: Zur Kritik der Anthropologie (2013), and Das zeremonielle Tier: Rituale, Feste, Zeiten zwischen den Zeiten (2004).


David Rothenberg is a musician, composer, writer, and professor for philosophy and music and New Jersey Institute of Technology. His book Why Birds Sing? (2005) on making music with birds was filmed by the BBC. In Thousand Mile Song (2008) he explores whale song, and in 2011 his book Survival of the Beautiful: Art, Science, and Evolution was published. As a musician, Rothenberg has worked with Jan Bang, Scanner, Glen Velez, Karl Berger, Peter Gabriel, and Ray Phiri. His most recent release was in 2010, Dark Night I Left my Silent House, together with the pianist Marilyn Crispell.


Holger Schulze, the founder and head of the Sound Studies Lab and a founding member of the European Sound Studies Association, is the editor of the book series Sound Studies, the co-editor of the international journal for historical anthropology Paragrana, and writes for various journals and radio stations.Currently a guest professor at Institut für Kulturwissenschaft at the Berlin’s Humboldt Universität, Schulze has done research as part of the Nordic Research Network for Sound Studies and the program Bild Wissen Gestaltung, and co-founded the master’s degree program in sound studies at Universität der Künste Berlin.His publications include: Sound Studies (2008), Intimität und Medialität: Tektonik der Medien (2012), and Gespür, Empfindung, Kleine Wahrnehmungen: Klanganthropologische Studien (2012).

In the framework of
null

Mikro-Symposium

Kreative Kreaturen

Sa 23.2.2013
16h
Eintritt frei

Mit Susane Heiter, Karl-Heinz Frommolt, David Rothenberg, Thomas Macho. Moderation: Holger Schulze
In englischer Sprache

Worin besteht die musikalische oder rein klangästhetische Qualität der Lautungen und Rufe, der Schreie und Geräusche verschiedener Tierarten? Warum wünschen sich Menschen so sehr, dass Tiere auch musizieren und komponieren, und was hören wir, wenn wir Musik in Tierlaute hineinhören – ähnliches, wie wenn wir einen Inselumriss in Wolkenformationen erkennen? Welche biologische und neurologische Grundlage – die mehr als nur eine anthropozentrische Hoffnung und Hypothese wäre – ließe sich tatsächlich finden für ein ästhetisch begründetes Musizieren der Tiere? Und schließlich: Was für eine Welt wäre es, in der Tiere niemals musizierten? Wäre die Musikkultur der Humanoiden dann nur ein freak of nature?



Teilnehmer:

Susanne Heiter studierte Musik an der Universität der Künste Berlin und Orgel am Wiener Konservatorium sowie Biologie an der Universität Wien und an der Berliner HU. Derzeit arbeitet sie an der UdK Berlin an ihrer Promotion zum Thema „Animalische Klänge? Über die Grenzen zwischen Natur und Kultur in der Musik nach 1950“, in welcher sie die Funktion von aus der Tierwelt gewonnenem Material in zeitgenössischen Kompositionen untersucht.


Karl-Heinz Frommolt betreut seit 1987 das bioakustische Archiv, das seit den 50er Jahren über 100.000 Brunftgesänge, Warnschreie, Piepstöne und andere Laute gesammelt und archiviert hat. Frommolt studierte in Moldawien und Russland und promovierte zum Thema „Lautaktivität des Wolfes“. In den letzten Jahren richtet sich seine Forschungsarbeit auf bioakustisches Naturschutz-Monitoring, bei dem er mit innovativen Methoden die Veränderungen von Tierwelten in Feuchtgebieten untersucht.


Seit 1993 ist Thomas Macho Professor für Kulturgeschichte an der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, wo er das interdisziplinäre Hermann von Helmholtz-Zentrum für Kulturtechnik mitbegründete. Von 2006 bis 2008 war er Dekan der Philosophischen Fakultät III, 2008 bis 2009 Senior Fellow am Internationalen Kolleg für Kulturtechnikforschung und Medienphilosophie an der Bauhaus-Universität Weimar, 2009 bis 2011 Direktor des Instituts für Kulturwissenschaft an der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin. Schon das Thema seiner Dissertation war „Zur Dialektik des musikalischen Kunstwerks“ und zu seinen Publikationen zählen Tiere – Menschen – Maschinen. Zur Kritik der Anthropologie (2013) und Das zeremonielle Tier. Rituale – Feste – Zeiten zwischen den Zeiten (2004).


David Rothenberg ist Musiker, Komponist, Autor und Professor für Philosophie und Musik am New Jersey Institute of Technology. Sein Buch “Why Birds Sing?” (2005) über das Musizieren mit Vögeln wurde von BBC verfilmt. In „Thousand Mile Song“ (2008) beschäftigt er sich mit Walklängen, und 2011 erschien „Survival of the Beautiful: Art, Science, and Evolution“. Als Musiker hat Rothenberg bereits mit Jan Bang, Scanner, Glen Velez, Karl Berger, Peter Gabriel, Ray Phiri gearbeitet. Zuletzt erschien 2010 „Dark Night I Left My Silent House“ gemeinsam mit der Pianistin Marilyn Crispell.


Der Komparatist und Kulturwissenschaftler Holger Schulze ist Gründer und Leiter des „Sound Studies Lab“ sowie Gründungsmitglied der European Sound Studies Association.Er gibt die Buchreihe „Sound Studies” heraus, ist Mitherausgeber der internationalen Zeitschrift für Historische Anthropologie „Paragrana“ und schreibt für verschiedene Zeitschriften und Rundfunksender.Holger Schulze ist Gastprofessor am Institut für Kulturwissenschaft der Berliner HU, forscht am Nordic Research Network for Sound Studies sowie am Exzellenzcluster Bild Wissen Gestaltung und hat an der Universtität der Künste Berlin den Masterstudiengang „Sound Studies” mitbegründet. Zu seinen Publikationen zählen u.a. „Sound Studies“ (2008), „Intimität und Medialität. Tektonik der Medien“ (2012) und „Gespür – Empfindung – Kleine Wahrnehmungen. Klanganthropologische Studien“ (2012).

Im Rahmen von
null